Chevron Left
Back to Organizational Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Organizational Analysis by Stanford University

4.6
stars
789 ratings
236 reviews

About the Course

In this introductory, self-paced course, you will learn multiple theories of organizational behavior and apply them to actual cases of organizational change. Organizations are groups whose members coordinate their behaviors in order to accomplish a shared goal. They can be found nearly everywhere in today’s society: universities, start-ups, classrooms, hospitals, non-profits, government bureaus, corporations, restaurants, grocery stores, and professional associations are some of many examples of organizations. Organizations are as varied and complex as they are ubiquitous: they differ in size and internal structure; they can entail a multiplicity of goals and tasks (some of which are planned and others unplanned!); they are made up of individuals whose goals and motivations may differ from those of the group; and they must interact with other organizations and deal with environmental constraints in order to be successful. This complexity frequently results in a myriad of problems for organizational participants and the organization’s survival. In this course, we will use organizational theories to systematically analyze how an organization operates and can best be managed. Organizational theories highlight certain features of an organization’s structure and environment, as well as its processes of negotiation, production, and change. Each provides a lens for interpreting novel organizational situations and developing a sense for how individual and group behaviors are organized. Theories are valuable for the analyst and manager because most organizational problems are unique to the circumstances and cannot be solved by simple rules of thumb. Armed with a toolset of organizational theories, you will be able to systematically identify important features of an organization and the events transforming it; choose a theoretical framework most applicable to the observed mode of organizing; and use that theory to determine which actions will best redirect the organization in desired directions. In sum, the course has three goals: to become familiar with a series of real-world organizational phenomena; to learn different theoretical perspectives that can elucidate these phenomena; and to apply these different ways of “seeing” and managing organizations to cases. In such a fashion, the course is designed to actively bridge theory and practice, exposing students to a variety of conceptual tools and ways to negotiate novel situations....

Top reviews

AL

Sep 03, 2019

Very challenging yet worth it. If you are in an administrative position in an organization (especially education) you will get some great perspectives/understandings from this course. Take good notes!

MA

Apr 30, 2020

This course provides in-depth analyses of a host of organizational theories and their application in real life. The dissection of each case and the applicability of the theories are really insightful.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 234 Reviews for Organizational Analysis

By Erik S

Jun 01, 2020

Very ilustrative. I had some problems with the quizzes and final test, as there were many normative value-driven answers that in my vow can not be answered only with right or wrong. This is a basic problem of Coursera, at least in my experience.

By Virginie C

Aug 25, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, the teacher was great and content very interesting. i would say though that learners shoul be made aware that they should know the textbook in great details to be successful at the final exam.

By Bandaru J V

Mar 30, 2020

This course is one of the best course which takes you to different perspectives in an organization. I didn't think it will have those many modules. All are very helpful and the professor teaches clearly. Thank you.

By Raj K D

Jan 04, 2019

its an excellent course. i liked the end exam as well as sufficient depth in knowledge is required to pass this . this forced me to go through the course once again and i am thankful that I went though it again.

By Sainath S

Mar 21, 2018

Very interesting to take a course from a Stanford Professor. Just wondering if this is equivalent to a course attained from the university itself by attending physical classes or at least less-equivalent!

By Jay S

May 30, 2020

Very interesting theories and well explained. Only area where this could be improved is diversity in examples. Most of the examples are related to education which became confines your thinking.

By Ivaylo Y

Dec 12, 2016

It's a good course providing broad overview of the field and details into the important theories. Lots of case studies which I didn't find very relevant but still - nice to have them

By daniel k j

Jan 21, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this basic overview of Organizational Analysis. It was a fun and interesting foray into what much of my major in school will look like.

By VINOD K M

Dec 23, 2018

Excellent course, gives a broad view on how organizations are formed. Theories guidelines on how they could could be adapted to the VUCA world.

By Bernhard

Aug 30, 2017

Very good course with many examples. I can recommend the course.

It is a bit long in comparison to other Coursera formats but worth the time!

By Neofytos K

Sep 14, 2017

Very intersting course, presenting the theories for approaching and analyzing organizations and always providing appropriate case examples

By Sriram D

Aug 05, 2020

I wish the course was dealt with in a simpler language rather than large words considering the international exposure to the course.

By Kenneth E D

Aug 09, 2018

The course provides a great basic understanding of how to analyze an organization. It provides great tools for future analysis.

By Joris J S

Dec 10, 2017

Very interesting to learn organizational theories. It will help to assess the effectiveness of your own organization.

By Prashanth M N

Aug 13, 2017

A really good course for making sense of a lot of things that happen at a macro level in an organisation.

By Osama s

Apr 23, 2020

Very useful course, but I received the certificate without the logo of Stanford University, why?

By shruthikallur

Sep 29, 2017

Well structured course. Great materials and easy to follow teaching methodology

By shruti m

Jul 02, 2020

A challenging course. However, it offers a lot of theoretical knowledge!

By Víctor E M A

Jan 23, 2017

Very good theoretical basis to understand the reality of organizations.

By Amit J

Jul 08, 2017

Great content and explanation. Thanks Professor and the academic team!

By Pradeepa D

May 01, 2020

Good content..need very focused learning to pass.

By Jeroen O

Nov 22, 2017

Very interesting course, easy to follow!

By Andres A

Jul 23, 2020

Mr Mcfarland is a great professor

By Louis U A

Jun 04, 2018

Was enriched by the lessons.