Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
22,767 ratings
3,575 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

2101 - 2125 of 3,579 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Emilien G

Mar 6, 2019

Didn't give 5 just because there are some difficulties to login to your Watson account page sometimes. Otherwise it's really great.

By Ana M

Dec 30, 2018

Course was good, but teaching materials reference older version of Watson Studio, discrepancy between versions is a bit confusing.

By vipin k

Sep 19, 2020

Some sections are more dedicated to IBM tools rather than comparing the tools available in market and taking about the best ones.

By Vasudev S

May 7, 2020

This course teaches you to use many open source tools that too without having to download and setup any software on your machine.

By Collin C

Nov 20, 2019

Videos are outdated, so it is difficult to navigate IBM's website. The overall material is pretty good for a simple introduction.

By Daniele M

Nov 10, 2019

This course gave a good introduction to open source tools which are currently being used in the market for data science purposes.

By Chen G

Sep 25, 2020

I appreciate IBM created this class. But the IBM Watson part is really boring....whole week spent on IBM product is too much....

By Omer L N

Sep 1, 2019

The content is practical and instructive. Update the content of IBM Watson section with the latest version would be more useful.

By Frank S

Mar 31, 2019

It was a little confussing that the coursera material did not match the IBM cloud exactly - The could seem to be in development.

By Wade R

Feb 19, 2019

Great overview of the open source tools available to practice Data Science with as well as an overview of an Enterprise Version.

By Madeline L

Apr 6, 2020

Some of the material (i.e. exercise instructions on tools) are slightly outdated but the course itself is a great introduction.

By PARASKEVI-SPYRIDOULA K

Jan 31, 2020

Even thought the course content is interesting, videos provided are not updated, making the learning experience a bit confusing

By Vin B

Jan 6, 2020

A little outdated in some parts, but in general a good introduction to Jupyter Notebooks, Apache Zeppelin Notebooks and RStudio

By Ifueko U O

Mar 28, 2021

I found the course to be quite heavy. I feel like there was a lot of information thrown at me but I enjoyed the hands on labs.

By Amaan S

Jun 30, 2020

I felt this course could be designed a little bit better.

The Github and the IBM tools modules were pretty vague and confusing.

By Mil Á

Mar 25, 2020

excellent training to familiarize with Data Analytics open source program tools and workbooks capabilities and functionalities

By Karl J

Feb 25, 2020

Great overview of the tools, would have had more hello-world-type assignments for all of the new software packages introduced.

By Giovanni P

Jan 6, 2020

Interesting, yet not perfect course. A lot of the video contents need to be updated, as well as the hyperlinks of the lessons.

By Dinesh K R

Oct 4, 2019

Very useful to get an insight into the data science tool, however, practice is required to be done by those who do the course.

By Sajid M

Sep 15, 2020

It was quite informative and has helped my pick up new skills like creating basic Jupyter notebooks using Python programming.

By Declan H M G

May 8, 2019

A broad a detailed description and introduction to the open source tool available, with a good basic guide on how to use them

By Deleted A

Feb 25, 2019

Excellent, but the Watson studio video's need to be upgraded for the new user interface. Otherwise it would have been a five

By Rachana S

Aug 1, 2019

I thin a few more exercises could be added to the course in order to make the course takers a bit more fluent with the tools

By Jeffrey G D

Mar 28, 2019

There were a couple of instances where the review question in the video asked about something, before the video covered it.

By Faezeh A

Sep 24, 2018

The tools that this course introduces, are helpful and I will use them. But I think some of the explanations are too basic.