Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
15,208 ratings
2,946 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JB
Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

BO
Apr 1, 2019

This is my most favorite module module, especially the Linux, which is my all time favorite OS ever enjoy learning, working Programing, and configuring, and will continue enjoying til the end of time.

Filter by:

2726 - 2750 of 2,917 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Anthony M

May 14, 2020

Not sure on how students were supposed to keep up with the commands. Create more section for follow along work in bash or powershell in addtion to labs.

By Miller L

Oct 11, 2018

The qwiklabs were really difficult to work with. They would either not score correctly, or constantly shut down in the middle of working on a project.

By Dan M

Dec 8, 2020

Too much bouncing back and forth between windows and Linux, would be nice to stay in one interface for longer in order to practice and retain things.

By Anthony A

Mar 23, 2020

The final Linux lab made me rate this course lower. The lab was not allowing me to complete errors even though I had entered the commands correctly.

By Peyton B

Feb 19, 2021

ALL TESTS should be like week 6. being forced to recall and look up man pages really helps cement these concepts and practices for troubleshooting

By Jellyfishezie

Feb 18, 2019

The course is good and most things are explained well, but the endless qwiklabs bug one after another, takes the score of course down quite a bit.

By Joshua J

May 15, 2020

I haven't used the Linux terminal before this course. So I had trouble with that. But overall, the course was good. Thank you Google and Coursera

By Alex S

Mar 1, 2019

Lots of important information learned here, but the graded third-party tools are buggy. When they work, they are fascinating learning tools.

By Abigail L

Oct 3, 2018

I am very happy with this course because i learning how fix a lot the warning problem that even viewer app found and how i can fix quickly.

By Cheryl S

May 24, 2019

The itself was great learning, however the qwiklabs were complicated. None of the scores stayed, nothing worked as well as the other labs.

By Shane M

Mar 8, 2019

the biggest challenge was getting the VM labs to work. Fixes were at least fast-ish, but I missed my deadlines a few times because of it.

By Selimir K

Jul 14, 2018

Very good selection of material but, without summary slides (like in the networking course), it is very hard to retain all that info.

By Brendan S

Feb 12, 2020

Challenging, but manageable. Will learn the foundations of Linux and Windows CLI. Wish the Qwiklab assessments were less glitchy.

By Jake D

May 7, 2018

Started off strong, but the finishing graded assignments kind of tossed you off a cliff to see if you could fly without any wings.

By Michael F T D O T N

Aug 12, 2020

parts of linux where clear but some parts where not - further training maybe needed for me on linux command shell but i got there

By Chai C N

May 1, 2020

It's a great course. I've already watch the video on youtube. The qwiklab need improvement. Other than that, it's a great course.

By Ashley M W

Jul 27, 2018

This was one of the more difficult courses; however, I feel like I went away with a good basis in terms of newly acquired skills.

By Britain N

Apr 27, 2020

Some areas could have used a lot more time and instruction on them. Also, a book would be really helpful on some of this stuff.

By Terrance W

Nov 26, 2018

System kept glitching on me when doing Linux Labs. Made that system less attractive and I hope I never see it in my career. :(

By salman a

Oct 20, 2019

issues with lab. set of instructions are terrible on the last lab. needed some help. they were wonderful explaining stuff.

By Akash R

May 22, 2020

Okay-ish, not discussed in much detail and also the instructor gave a ton of reading to do instead of teaching it herself

By Cynthia M

Aug 5, 2019

some of the links need to be updated as well as more labs during the lecture to help with using and remember commands.

By Roberto A

Feb 17, 2020

I don't see the point of asking to run a test on how to copy-paste file on Windows. Who's the target for this course?

By KOTARO N

Nov 23, 2020

It was difficult for the beginner to handle but practicing using command is really useful to understand how OS works

By Kurt E

Aug 8, 2018

Labs could use some work on more real life situation on how to use the command lines to alter settings and files.