Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
24,069 ratings
3,825 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

GC

Apr 12, 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

RR

Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

3351 - 3375 of 3,835 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Gus D

Apr 16, 2021

give one plus star with benefits of the doubt. If the course gets better in next courses but this is a shame. I can deal you promote IBM services and products, no matter with that, but you only give ALL the tools existing in the data science world and meanings, but with no knowledge is a none sense. Hope you improve, Basic stuff for analytics, statical or regression models, clustering I have no clue what they are. But well the name is tools for data science. No how to use them or what for.

By Shashank R B

Mar 11, 2019

The course needs to be updated. Especially the IBM Watson Studio section is something which needs to be worked on again. The site they refer to has hanged completely. IBM site was not user friendly and caused a lot of confusion. It took a lot of time to figure it out. This problem is not isolated and there have been a lot of users who are struggling to figure out how to solve it. This causes additional problems as the final assignment depends on getting started with the IBM website.

By MINGYU L

Dec 29, 2021

A lot of contents are not accurate since IBM website has been changed . And the final exam was terrible. For example, one answer was like Both A and B and there were no indication for A and B. Another question:What type of model would you use if you wanted to find the relationship between dependent and independent variables? If you choose regression model, it's wrong. If you choose Classification model, wrong again. Do I suppose to choose the wrong answer to get 100% grade?

By Jennifer S

Jul 30, 2019

Overall intro for open source tools that could be four stars if updated for current layout and usage of its star tool, IBM Watson. The inaccurate videos for Watson make this course very frustrating, and moreso because the final, graded project is expected to be completed on Watson despite the course's acknowledgement that the lectures need updating for that tool. It's doable, thanks to the other students posting tips in the discussion forums.

By Davy D

Mar 17, 2020

5 stars for the first two weeks, but the week about Watson is just terrible. The discussion board is full of complaints.

IBM should not promote itself this way.

Coursera should not spread this content and charge for it. It's a rip off.

The videos are totally outdated and it took literally hours and looking on the discussions on how to get to the point that I could do the application and the final assessment. IBM wasted my valuable time here.

By Ansel N

Mar 18, 2020

I am personally found it very difficult to create a notebook on IBM Watson because course take the tutorial videos from IBM Watson itself without checking whether there is any updates where the UX changed significantly. I have to research Google and forums to find out the ways to create a notebook on IBM Watson. I hope that this review will help the authors of the course find it easier to update the course content.

By Maulik M

Apr 7, 2021

Too much lip service to too many tools. After the first course in the specialization sets expectation that no tech or programming skills are essential as pre-requisites, this course comes along and introduces in the briefest possible way a plethora of tools.

The course will benefit by focusing on only IBM tools and one example from the open source world rather than the mention of so many tools all around the place.

By silvercodeify

Mar 11, 2022

Far too much focus on the proprietary IBM tools - in places the course felt like an advertising event to me. I had hoped that this course would provide a better overview of the many tools, but unfortunately other tools were only mentioned once at most. If this course was not part of the "Data Science" course, I would have dropped it. But I hope that the following courses will be more general again.

By Douglas M

Oct 3, 2018

Well structured layout and solid indications of what the knowledge necessary for a learning path to data science. Which is appreciated as there is a lot information out there and difficult to filter out the noise. The course however is very light and lacks some real educational information. The content would need to be 'beefed' up considerably. And more rigorous quizzes and questions needed.

By Vaughn C

Aug 15, 2020

A lot of good information here which should have been rated higher, but everything took so much longer than it ought to have, because it was so poorly presented. The materials are outdated (or missing/difficult to find with the IRIS dataset) and difficult to follow. The course needs a complete update and overhaul by someone who understands online learning and user interface/user experience.

By Manish R P

May 4, 2020

What they explain in video doesn't have similarity in accessing the real assignment, since its a paid course, they should at least review the content yearly the least.

It took away 2 days to figure it out on my own, in order to complete the assignment, and also disappointing there is no easy access to help of coursera.

Wasted a lot of time and energy, looks like learnt this one on my own.

