Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM Skills Network

4.5
stars
25,753 ratings

About the Course

In order to be successful in Data Science, you need to be skilled with using tools that Data Science professionals employ as part of their jobs. This course teaches you about the popular tools in Data Science and how to use them. You will become familiar with the Data Scientist’s tool kit which includes: Libraries & Packages, Data Sets, Machine Learning Models, Kernels, as well as the various Open source, commercial, Big Data and Cloud-based tools. Work with Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will understand what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. This course gives plenty of hands-on experience in order to develop skills for working with these Data Science Tools. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R, or Scala. Towards the end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook. You will demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

ED

Aug 14, 2022

I love the detailing of every aspect of this course. The Labs, the free subscriptions and free trials provided by IBM Skills Network, everything has been so amazing. Thank you Coursera, thank you IBM.

GC

Apr 12, 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

Filter by:

3626 - 3650 of 4,176 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Mark V

May 26, 2021

I did not enjoy my time taking this course. There is simply TOO MUCH information, and it rarely gets expounded upon. I often felt like I was just getting information dumped on me, such as listing the various Python or R packages we MIGHT use one day. Additionally, videos would often use data sets as examples but would fail to explain their context and don't seem to provide the data sets to work with on our own. This wasn't the case for the entire course. I enjoyed Week 3 where we spent a significant amount of time on one thing, such as jupyter notebooks or github. Instead of being told how something worked, we were able to play with these tools ourselves, and as a result I feel that I learned SO much more.

By Pimchanok W

Aug 21, 2022

In the Data Science Tools Chapter the content was poorly structured and I felt overwhelmed by the tool names thrown at me with no structure in the presentation. I even found that the tools given as examples are not actually relevant now and there are a lot more "popular" commercial tools that were not mentioned once in the chapter ex. PowerBI, Google Data Studio, AWS Redshift, Google Big Query. And the amount of times IBM Watson Studio had to be repeated in the course is pretty annoying. Like we already know what it can do, you don't have it repeat it 10 times. I think the content focused way too much on the IBM tool. You should've named this course IBM Tools for Data Science instead.

By Yousef K

Dec 25, 2020

This course leaves you doubting whether you can become a data scientist rather than providing you with brief knowledge on data science tools. I think it needs quite a bit of restructuring because concepts are explained in videos as if they are being explained to computer scientists and engineers rather than newcomers to the world of data science. Nevertheless, I'm glad I was able to get through it and move on to other courses in the certification that actually matter. My advice for you: don't worry about the complexity of the material and don't waste your time trying to understand the details because it's simply not worth it. Just get a grasp of the essentials and move on.

By Aaron A

Sep 2, 2020

A good overview of tools that are common to the field. The videos are just plain horrible. The narrator does not explain anything that he is typing on the screen, he makes frequent mistakes, and parts of the screen are not even visible. One video shot showed the narrator recording the video from the driver's seat of his car! Quality needs more focus. Also, the explanation of some of the labs are confusing and many many many students encountering similar errors...but when looking at that discussion forum, staff just cut-and-paste same unhelpful message to everyone. I guess you either figured it all out and make it through the course, or give up in frustration.

By Jay Y K

Nov 3, 2021

Part for Git was really great. It has provided me good overview what it is and how I'm supposed to leverage it at basic level, so it was very useful. Part about Jupyter Note was also good, part for R was alright, mainly because I'm not much interested in R anymore. But then too much time has to be spent for IBM tools. I understand that these courses are constructed by IBM and they would like to leverage it to advertise their tools. However, from learners perspective (presumably most of us are just beginner in this field), IBM tool part was just an overkill, way too much. I probably will prefer those courses provided by universities more moving forward.

By princess.ogbechie

Jan 12, 2022

It was interesting at the beginning but along the way it became uninterestingly long and monotonous. Though the part explaining the IBM opening part was hard to follow as my free trial had expired and there were no more claim codes for the extended trial. Most of the reference points and labs were from outdated versions. So they didn't load as expected. I experienced multiple error messages while trying to open the IBM cloud account and navigating to the Jupyter notebooks. The IBM page was also glitchy. I was not able to get access to the extended trial claim code so I had to open a new account to do the lab works and exercises.

