Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
17,506 ratings
3,406 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JB
Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

MA
May 23, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,\n\nUsing commands with Windows and Linux\n\nHow to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot\n\nThanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 3,400 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Wong L H

Jul 12, 2021

t​his course let me learning too much. I know I can not remember it. but at least I know what is this, what is that and what's that mean, how to use...etc.,

Thank you Coursera gave me low price course with certificate!!!

By A.M I H A

Aug 7, 2020

Great course, Also the instructor is very experienced and she explained everything related to the operating systems used for IT support roles. Thank you very much for letting me learn very valuable stuff in this module.

By Robert A L

May 6, 2019

awesome class!!!! this was an excellent start into all things Linux. I am totally pumped and it gave me the confidence to download, install and dual-boot Linux Mint on my labtop along with Windows. Thank you all so much

By Ian I

Jun 27, 2018

This course was very informational for me and displayed an area that I truly need to spend some time getting familiar with. Take Cindy's advice and try your best to commit the commands and there function to your memory.

By Luis F

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent course, both for total beginners in the IT field and as a good refresher for those already on this path. I have learn a lot of useful skills I can apply at my current job and probably on any future endeavor.

By Justin M

Nov 26, 2018

This course is presented well. Moreover, I felt that I learned so much more than I had in my college's Linux course. She, Cindy, is really good at explaining how the commands could apply in a desktop support position.

By Alberto E

Jul 20, 2021

I went into this thinking a "power user" was someone able to navigate thru websites and search engines like a pro... Now I truly understand the concept and have a new appreciation for Windows and LINUX based systems.

By Karen S

May 14, 2018

A lot of information that’s well taught but difficult to take all in. The labs are more difficult. Week 6 labs were extremey hard and I thought I would fail. I just kept retaking the labs and managed to pass with 80%

By Sowjanya V

Jun 3, 2021

It was awesome course, but 4th week of assignment , I couldn't complete because my internet was down when completing my assignment. so now when ever i am trying again ,getting message quota was done . i am helpless

By Deleted A

Sep 10, 2019

I like this course but the last part of week 6 assessment in Linux tough haha because it is use command line but In windows, easy for me to navigate and find the problems. Anyways, everything worked great as usuall.

By Aaron H

Jul 17, 2018

Great course! But some of the parts are a bit buggy, so make sure to check the forums if you cannot figure out what to do! IT Support is about finding answers, so it makes sense to work on your searching skills now!

By Kyle M

Apr 5, 2018

Great Course. I would really prefer if the Instructors would delve into the instresting stuff, instead of "chec it out in the next supplemental reading"....gets old after a while.

Other than that - I am very pleased!

By Daniel O

Feb 19, 2018

Great course. The multiple choice, however, should probably be graded. The qwiklabs was great, even if it was a bit buggy. The multiple choice, in contrast, force students to memorize the commands Cindy talks about.

By James R

Mar 29, 2021

Great course, really helped organize the various things I knew and things I did not in to a comprehensive course, tying it all together and developing a solid foundation. I do not feel as intimidated to move ahead.

By Zahid A K

Apr 12, 2020

Believe me this course is one of the best I have come across as it has a lot of practical aspects in it and I really liked that as it was very engaging and that helped me understand a lot of things about the topic.

By xinku

Jan 28, 2019

this is a great course for everyone with little computer fundation,it will teach the most important and basic knowledge and skill so you can use computer smoothly and efficently.realy thanks for suplying the course

By Melodie M

Nov 8, 2020

I am being challenge with these course. I am hopeful that one day these will be easier for me to use. I have never worked with Linux environment so this is all new. I have used the command line but very little.

By Michael R H

Apr 6, 2020

Great introduction to material. Accurately and intelligently summarizes most important skills to be learned while not feeling like its a bare bones summary (which it is, but its a great foundation to start from).

By Joseph G

Jun 20, 2019

This course was excellent. Cindy is an enjoyable instructor. No filler material or fluff in any of the lessons - just wholly useful information and exercises. I'll be using Bash and PowerShell much more often now!

By Javier A L A

May 9, 2021

it`s been great and challenge experience from the beginning to the end, the complexity of it in each assessment, make you troubleshoot like in real scenario environment....after all is about get things done..

By Biplab G

Dec 26, 2020

This is best course for the one who wanted to learn basic of OS for both Windows and Linus Users . Really appreciated the efforts the Trainer has put . I am Thankful yo Google|Coursera for this informative course

By Panama P

Feb 24, 2018

Many gaps were filled in about the Windows OS and I learned a lot about the Linux OS.

The course was well designed. Some of the Labs had connectivity issues but over a great experience!

Cindy is a great instructor.

By Scott S

May 30, 2020

Lots of good hands-on knowledge. I recommend using VirtualBox and setting up a virtual machine so you can follow along with both Windows and Linux. Mirroring what the instructor does in the CLI was very helpful.

By RAM K D

May 13, 2020

This is the most important topics for the IT support specialist for manage every needy work like install, update, remove, modify the file permission as well as software from command line using windows and linux.

By Matthew C

Aug 7, 2019

not really packed full of information, but enough to make you dangerous. if you go off on a tangent (at your own leisure) from the suggested readings, then you will be well versed in how operating systems work.