By Daniel V

Oct 17, 2019

It is basically just a brief overview off the interface and a narrator who reads the text of the tutorial. some of the R video's are out of sync. The Watson Studio one is so outdated that you have to find out yourself how the program works instead of watching a good introduction. overall I've learned nothing this entire course besides opening the program and clicking on the tutorial.

By Yoshihide J S

Dec 31, 2020

From Week 2 to Week 3 some video is not clear, not understable and not enough for video explanation. Some video rectiure video and voice is not clear voice. So, it is very difficult understand how to use IBM Watson studio. And, final assignment also is not enough information from lad. I have to check other outside site for IBM Watson studio Juypter notebook how to process and use.

By Jan Ż

Aug 26, 2020

The course was ill-prepared - the videos were annoyingly long while not being too informative; big part of the course was simply an IBM marketing content. To conclude the course, the student has to sign up for an IBM service however the instructions are unclear and the sign-up path proposed by the course instructors is faulty, resulting in not being able to fulfil the assessment.

By Lee J

Sep 28, 2020

As a total and complete beginner when it comes to most things data science, computers, coding, programming, etc., this course was very challenging. It felt unorganized, overwhelming, and filled with jargon. I eventually started putting things together by the end of the course, but it took me a lot longer and a lot more effort (and stress) than I would have liked.

By Shi P

Sep 7, 2019

The tools and website is sometimes hard to connect, and has maintenance/update very often and it made it extra difficult for us new comers to follow up without step by step guide to the new features, which prolonged the course and it wasn't very necessary.

But I did learn a lot from this course hopefully the tools and guides get better for the future students.

By SHANNON L H

Oct 1, 2019

If you are going to create a class, please DOUBLE CHECK everything periodically. We have found most of what you are telling us is wrong and are having to learn by trial and error. I feel sorry for those who do not have a background in computers or speak english. They have to be very frustrated by your outdated instructions that do not work. I know I am.

By Ian A T

Mar 13, 2020

The Skills Network Lab never once worked for me while I was enrolled in this course. While I have Jupyter Notebooks and RStudio available to me via an Anaconda installation, and could therefore follow along to most of the lessons, installing Zeppelin locally proved to be too difficult for me, and thus I have no hands-on experience with Zeppelin thus far.

By Arslan B

Dec 12, 2020

This course came too early. I was overwhelmed with the number of tools covered as part of this which was not required especially the functionality part of each tool. This was the time I was about to quit as it was getting too much. It is better to focus on one tool and once you grasp the concepts of data science, it is easy to replicate across tools

By Dylan H

Feb 25, 2019

Too much content that was not accurate, (i.e. time to actually re-record the videos vs just having all those notes that say they're the same - the navigation on the IBM site is different now, so it's not just a title - time to rerecord). Also, found that a decent amount of it was a rehash of things in the first class in the certification.

By Candace M H

Sep 3, 2020

The course says suitable for beginners but by Week 2, it becomes apparent that this is not actually the case. I was able to finish the course, but with great difficulty and a lot of research outside of the modules to understand this. There should have been a bit more of an introduction to the skills that would have been needed further on.

By Nicole R

Apr 5, 2020

I ended up having to reset the course deadlines multiple times due to the final project. My final project was submitted end of february, and yet still beginning of April have still not received final grades for it, thus need to keep resetting deadlines. A little frustrating to keep paying a new fee for a course that has been completed.

By Matthew M

Feb 19, 2019

Although the intent was clear, and IBM Watson Studio is helpful, this course needs to be rewritten. The week 3 content is a repeat of what was completed in the first course of this certification. Additionally, the content of needs to be updated to reflect the new format and functions of IBM Watson Studio over Data Science Experience.

By Tan G T R

Jul 8, 2020

Rather shallow course that tests you on trivial knowledge mentioned at some point in the videos/readings. More hands-on exercises/assignments will be more useful, instead of just testing on things that can be easily googled. Course does give a nice overview of data science tools, you one does not learn much more than an overview.

By Marcel V

Jun 18, 2019

This one comes to soon in the path to get IBM professional certificate.

To many tools to get a handle off when you just start out. A bit overwhelming

As a stand alone course when you need these tools it is probably ok.

I would have prefered to just stay with skillabs and move on.

and then later maybe come back when absolutely needed.