Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
19,251 ratings
3,741 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

SG
Nov 27, 2021

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

JB
Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

Filter by:

3026 - 3050 of 3,771 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Niya B

Jul 27, 2018

The last lab was frustrating, overall I really enjoyed learning and playing around with the different commands.

By isaiahz100

Mar 4, 2021

So much information it's hard to keep up but there's a lot of handy and useful info. Linux is overly difficult

By Alan R S

Aug 26, 2019

There's a lot of information presented very quickly. I think more labs would be helpful throughout the course.

By Julio P

Oct 15, 2019

If was fun and exciting to learn new skills. Hopefully the following courses will be fun as well. Good stuff!

By Stephen H

Jun 4, 2018

Cindy is a great and thorough instructor. This course really opened my eyes to how useful powershell can be.

By rob w

Mar 27, 2018

I liked the material, some of the quiklabs were not always great about scoring after the tasks were completed

By Deb M

Oct 17, 2021

T​he content was good, the Qwiklabs were a problem most of the time, which because increasingly frustrating.

By Osman A W

Sep 26, 2020

This course was perfect. The delivery was awesome and teaches a lot about windows and linux operating system

By Logan H

Dec 26, 2019

Very fun and the labs are back. You also learn a lot and will be pausing the video a lot to write stuff down

By vincent f

Dec 15, 2019

Really liked how they are teaching me the tools to solve problems and enjoy learning the tricks of the trade

By Keven M

May 7, 2020

It's tough and made me swear alot lol. Definitely learn alot in it and will be a great asset in the future.

By Nkunze C

May 6, 2020

Amazing and knowledgeable content with real example and testing ground. Am proud to have taken this course.

By Jimmy D

Jan 3, 2020

This course really makes you work for it. Finally feels like we're getting into some advanced IT knowledge.

By Mahmoud M A M

Nov 7, 2021

I think you can add more labs and more assignments, and you can add good summary for articles after videos

By alessandro g

Sep 10, 2021

its good but with so many commands in use there should be a better reference in the labs on those commands

By Everett G

Feb 13, 2021

very helpful information, I struggled with some of the problems but, I just kept reviewing until I got it.

By Christopher M

Sep 3, 2020

Great class to learn about the basics of CLI and Linux CLI and getting the idea of packages and software.

By Joanna T

Dec 26, 2020

Some of the labs were hard to understand the instructions should be more clearer. Example lab week 6 the

By Jesse D

May 26, 2020

There was so much information in this course but finishing this course was difficult but very rewarding!

By Timothy S

Aug 4, 2019

Wow! I'm so glad I'm done with this course, but I know it was great for my development.

Thank you Cindy!

By Danna F

Oct 17, 2021

A very challenging course but also opens up your eyes with behind the scenes of the operating systems.

By Jonna N

Sep 2, 2021

Some lab instruction is not very clear and some are even very confusing. Please improve going forward.

By Joanne L

Feb 13, 2021

Difficult course because of not being familiar with Linux. More lab time would be great for practice.

By Christopher W

Sep 6, 2019

There was a lot of information in this course and has help me lay the ground work to my new beginning.

By John H

Apr 4, 2021

2 of the quizzes could use an update because they no longer work properly but over all a good course.