By Polychronis ( P

Oct 20, 2018

Outdated lectures and low quality videos. Owful monotonous narration (puts you to sleep). It is as if IBM & Coursera are trying on purpose to put people off Data Science. :-)

The 1st course of this specialisation (What is Data Science) was truly educational, fun and easy to watch thus to understand and remember what you have learned. This course is the opposite.

IBM & Coursera people, the fact that someone is a super duper scientist doesn't automatically qualify to be a teacher nor a narrator, and please IBM, do improve the quality of the videos with better graphics and enriched material. We know that you can afford to do so.

By Priyanka T

Jul 12, 2022

This course had several issues. First it was too much information for someone who has no background knowledge and therefore difficult to understand all the terms used without any examples to relate. Second, there were several audio related issues that were not resolved. I wasnt able to access IBM Watson Studio and even though I reported the issue I ended up losing marks on an assignment that required IBM Watson Studio which was no fault of mine. There were unclear instructions, graded assignments included content not taught the lab work (it wasn't mandatory to study the cheat sheet). Overall, disappointed.

By Matthew B

Jan 11, 2023

There are some very helpful parts of this course, such as those on using GitHub that helped me tremendously and were very easy to understand. That being said, there is so much of an emphasis on pushing IBM's products that it seriously hamstrings the course. Conditioning a point of your final grade on submitting through IBM Watson is a very silly thing when data science is such an open field with a multiplicity of tools. I understand this is an IBM course, but it's a cheap and slimy thing to make so much of the course basically an advertisement for IBM products. Our time is scarce; please respect it.

By Daniel A

Jul 29, 2020

The first course in the IBM Data Science Professional track was excellent. This one is not.

This particular course is dry compared to the previous one. It’s difficult to pay attention when many of the videos are a boring presentation of dozens of data science tools. Week two is less dry but is poorly organized and needs more explanation and refinement (poor audio quality, lacking descriptions). There are also videos which are essentially repeats (cover the same information) of the previous course but of worse quality. Overall, this course lacks refinement and organization, and is not worth paying for.

By Jose A C

Apr 29, 2020

The content is a good intro into the tools that you are gonna use in a data career. However, I did have two major issues here where:

1) As IBM moved to Watson Studio from Data Science Experience, this did create some of the visuals and knowledge a bit outdated.

2) There was a massive disconnect when you have issues working Watson; especially with signing up and logging in. I see that this was a huge issue since then (judging by reading the discussion sections of the course) and this (along with my first point0 should definitely be discussed if you want this content to still provided.

By Monserrat R

Jul 23, 2020

It is a very quickly course, the week of the open source tools it's seen really quick, you can barely understand anything and they put three different tools in one week, if you really want to learn them search another course; it is also a big propaganda for de IBM tools, and they put so much more effort on selling you the idea that their products are really necessary that in actually introduce you to the tools that a data scientist use, and its so hard to understand if you don't speak english as your mother language, hope that with time they can fix it.

By Jay J

Sep 5, 2019

This course is not good. It has taken me several times the amount of time specified due to the outdated videos that no longer represent the tool as provided. Struggling to get simple markdown commands to work in the notebook, but I successfully executed them in the previous toolset. Several back and forth's between the actual work and the videos is very aggravating. It would be nice if you at least provided some printable instructions. I feel that I have gotten off track and may not be able to find my way back to a normalized starting point.

By Rachel M

Mar 2, 2021

Very patchy. Some of the videos were quite informative but the practical exercises were a real problem. Often the instructions were impossible to follow as the software must be a newer version than that shown in the instructions. I had to Google for the latest instructions. Also the practical exercises rarely told you *why* you were learning anything; it said "type in this code" but you didn't understand the code. I was able to finish the course but only through sheer perseverance (and Googling for instructions) - it was not enjoyable.

