Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
24,432 ratings

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

BO

Apr 1, 2019

This is my most favorite module module, especially the Linux, which is my all time favorite OS ever enjoy learning, working Programing, and configuring, and will continue enjoying til the end of time.

JA

Jun 21, 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

Filter by:

3676 - 3700 of 4,737 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Satyanand K

Sep 16, 2020

One of the labs with Linux partitioning was extremely difficult and it if wasn`t for the qwiklabs assistance I would have never gotten it.

By Alfredo M

Aug 24, 2020

a lot of the Linx portions were tough, had to go back several times to check the commands, and searching for the errors in linx was rough.

By Destiny Y

Nov 17, 2019

I used to think I am good at Windows Operating System but I learnt through this course that I still need to learn more. I am happy I did.

By JD N

Aug 11, 2021

the labs can be very challenging for weeks 2 & 3,depending on your OS. A very informative course on Powershell and Linux for newcomers.

By Jeremy G

Jun 18, 2020

The last exercise for the course was tough! But worthy in that it really made me commit to troubleshooting and thinking things through.

By Shruthi A

Jun 16, 2020

It was a good course. The graded assignments could have been designed better. It was like simply copy-pasting the commands given there.

By Piper M

May 20, 2018

This so far was the most difficult course, because the commands are complex! But in the end, it left me feeling even more accomplished.

By Keith J V R

Nov 14, 2021

was very good lesions and learned a lot. only the very last assessment on Linux was a struggle and stress but after few tries passed.

By Josh L

Mar 25, 2021

Some assessments were a bit aggravating, but overall an incredibly fun course that I recommend to any IT-interested people out there!

By eLiz

Jul 20, 2018

Great course, but a TON of information and topics are covered. I wish there were more exercises built in to give us more experience.

By Nick S

Aug 27, 2020

Although the information was presented clearly, I found it really hard to jump from GUI, to PowerShell, to Linux all really quickly.

By Nikolas G

Aug 4, 2019

Very challenging. Will be going through all of it again for sure. But happy to have learned this and look forward to the next course

By Ahmed H

Feb 8, 2023

Such an interesting course, it provided me with a lot of skills to use them on my operating sys to generate such a powerful machine

By James W

Oct 7, 2020

Good module, the trick to get the interractive sessions to complete is to spend more than 5 mins on it even if it only takes you 2!

By John W W I

Mar 13, 2019

Some of the commands for the labs are a bit outdated in terms of syntax or destination, but otherwise a pretty good overview of OS.

By Caleb S

Dec 10, 2021

super useful, i learned so much and felt a much better grasp, but some stuff was explained poorly and the labs were worded oddly.

By Sergio L B M

Dec 6, 2021

I liked the course because many of the videos talked about basic commands and essentials for improve and develop me professionally

By Trystahn e

Nov 28, 2021

Very good content no matter what level of knowledge you have, and should be required learning for everyone in HS level IT courses.

By Anthony B S

May 3, 2021

Last two assessments were a bit vague in instructions, but the overall course was challenging, yet very technical and informative.

By Rushikesh R P

May 28, 2020

This course is the best to start from the basic knowledge of Operating Systems.We get enough about troubleshooting our own device.

By Arman D

Apr 17, 2020

course content is good but commands are not provided during last week linuc assignment which is very problematic during assignment

By Akouété M A

Apr 7, 2021

This third course was very interesting, because it allowed me to deepen my knowledge of both Windows and Linux operating systems.

By Carlos P

Apr 27, 2020

Very good course. The end of course exam was pretty tough. Especially the part where we had to figure out on our own. Good stuff.

By Jean S

May 18, 2019

Great overview of the Operating Systems. Only complaint I have is some of the labs need workarounds to get them to work properly.

By Djordje D

Feb 8, 2018

The only problem with this course are assessments. You must improve them, it is so frustrating to do all right but not get grade.