Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
19,880 ratings
3,009 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, RStudio IDE, Apache Zeppelin and Data Science Experience. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Cognitive Class Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Data Science Experience and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

GC
Apr 12, 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filter by:

2251 - 2275 of 2,981 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Alvaro L

Mar 11, 2020

The content and resources for learning are excellente. However, I had a lot of problems for signing in the IBM cloud and it is impossible to contact Coursera for help. At last I managed to have my account, after some hours lost, and some emails sent directly to IBM Cloud helpdesk.

By stefania s

Dec 5, 2019

the third week was very tiring. the use of Watson studio was not intuitive and the videos did not explain well what to do. I lost a lot of time creating a project because I had a different configuration than the one shown in the video. I had to enable options that were not default

By Herbert P

Mar 10, 2020

The general outline of the course is very interesting. However, the content is getting old. Furthermore, there were technical issues on the IBM cloud that blocked many people (including me) to finalize the course. I spend 30% of my time trying to solve technical issues.

By Muhammad I H R

Apr 28, 2020

The course is fantastic with simple explanation and good tips. However the videos are showing an outdated IBM Watson Studio interface which makes it confusing for beginners to follow. Please do upload a new training video with the updated IBM Watson Studio interface

By Max A T

Jan 27, 2020

Lots of good information, but much of it is outdated. The names of these programs have changed. Also, the ordering of the videos seems awkward, like they don't frontload the information in the right order, so that you're filling in pieces between and after lessons.

By Angela W

Jan 28, 2020

The course videos need updating. I, and other students, have wasted a lot of time trying to follow the out of date materials, not to mention the confusion and frustration that it creates. If the materials were kept up to date, I would have left a five-star review.

By Karen M

Dec 18, 2019

First two weeks were to the point and good introductions to Jupyter Notebook and Zeppelin, but the third week tutorial on IBM Data Experience is so out of date as to be useless for being able to set up a new project and complete the assignment. Very frustrating.

By Laila

Jul 15, 2020

The first two weeks of the course are poorly explained and don't have regard for total beginners. It gets really disappointing in week 2 where the quality of the videos and the structure of the lecturer is really poor. However, weeks 3 and 4 things get better.

By Reinhard H J

Oct 4, 2019

It's comprehensive enough, but should include more exercises for programming. I don't think it was necessarily the right decision to make this course come before programming, but it should accompany programming. It was alright with respect to content, however.

By Amy S M

Dec 3, 2019

The videos and instructions on this class were terribly outdated. Despite the warning provided at the beginning that the videos were out of date, this is still unacceptable. It takes very little time to make a video of the quality and length in these courses.

By Amanda C

Dec 18, 2019

This course has a good introduction to some online, open-source tools. It does not really discuss the drawbacks of these tools or their real use in industry. The test questions are detailed "gotcha" questions and not aimed at true comprehension of material.

By Varun V

Oct 17, 2018

Lots of videos are outdated as the tools (Both CognitiveLabs/Datascientist workbench AND IBM Watson Studio) have gone major updates and it was very difficult to follow the video tutorials. Unless the videos are updated, I cannot give a better rating than 3.

By Denzel J S

Jul 17, 2020

I was pretty disappointed with the weeks of this course. Not only it lacks 'on-hand' tutorials but the vagueness of video lectures, lack of instructions for beginners. A total downer for amateur beginners whose looking into the world of data science.

By Deleted A

Dec 23, 2019

Some material needs to be updated. Even though it has been clarified at the beginning of the course, many things have changed and the videos and reality are different. The concept is the same of course but it causes confusion among students.

Thank you

By Fernando R

Jul 14, 2020

A decent enough intro to some of the tools, specifically Jupyter notebooks. Week 1 just mentions a bunch of technologies without going into much detail. Week 3 is in my opinion a waste of time as it functions mainly as an infomercial of IBM services.

By Mandar V P

Apr 11, 2020

Last part is not updated. The videos and notes are of the old version of IBM Watson, hence the interface of the thing is just about completely different from the one shown and taught about in the lecture. IBM should change the videos and notes ASAP.

By Devon H

Mar 19, 2020

Technical challenges given differences between what was presented and what was found for exercises. In some cases steps didn’t render student getting the required options to complete all aspects of the assignments and/or took a lot longer to finish.

By Manish P

Dec 27, 2019

Multiple creation of logins was confusing. A lot of time was spent figuring out the links. Changing the name from Data Experience to Watson Studio probably led to some of it. Hope you guys streamline the steps and videos to match with what shows up.

By Haim D

Mar 13, 2019

I feel that I could have benefit much more from coding more with Python or R. I feel that all I know is how to activate the tools, and run scripts that are already written. I would have liked more time to practice the tools, facing real questions.

By Vincent Z

Jan 8, 2019

The course does a good job of showing the some available free tools for data scientists. However, I still haven't the impression of having learned any data science yet, after two courses in this specialization. I hope the best is still to come.

By Chris L

Oct 15, 2019

it is good to know there is a lot of free tools out there but it is not very practical. in reality, you will most likely use one tool and excel in one language, having tons of tool in the box does not mean having the equivalent in your brain.

By Juan D C

Sep 20, 2018

The course is OK, the problem is that IBM tools seem don't work every time. I had to open 3 accounts with different e-mails to get to work with Watson Data Studio. The videos explaining how it works are outdated and don't correspond anymore.

By frank s s

Oct 1, 2018

I found some of the lessons hard to follow. The web page has been updated but the class has not. I still enjoyed the class and learned some valuable information but it would be nice if the data being taught was current with the webpage.

By Henrique M

Jul 24, 2020

The course did not present didactics at the same level as others Coursera courses. The mix of IBM tools for training in the same space as the service sales environment makes learning confusing. The exercises on the tools were very basic.