Chevron Left
Back to Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way by Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU)

4.8
stars
372 ratings
138 reviews

About the Course

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Top reviews

IX

May 15, 2018

This is such an amazing course! Prof.Radner has done an excellent job at presenting topics and organizing materials. Highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in ancient civilizations.

NW

Nov 26, 2018

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,\n\nI have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.\n\nFab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 139 Reviews for Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

By ELLEN C

Mar 12, 2019

I throughly enjoyed this class. Ms. Radner was interesting, funny, informative and down to earth. Loved the artistic presentations she did. I would definitely take another of her classes. She made the class!

By Glen M

Jun 03, 2018

Karen Radner's lectures and the "Talking about ..." discussions were very interesting, but I especially liked the cartoon character drawings used to describe the events that happened in the Assyrian empire.

By Anthony C E

Jul 10, 2020

I have previously completed courses on the Ancient Near East, but this course filled in quite a few gaps.

I really enjoyed the presentation, and I found Karen's teaching both accessible and interesting.

By Emma B

Jul 29, 2020

Well-balanced, well-paced, good clear explanations, questions that test relevant knowledge - really enjoyed it, congratulations to all those involved, and particularly Prof Radner for great good humour

By Iris X

May 15, 2018

This is such an amazing course! Prof.Radner has done an excellent job at presenting topics and organizing materials. Highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested in ancient civilizations.

By Naomi W

Nov 26, 2018

So Far I am Loving this Course, So much Info,

I have always wanted to do a course on the Assyrian Empire.

Fab way of learning too, with tests at each stage rather than a mighty one at the end.

By Nikola W

Feb 17, 2020

Nice introduction to the Assyrian history. Due to different types of videos (interviews and lectures), quizes, and an interesting selection of topics, the course offers fun while learning.

By Mardohar B B S

Jun 23, 2020

Other courses on ancient history sometimes stay as mere chronicles and not a message. This course is different. It gives a strong emphasis on how ancient ideas are never ancient at all.

By Des C

Jun 26, 2020

As others have written a very good course good set of lecturers. One of the more informative and well presented of the courses on offer here and a good start to farther study.

By Emilio L A

Feb 22, 2020

Excellent course! Congratulations for your lectures, Mrs. Radner. Have you thought of doing another course about the extraordinary Assyrian art? I would be very interested!

By John D

Jul 08, 2018

Professor Radner, her staff, and the expert faculty that she had speak provided an amazing journey into a long gone government, society, and culture and made it seem alive.

By Vicente A A

Mar 19, 2020

Interesting, relevant, well organised, smartly discussed and thoroughly enjoyed. I feel that I have learned quite a few things and moreover, that I want to learn more.

By Hardeman B

Oct 09, 2018

A great course that I enjoyed ! It expanded my knowledge of Assyrian history and allowed me to develop a interest for ancient Assyrian history. I highly recommend it!

By Virginia M

May 15, 2019

An excellent course. Congratulations to Professor Radner and her excellent staff. They all made our learning both profitable and thoroughly enjoyable. That you all!

By José M P Z

Jun 05, 2020

Splendid introductory course. I have enjoyed and learned a lot. It has motivated me to continue researching and studying about the Assyrian Empire. Congratulations.

By Jummai

Jan 04, 2020

Interesting, entertaining course that has increased my interest in history especially the empires that arose around the world after the fall of the Assyrian Empire.

By Eduardo L P

Dec 27, 2019

Really enjoyed it - excelent format with lectures and a series of "asides" that provide context and texture.

Hope to see one course on the ancient mesopotamian city!

By Andrew S

Aug 16, 2020

Honestly the best online course I've taken so far. The variety of formats used for the videos was very effective and engaging. Great professor also. Thank you!

By Byron N

Jun 19, 2020

Thanks to Dr. Radner who has put together an amazing course on the Neo-Assyrian Empire. Her enthusiasm is contagious . I feel I learned a lot in the course.

By Miloš B

Mar 11, 2019

This course was so much fun. Thanks to all the good people that made it possible for us to not only attend but also enjoy it. Prof. Karen is a real treasure.

By David I

Jul 17, 2020

An amazing course that provides a broad overview of an empire but also intimate detail of everyday life of the ancient Assyrian people. Highly recommended!

By Sompairac T

Jul 12, 2020

Very interesting giving a full picture of a civilization that is not very well known and which invented basic concepts that survived till now.

By Fan C

Dec 05, 2018

I have watched the module 1, and I have gotten an impressive view to the Assyrian Empire through Professor Karan and her wonderful lectures

By Rob M

May 14, 2018

An excellent course. If you have an interest in the Ancient World, politics or sociology, then this is a definite course for you.

By Keith P

Jul 24, 2020

The breadth of the course and the presentation made this a fascinating introduction to a subject that I knew nothing about.