Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
21,550 ratings
3,329 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

2951 - 2975 of 3,303 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Qianhe L

May 30, 2020

The videos introducing you to new tools like Jupyter and Github are SO BAD that it is basically just a man recording his own screen and rambling without a script. The video was not educational and not formal. It is worse than free Youtube videos that show you the exact same things.

By Marcio J d S A J

Sep 22, 2020

Quality of support material is not good. The amount of tools presented is overwhelming, maybe should be considered to present them gradually according to the need of application, this would help a better understanding of functionality and the reall need of the usage of such tool.

By Daniel K

Dec 10, 2020

This was too much of an infomercial. Disappointed about the content. If I would have had a drinking game, where I would have a shot for each time IBM Watson Studio was mentioned I would not have made it through even 2 videos. I hope the next module has more substance to it.

By Sarvani R

Jan 20, 2020

While the course offers a good introduction to open source tools, this course and the whole specialization track is available for free on cognitive class.. And the badge issued by cognitive class doesn't say powered by coursera. So 2 stars for charging money for a free course

By Courtney M

Apr 21, 2020

This course was okay, but it definitely needs to be updated or redone. In the first lesson, there were a lot of spelling mistakes which makes me question the accuracy of the rest of the course. I did learn about the tools though, but will need to play around more on my own.

By Yoobin K

Apr 5, 2020

The content was informative. However, the page in the lecture was not updated, and it was not easy to follow the instruction since some instructions in the practice exercise was not clear enough. It will be better to have clearer, and detailed explanation and instructions.

By Alex C

Sep 29, 2020

Too much focus on IBM provided software, parts of the course felt like I was training as a sales representative, with being graded on my knowledge of IBM products. Some of the questions in quiz's had 'joke answers', which is not what I'd expect from a professional course.

By Jeremy H

Jan 22, 2020

First couple weeks are interesting to see but not overly useful. Week 3 videos are horribly out dated, links are none existent or not working. Website for application doesn't appear to work half the time and it can be impossible to even complete the course in full.

By Fedrizzi E

Jan 31, 2020

Material seems outdated, and poorly informative. Too many topics are just mentioned without details, which is frustrating: I got the feeling that to have a minimal real understanding of the subject I had to do a lot of personal research outside of the course.

By PETER G

Nov 27, 2019

Silly questions that is primarily throwing in negatives in the statements or trying to trick you rather than assessing skills. The course primarily shows the UIs of the tools and its scope/what it supports and very little about open source tools as such

By zhiyong w

Jan 7, 2019

It seems there is something wrong when try to get a promo code and use IBM cloud (watson studio) system to finish the assignment, which disappointed me and cancelled the rest courses. It is really a pity that I really want to learn the course .

By John L

Jun 16, 2019

Not that helpful. Too much like an an introductory article on 'data science' as well as an ad for Big Data University. 2 stars for introducing somewhat helpful tools, but this helpfulness could have been achieved in much less course material.

By Frances L

Apr 19, 2020

Very informative for someone who is looking to start writing in code. Week 3 was very messy. Nothing was where it was advised on the videos which made them very redundant. A lot of time wasting and looking at discussion Forums as a result.

By Jason L

Jun 24, 2019

The IBM platform website looks to be updated. it would help if the videos were also updated so there is less confusion for students when they try sign up for an IBM account. Looks like a few students had issues from the discussion forums.

By MARISA H

Dec 8, 2020

This course was a little overwhelming in any sense for me. It went from zero to (at least) intermediate level. I don't think if you are like me (somebody without coding knowledge at all) would easily get this part. I find it real pity.

By Saptarshi S

Nov 3, 2019

Content is pretty outdated and the user interface of the tools have changed a lot since then. Also it teaches nothing worth 3 weeks and only shows u different notebooks which could easily be taught while applying them in other courses!

By Marcelo Q L A

Dec 4, 2019

Course feels rushed and does not really provides good quality material or useful instructions other than very rapidly presenting IBM's tools. Last week evaluation is simply terrible and unfair. Other platforms should also be allowed.

By Sam B

Mar 19, 2021

This could have been covered in 1 week. The information is usually presented fine, but some videos are literally recorded in a car. The information is fine to know but does not require a whole course for. A bit of a waste of time.

By Nawaf A

Feb 5, 2021

Since I do have a little knowledge of data science, I think the topics covered in this section (Tools for Data science) are valuable. However, I guess the way this course was taught as if students were comfortable with the field.

By Jim C

Apr 9, 2019

This course isn't as well organized as other courses I've done on Coursera. Several of the quizzes ask questions about things that aren't covered until much later in the course. I had to skip those quizzes, then go back to them.

By Tim D W

Oct 15, 2019

Videos are out of date and hard to follow on IBM Watson Studio. You have to read though pages of comments trying to figure out each piece since the screens look completely different now. They need to update the videos ASAP.

By Alireza A

Oct 31, 2020

Not very helpful.

Many complained concepts were explained briefly which was not helpful.

Additionally, some labs could not be done based on the instructions. Specially the Watson studio instructions need to be updated.

By Megha G

Feb 20, 2019

The videos don't align with how the Watson Studio is operated. It took about 3 hours of complete wastage to get to know how the account works on IBM cloud. Kindly update the videos in accordance to the new interface.

By Brad S

Oct 19, 2020

As a person paying for the course. I expect that the focus of the course be on the overall tools and skills I need to be successful as a data scientist, NOT spending two weeks learning why "IBM tools are great."

By Xavier R A

Jul 9, 2020

It focuses too much on what IBM can offer and not so much on other, also effective, free tools that could help a data scientist, also i think this course would fit better later on the Data Science Certification.