By Shawn G

Apr 7, 2020

This course at one time would have been great. However, for myself and many others (based on numerous discussion posts during my time taking the course), there was a multitude of technical errors and outdated training. Zeppelin Notebooks was not a working functionality in the IBM Skills Network, and most of the walkthrough guides were unhelpful due to updates in the tools being showcased. The course is in need of some serious updating to catch up on many changes that have impacted the tools covered in this course.

By Tânia P

May 13, 2020

Material in this course looked like part of something else. It's a beginner's course but suddently I'm faced with a lot of technical jargon with no explanation. I supposed to experiment with software and code I've never seen or know how to interpret and I'm just suppose to run it to see what happens. I have no idea what I was supposed to learn from it. Week 2 was demotivating and added nothing to my knowledge. This week was an absolute loss of time. I still learned something from week 1 and 3

By Gus D

Apr 16, 2021

give one plus star with benefits of the doubt. If the course gets better in next courses but this is a shame. I can deal you promote IBM services and products, no matter with that, but you only give ALL the tools existing in the data science world and meanings, but with no knowledge is a none sense. Hope you improve, Basic stuff for analytics, statical or regression models, clustering I have no clue what they are. But well the name is tools for data science. No how to use them or what for.

By Shashank R B

Mar 11, 2019

The course needs to be updated. Especially the IBM Watson Studio section is something which needs to be worked on again. The site they refer to has hanged completely. IBM site was not user friendly and caused a lot of confusion. It took a lot of time to figure it out. This problem is not isolated and there have been a lot of users who are struggling to figure out how to solve it. This causes additional problems as the final assignment depends on getting started with the IBM website.

By MingYu L

Dec 29, 2021

A lot of contents are not accurate since IBM website has been changed . And the final exam was terrible. For example, one answer was like Both A and B and there were no indication for A and B. Another question:What type of model would you use if you wanted to find the relationship between dependent and independent variables? If you choose regression model, it's wrong. If you choose Classification model, wrong again. Do I suppose to choose the wrong answer to get 100% grade?

By Ramsey A

Oct 17, 2022

A very fast-paced course with a lot of non-sense material for beginners. There is redundancy in final exam instructions; it is difficult to know which one to follow. Some videos have poor audio quality. There are too many links here and there that don't make sense. Many of the instructions for lab work are based on the older version of IBM studio, making it difficult to locate the buttons or tabs referenced in the videos and texts. IBM! You've already let me down!

By Olga K

Feb 1, 2023

This course was hard to follow. I spent too much time figuring out how to access the required tools (e.g., Watson Studio). Video lectures go over irrelevant terminology that has little to do with applied skills in data science. Most of the quiz questions focus on minute details and not on the big picture. I eventually received the certificate but don't feel like I gained much from this course, especially considering how much time I spent on it.

By Jennifer S

Jul 30, 2019

Overall intro for open source tools that could be four stars if updated for current layout and usage of its star tool, IBM Watson. The inaccurate videos for Watson make this course very frustrating, and moreso because the final, graded project is expected to be completed on Watson despite the course's acknowledgement that the lectures need updating for that tool. It's doable, thanks to the other students posting tips in the discussion forums.

By Davy D

Mar 17, 2020

5 stars for the first two weeks, but the week about Watson is just terrible. The discussion board is full of complaints.

IBM should not promote itself this way.

Coursera should not spread this content and charge for it. It's a rip off.

The videos are totally outdated and it took literally hours and looking on the discussions on how to get to the point that I could do the application and the final assessment. IBM wasted my valuable time here.

By Valentina M S

Sep 6, 2022

HI,

I bought The specialized program with high hope of learn about Data Science with cero knowledge about it , but honestly it’s not a good course, the videos are totally out of date so you will find yourself lost on each lesson, your peers graded you assessments (someone as you without the knowledge to give a good feedback and grade you assessments) and many features of Watson Studio are not available in countries different from US.

By Ansel N

Mar 18, 2020

I am personally found it very difficult to create a notebook on IBM Watson because course take the tutorial videos from IBM Watson itself without checking whether there is any updates where the UX changed significantly. I have to research Google and forums to find out the ways to create a notebook on IBM Watson. I hope that this review will help the authors of the course find it easier to update the course content.