Chevron Left
Back to Organizational Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Organizational Analysis by Stanford University

4.6
stars
909 ratings
281 reviews

About the Course

In this introductory, self-paced course, you will learn multiple theories of organizational behavior and apply them to actual cases of organizational change. Organizations are groups whose members coordinate their behaviors in order to accomplish a shared goal. They can be found nearly everywhere in today’s society: universities, start-ups, classrooms, hospitals, non-profits, government bureaus, corporations, restaurants, grocery stores, and professional associations are some of many examples of organizations. Organizations are as varied and complex as they are ubiquitous: they differ in size and internal structure; they can entail a multiplicity of goals and tasks (some of which are planned and others unplanned!); they are made up of individuals whose goals and motivations may differ from those of the group; and they must interact with other organizations and deal with environmental constraints in order to be successful. This complexity frequently results in a myriad of problems for organizational participants and the organization’s survival. In this course, we will use organizational theories to systematically analyze how an organization operates and can best be managed. Organizational theories highlight certain features of an organization’s structure and environment, as well as its processes of negotiation, production, and change. Each provides a lens for interpreting novel organizational situations and developing a sense for how individual and group behaviors are organized. Theories are valuable for the analyst and manager because most organizational problems are unique to the circumstances and cannot be solved by simple rules of thumb. Armed with a toolset of organizational theories, you will be able to systematically identify important features of an organization and the events transforming it; choose a theoretical framework most applicable to the observed mode of organizing; and use that theory to determine which actions will best redirect the organization in desired directions. In sum, the course has three goals: to become familiar with a series of real-world organizational phenomena; to learn different theoretical perspectives that can elucidate these phenomena; and to apply these different ways of “seeing” and managing organizations to cases. In such a fashion, the course is designed to actively bridge theory and practice, exposing students to a variety of conceptual tools and ways to negotiate novel situations....

Top reviews

MA
Apr 29, 2020

This course provides in-depth analyses of a host of organizational theories and their application in real life. The dissection of each case and the applicability of the theories are really insightful.

AL
Sep 2, 2019

Very challenging yet worth it. If you are in an administrative position in an organization (especially education) you will get some great perspectives/understandings from this course. Take good notes!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 277 Reviews for Organizational Analysis

By Luís E G

Dec 18, 2017

I'm marvel at this course!! Thank you professor Daniel, Stanford, Coursera and all people involved who helped to build so useful course.

By Kyaw K T

Apr 15, 2017

Great Course, those people who are going to learn this course, fully recommended to buy the book, which will really help in final exam.

By Kirti D

Oct 4, 2020

This course was very challenging but completely relevant and provided many theories that can be applied to any Organisational Setting.

By Matthew R C

Jun 7, 2020

Phenomenal course material - highly recommend to anyone interested in the subject matter and covered spheres of organizational design.

By Saad Z S

Jul 26, 2020

Extremely Rigorous, if not the most rigorous course in all of the coursera's offering and Stanford's altogether but surely worth it!

By Alka J

Apr 27, 2020

The course was interesting and a learning experience. Got stuck at two places but the simplicity in explaining the topics helped me.

By Erica M

Dec 8, 2019

Excellent content and format. Some videos have glitches on the slide, which are distracting, but the content is still great quality.

By Jacob R

May 2, 2017

Lots of content. Quite theoretical, but tought in an effecive manner. A lot of material is covered and it gives a lot of "tools" t

By Mandy N

Aug 3, 2017

Absolutely amazing course. Very well organised lectures with extra forums as well. Thoroughly enjoyed whilst learning. Thank you.

By Smruti R S

Apr 6, 2020

A well designed course which covers most aspects of organization related concepts. The case studies discussed were very helpful.

By Darin B

May 9, 2017

Fantastic overview of the material providing you a great subject-matter foundation. Material is thoroughly covered and explain.

By Jacques M

Nov 20, 2020

The course is wonderful. full of insights, with logic , cases, cadence and strong theoretical basis. I stroncly reccomend it.

By Alexis N

Jul 24, 2017

Very comprehensive - each theory is well-explained with examples in multiple context. I very much enjoyed taking the course.

By Bruno D R A

Sep 27, 2020

This course gave me so much knowledge in analysis and it's satisfycing to have an certificate from a reputable university.

By Mizanur R

Jan 14, 2018

It was a great experience to participate in the course. It was an useful, fun and refreshing learning. Thanks for offering.

By Rodrigo A d O

Dec 26, 2017

Ótimo para gerar uma reflexão e visões sobre os problemas institucionais e possíveis metodologias de solução. Recomendo!

By Diego Z P

Apr 23, 2018

Very very information heavy. Expect to really wrap your head around many theories. Helps to talk with other classmates!

By Kristina B

Jul 3, 2020

Great Class! Learned a lot that I can apply in my current position as well as the position I am going to be very soon!

By Ebube B O

Feb 10, 2020

I totally enjoyed this course. It was filled with useful theories I hope to apply in the future! I highly recommend it

By Natalia A

Jun 23, 2019

One of the best courses on coursera! Useful insights and very efficient lectures. Thanks a lot! Strongly recommend!

By Paulo H

Jun 14, 2017

Muito bom! Aulas interessantes e com exemplos claros para se entender todas as teorias organizacionais abordadas!

By Akshay S

Dec 12, 2019

A very thorough and enlightening course regarding various management theories, case studies, applications ..etc.

By Isabel D

Jan 27, 2020

Brilliant content, I really enjoyed the short videos. It allowed me to come back and forth whenever I had time.

By Saikat G

Oct 10, 2019

A very good course providing detailed insights into various facets involved in the analysis of an organisation.

By Rohan S

May 28, 2017

This course was very fruitful for my development. I thank the professor for this wonderful session of lectures.