Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
21,769 ratings
3,377 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filter by:

3201 - 3225 of 3,366 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Tahshin M

Nov 24, 2019

Absolute waste of money and time. The videos are outdated and can not be followed. The quizzes are totally irrelevant. The videos will make you sign up with lots of IBM services and won't teach you anything about it. Totally frustrating experience and it was the worst "course" I've ever experienced in my life. Wouldnt recommend.

By Yashvardhan R

May 14, 2019

The course felt poorly structured. Quizes ask questions that have not been covered yet. Have had to use a lot of secondary resources, googling, to understand terms. The videos would reference tabs that didn't actually exist in the jupyter workbooks. All in all a rather unsatisfactory experience compared to the first course.

By Ellie B

Apr 19, 2020

I'm sorry but I felt like there was not much guidance in using the tools you introduced us to. I was able to get 100% on all my tests while not being able to press single button on apache zeppelin - still completely don't know how to use this program. Your links don't work, videos are outdated and forum doesn't help either.

By Deleted A

Jun 4, 2020

During the final portion of this course, it got confusing and their was no one to help. I stumbled throw this course. Even when I tried to email or text or go to the discussion page, no one to help me. I am not sure I want to go any further using your course. I guess it's like the old saying "You get what you pay for".

By Binha

Jan 20, 2021

O curso é focado para as ferramentas de dados da IBM, so apresenta elas, não ensina a mexer. Muito menos ensina a programar em qualquer linguagem importante na ciência de dados. E o trabalho final é um absurdo, mandam fazer formataçao de texto e outros recursos no Jupyter Notebook ao invés de programar.

By Chris F

May 19, 2021

Keeps talking about high level tools and terms that have never been introduced before, and not much guided hands on to get used to them, glosses over most of them in 5 minute videos and then be done with it. Feels very much like an advertisement for IBM products rather than anything helpful to learn.

By Luis F D D

Aug 29, 2019

No puedo calificarlo bien, por mas que quice hacerlo . Si hablas español es mejor no cintinuar el curso, puesto que el Programa Watson studio está muy desfasado en actualizaciones de una región a otra He batallado mucho en enviar tareas etc . al final me decidí por otro curso en ésta plataforma

By Akhil R

Jul 16, 2020

A very bad course!!!

Extremely disappointed by this course. It was meant to be for beginners, but the explanation was not understandable for beginners. Even the videos were very short and didn't explain some of the very basic parts. Worst experience I every had with any of the coursera courses.

By Sebastian K

Feb 26, 2020

Not very useful at all. Basically just a marketing campaign for IBM. The fact that they dare charge for this course or any of the other in this specialization is outrageous. Most of the content is outdated and the tools they force you to use have been updated so the content is not aligned.

By Janhavi D

Aug 19, 2019

Coursera needs to update the material and almost all of the videos. It is frustrating and time-consuming to figure things out on IBM Watson Studio when the instructions are non-existent. You need to go through the forums and discussion-threads to figure out how the Jupyter notebooks work.

By M.D.

Feb 26, 2020

No Submissions Available

There are no submissions available for you to review right now. Come back later if you want to review more classmates' submissions!

How to start next section when being held up by cousera.

I am busy, have limited time to study, this is not productive work flow.

By Patryk W

May 10, 2019

Video and audio are out of sync. Very little knowledge or skills value. Blank or misleading Quiz questions, misleading instructions, obvious IBM advertisement and account-herding practices. Quite disappointed, for paid offer unacceptable. Hope next courses will be much more useful.

By Adriana A V

Jun 29, 2020

This material is not very useful. Although, it presents IBM Watson as a very productive and interesting tool for data science, the videos, readings, and exercises are not very helpful. It lacks of explanation and are not clear enough and make tedious the use of IBM Watson.

By Filip C

Jul 14, 2020

You can't just put down some videos and call it a course. Also, naming tools like there is no tomorrow doesn't mean the course is good. This is most likely the worst online course I've ever had a chance to be a part of and would not recommend it to anyone. Waste of time.

By Rodrigo B B

May 24, 2020

Unfortunatelly, the course materials are deprecated. The videos need to be reviewed. Also, there should be more videos and more content to work in the Notebooks. I think the course should be moved to a point where the student already knows some programming to be useful.

By Harris A M

Jan 17, 2020

The course introduces three notebooks to the student, however, it fails to show the student how to use them. The answers to various questions were not explained in the videos and most of the videos are outdated. I do not feel like I have taken much from this course.

By James O S

Mar 24, 2020

This course is seriously broken. The last section of the course requires you to use cloud.ibm.com, but the applications referenced have been significantly changed, and do not work as described. Until this is significantly revised, this course cannot be completed.

By Deleted A

Apr 6, 2020

Week 2's content, specifically the Zeppelin Notebook section was down for weeks and no one from Coursera even addressed the issue. Meaning I passed a course that's meant to give me at least a little experience with Zeppelin Notebooks, without ever using one.

By SMH

Aug 28, 2019

Cannot follow the course because the IBM tool has changed the process and the course materials are outdated!

Wasted so much time reading the forum to try figure out. This is not productive learning time. This is stupid time that comes from a outdated course

By Daniel W

Apr 23, 2020

The videos no longer match the cloud/site.

The videos are no help because of that and because they go too fast, without a chance to follow along on the cloud/site. Of course they need to update first.

I got so frustrated I left the entire specialization.

By Rohan

Sep 6, 2020

All the assignments stays locked. I tried changing the timeline also, nothing works. Thanks to this course my specialization remained uncompleted. The staff managing the course is doing a great job. Thanks to you, I wont be able to get a certification.

By Lifeline W

Jun 20, 2020

I would not recommend the IBM data science certificate course for beginners as there is no support from IBM and they seem to be keener on the paid their subscriptions. HarvardX courses are less complicated than this and have no conflict of interest.

By Debbie-Ann J

Apr 9, 2020

The videos shown are obsolete and learners are having diffi ulty completingg dinal assignment because of this...IBM cloud is impossible to use....so stressfull especially because there is no one to talk to about this....you r basically on your own

By Thabo

Jul 20, 2020

The labs were very poorly explained, with limited explanations and no clarity on the purposes for the lines of code. I struggled to instal and use most of the software because the instructions were not clear enough. I was extremely disappointed.