Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
23,856 ratings
3,785 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

GC

Apr 12, 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

RR

Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

3626 - 3650 of 3,793 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Ivan B

May 23, 2020

Google Simulating Environment has the bugs and when you writing to Support, this rich guys stat you to do a free "PROD" testing : no way, it's theirs bugs, and I have my own. What the hell are paid for?

Shame on YOU IBM for such solution!

By TD22

Mar 17, 2022

70% of the content is useless in this module because it is just about IBM promoting their least popular and terrible user-experienced IBM cloud service. Believe it or not, IBM cloud gonna be one of the worst platform that you will try.

By Guy B E

Sep 10, 2020

I thought that the course was premature. It would be nice to learn about the tools after some background in data science and than I would get actual experience with those tools. But unfourtunatly at this stage I think it was premature.

By Siddhartha P

Apr 20, 2019

Very outdated course. Atleast they could have updated the videos to match with entirely new layout of IBM Watson Studios or Cognitive Class Lab. Even the information provided was very minimal with proper background or context to them

By Dang V T

Sep 19, 2019

Many video contents are out of date which making confusions to learner, i.e. Data Science Experience now change to IBM Watson Studio, but they do not update the video contents accordingly. It then very hard for learner to follow.

By leonardo c

Dec 6, 2021

IBM should be ashamed of issuing such a patchy-mess up and chaotic material using its brand. Google data analytics course is way better in case you want to actually learn at leas something regarding data analysis / data science.

By Belinda N

Feb 25, 2022

T​he goal posts were changing as the course progressed. I could move no further after I was asked for my credit card details to access the IBM Watson Studio. I think IBM should rethink this course to make it more user friendly.

By Steve O

Oct 30, 2018

The content was okay but there were a lot of technical support problems. Apparently the IBM cloud infrastructure is in transition. Also, as the course admits, some of the videos use old terminology. This just needs to be fixed.

By Marielle B

Apr 19, 2022

Not very interesting to get so much theoretical information about all the existing software and tools out there. I would rather first learn some pratical skills and learn about new software/tools step by step when I need them.

By Ren Z C

Mar 12, 2020

It seems that the real purpose of this course is to promote IBM's merchandise, not propagate knowledge. Because of this, there is lot of 'What is the different between ordinary XXX and IBM-provided XXX" kind of junk in it.

By Elvijs M

Apr 17, 2020

Useless course as far as familiarizing oneself with data science tools. It's simply a promotion of IBM's proprietary platform. And owing to the frequent technical problems and outdated instructions it fails even at that!

By Sudha N

Jan 30, 2019

Trying to create a Jupyter notebook in IBM Watson for two days now as asked by the final assignment. The interface in the video is outdated and I'm really confused about how to create this simple assignment in Watson.

By Zachary C

Sep 8, 2018

Course videos are out of date. The entire third week is dedicated to IBM Data Science Experience, which has been removed and replaced by IBM Watson Studio. Not much point to a walkthrough when you can't follow along.

By Infinitas F

Dec 15, 2021

Couldn't complete the course because of the troubles with IBM Account, that I have to create to do labs.

Tried a lot but nothing has worked.

I don't understand why students just can't use some opensource instead...

By Santiago B S

Apr 5, 2019

This course is not about tools for Data Science and how to use it, but about two services provided by IBM which have, among others, some tools used for data science (not explained in depth, but asked for, here)

By Nuttaphat A

Jun 3, 2019

This is a waste of time.

The course introduces various tools for data science. However, the majority of the focus was on IBM's products which leads to frustration. I'm surprised this course is offered by IBM.

By Yushan C

Aug 31, 2020

Some instructors' videos are not clear with strong accent. And, final assignment does not match learning material which made it very complicated to complete. Hard to register IBM account for watson studio.

By Jehangir S

Jul 17, 2019

This course was at some extent confusing especially when I was learning about Watson Studio.

It needs to be updated because the videos and its subtitle are still following the old DSX environment.

Thank you

By Sungeun Y

Apr 7, 2022

It could be only me, but it was hard to remember all the new software names and their functions. At least, you could make the final test easier? Had to attemp several times as the questions kept changing.

By Michelle E

Mar 9, 2020

The information is given in such a boring matter that it's impossible to keep your attention long enough not to fall asleep. I have completed other courses in Coursera, and haven't had this issue before.

By Kemal T

Jun 16, 2019

The course material (the videos) do not match with what IBM Watson Studio offers online. I wasted a lot of time to figure out some technical details which is not clear in your videos. So I gave up...

By Anamika K

May 21, 2020

The course study material is outdated and there is no support for the issued faced during the assignment. I am unable to complete the the assignment and have to move forward without the certificate.

By Nindiya T

Sep 12, 2020

The course needs more instructions on the basic and more study materials. As the course suggests, you do not need programming background, but it was taught like one understands the basics and more.

By SUMAN R

Aug 30, 2021

good course but when i complete second course they tell me to pay course fee but i have no money so i have purchase by financial aid . but now seeing pay and take certificate that is very wrong .

By Jessi C

Jun 9, 2020

al comienzo dicen que es para principiantes pero las explicaciones están por la mitad, y cuando realmente un principiante quiere aprender se ve atorado con el contenido por que es muy técnico.