Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
24,131 ratings
3,841 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

GC

Apr 12, 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

AJ

Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filter by:

3376 - 3400 of 3,850 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Manish R P

May 4, 2020

What they explain in video doesn't have similarity in accessing the real assignment, since its a paid course, they should at least review the content yearly the least.

It took away 2 days to figure it out on my own, in order to complete the assignment, and also disappointing there is no easy access to help of coursera.

Wasted a lot of time and energy, looks like learnt this one on my own.

By Daniel V

Oct 17, 2019

It is basically just a brief overview off the interface and a narrator who reads the text of the tutorial. some of the R video's are out of sync. The Watson Studio one is so outdated that you have to find out yourself how the program works instead of watching a good introduction. overall I've learned nothing this entire course besides opening the program and clicking on the tutorial.

By Yoshihide J S

Dec 31, 2020

From Week 2 to Week 3 some video is not clear, not understable and not enough for video explanation. Some video rectiure video and voice is not clear voice. So, it is very difficult understand how to use IBM Watson studio. And, final assignment also is not enough information from lad. I have to check other outside site for IBM Watson studio Juypter notebook how to process and use.

By Jan Ż

Aug 26, 2020

The course was ill-prepared - the videos were annoyingly long while not being too informative; big part of the course was simply an IBM marketing content. To conclude the course, the student has to sign up for an IBM service however the instructions are unclear and the sign-up path proposed by the course instructors is faulty, resulting in not being able to fulfil the assessment.

By Lee J

Sep 28, 2020

As a total and complete beginner when it comes to most things data science, computers, coding, programming, etc., this course was very challenging. It felt unorganized, overwhelming, and filled with jargon. I eventually started putting things together by the end of the course, but it took me a lot longer and a lot more effort (and stress) than I would have liked.

By Shi P

Sep 7, 2019

The tools and website is sometimes hard to connect, and has maintenance/update very often and it made it extra difficult for us new comers to follow up without step by step guide to the new features, which prolonged the course and it wasn't very necessary.

But I did learn a lot from this course hopefully the tools and guides get better for the future students.

By SHANNON L H

Oct 1, 2019

If you are going to create a class, please DOUBLE CHECK everything periodically. We have found most of what you are telling us is wrong and are having to learn by trial and error. I feel sorry for those who do not have a background in computers or speak english. They have to be very frustrated by your outdated instructions that do not work. I know I am.

By Ian A T

Mar 13, 2020

The Skills Network Lab never once worked for me while I was enrolled in this course. While I have Jupyter Notebooks and RStudio available to me via an Anaconda installation, and could therefore follow along to most of the lessons, installing Zeppelin locally proved to be too difficult for me, and thus I have no hands-on experience with Zeppelin thus far.

By Arslan B

Dec 12, 2020

This course came too early. I was overwhelmed with the number of tools covered as part of this which was not required especially the functionality part of each tool. This was the time I was about to quit as it was getting too much. It is better to focus on one tool and once you grasp the concepts of data science, it is easy to replicate across tools

By Dylan H

Feb 25, 2019

Too much content that was not accurate, (i.e. time to actually re-record the videos vs just having all those notes that say they're the same - the navigation on the IBM site is different now, so it's not just a title - time to rerecord). Also, found that a decent amount of it was a rehash of things in the first class in the certification.

By Candace M H

Sep 3, 2020

The course says suitable for beginners but by Week 2, it becomes apparent that this is not actually the case. I was able to finish the course, but with great difficulty and a lot of research outside of the modules to understand this. There should have been a bit more of an introduction to the skills that would have been needed further on.

By Nicole R

Apr 5, 2020

I ended up having to reset the course deadlines multiple times due to the final project. My final project was submitted end of february, and yet still beginning of April have still not received final grades for it, thus need to keep resetting deadlines. A little frustrating to keep paying a new fee for a course that has been completed.

By Matthew M

Feb 19, 2019

Although the intent was clear, and IBM Watson Studio is helpful, this course needs to be rewritten. The week 3 content is a repeat of what was completed in the first course of this certification. Additionally, the content of needs to be updated to reflect the new format and functions of IBM Watson Studio over Data Science Experience.

By Tan G T R

Jul 8, 2020

Rather shallow course that tests you on trivial knowledge mentioned at some point in the videos/readings. More hands-on exercises/assignments will be more useful, instead of just testing on things that can be easily googled. Course does give a nice overview of data science tools, you one does not learn much more than an overview.

By Marcel V

Jun 18, 2019

This one comes to soon in the path to get IBM professional certificate.

To many tools to get a handle off when you just start out. A bit overwhelming

As a stand alone course when you need these tools it is probably ok.

I would have prefered to just stay with skillabs and move on.

and then later maybe come back when absolutely needed.

By James A

Sep 16, 2020

The content of week 2 (module 2) was shockingly bad. Complete disregard for the level that this course is aimed at and extremely bad quality. Week 1 overall was decent compared to week 2, but was a complete data dump and quite a challenge to keep up. Week 3 and the assessment in week 4 were a pleasure and a delight to learn

By Eleonora A

Mar 5, 2021

the first week is really impossible to follow, too many inofrmations and given too quickly and there's no meaning in listing all those programs. Second week is the best one in my view, and very well organized. About the last 2 weeks: a course on tools cannot be focused 50% on IBM tools, which, by the way, nobody uses.

By Samuel L

May 26, 2022

I was very disapointed in the 4th week's content. I understand that it is a course sponsored by IBM, hence, I was expecting way better content on their softwares and tools. On top of that, the interface shown in the videos is different from the current one which made it even harder to follow. IBM you can do better.

By Alma B M B

Nov 29, 2021

Incluyen conceptos dentro de conceptos que no están plenamente aclarados en el principio, lo cual retrasa mi estudio porque debo buscar en otras fuentes de información para poder entender los términos utilizados dentro de su contexto, ya que en primera instancia no poseo una formación académica relacionada al curso.

By Zahir K

Jan 23, 2020

IBM Watson section is totally out of date and no where is it mentioned that the information in the videos is not accurate and the steps are all wrong. very disappointined in the quality of this course will be canceling subscription if this is the type of instruction the other courses have. Totally unacceptable

By Anup S

Nov 12, 2021

This course just promotes the tools from IBM and it also needs you to make accounts into its products and although it says, the products are free trial, they want your credit card details. Most questions in the assignments are also all about their products. I am very annoyed and disappointed by this course.

By Pei-wen K

Feb 7, 2022

The course is too dry and not contextualised, the only thing I was happy to have learnt is how to use Gibhut, that's quite hands on, however other parts are full of jargons that I am not even sure if they are relevant to me at all, and I can't remember most of them or understand how to apply them at all.

By Michael L

Dec 17, 2020

While generally content was useful, video tutorials were created using outdated tools and with not much explanation or introduction to concepts. Some video tutorials were also used with a Mac, which leads to syntax variations. Week 3 felt like I was sitting through an IBM Watson advertisement.

By Johni A K

Aug 23, 2021

Many of the videos are out of sync with the current IBM Cloud interface. Also some lessons start at a point but give no indication how to get to that same starting point.

I felt not much was gained from week 3. I learned more from IBM help docs and YouTube than from week three's materials.

By Cesar M A T

Aug 9, 2020

I understand the purpose of this course, to showcase all the different tools a data scientist needs, but since this course is offered for beginner level, the vast majority of the concepts introduced in the lections serve no purpose in educating since we don't have the expertise to grasp it.