Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
11,029 ratings
2,094 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JA

Jun 22, 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

MA

May 24, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,\n\nUsing commands with Windows and Linux\n\nHow to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot\n\nThanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,071 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By SAHIL D

Jun 07, 2020

Hello i am from India ,thank you Coursera for this amazing Course in the field of IT Support .and thank you google for making this Course

By Ilias P

Mar 11, 2019

Great course!

I've learn a lot! Nice tempo, clear accent, easy to follow.

But is it possibly to have someone answering at the Forum please?

By Michael D R

Oct 01, 2018

Fantastic course! LOT'S of information but doable if you try. Would definitely recommend this course to anyone thinking about doing this.

By David H

Aug 06, 2018

I really enjoyed cindy quach and her teachings--- This course was also really fun to practice the linux commands and powershell commands.

By Peter M

Apr 21, 2020

Great! Very in-depth like the other 2 courses. Instructor was awesome as well. Definitely enjoyed the more hands on labs on this course.

By Abraham G G

Jan 24, 2020

This course was very interesting but also a little challenging especially loging, the graded assessment lab. See you in the next course.

By Logan M

Jan 02, 2020

The first course in the program that makes the student feel like they actually learned skills they can apply to a workplace environment.

By SWARAJ S D

Oct 26, 2019

Awesome course one of the best I have taken so far and looking forward to look in part two of this course.

keep it up and my best regards

By Braulio M d M

May 30, 2020

Excellent! Through a technical language, but using simple didactics, he manages to achieve the goal of teaching and preparing for work.

By Samuel A Y

Oct 23, 2019

This was a great course for getting started with IT work and learning different technique for operating Linux and Windows via Terminal.

By Patrick L

Sep 09, 2019

This course had great, practical tips for navigating Linux and Windows OS'. I would highly recommend to anybody pursuing an IT career.

By Darryl M

Apr 03, 2019

I like the interactive lab at the end that doesn't give away the answers and forces understanding. wish there were more labs like this.

By William C

Jul 18, 2018

I found this course more challenging and interesting compared to the first and second courses of the IT Support Specialist Certificate.

By Pamela M

Mar 28, 2018

difficult concepts were put together nicely, however, it took more than one time through each video to get full understanding of Linux.

By Diana M

Aug 15, 2020

Mostly great! Some holes in basic knowledge, usually terminology, that can be difficult to fill in sometimes but I've learned heaps!

By Mayanga D F

May 29, 2020

Navigating the System

Users and Permissions

Package and Software Management

File systems

Process Management

Operating Systems in Practice

By Felipe G

Apr 06, 2019

Course fully recommended, is one of the courses that has more practical tests within the google IT certification, very entertaining.

By Nathan K

May 27, 2018

Overall I relaly enjoyed the course and all of the content was pertinent and valuable. Need more literal practice during the course.

By CHUA W K

Aug 23, 2020

I feel the computer knowledge in IT Professional Certificate is much deeper than a BSc in CS/IT. (exclude database and programming)

By Ryan K

Mar 11, 2020

I found this course to be very challenging! Although I am new to the IT industry, i throughly enjoyed the class and learned alot!!!

By LaDwana P

Jun 05, 2018

Of course it was an enlightening course but difficult for me to grasp and I reviewed the course over and over.. and over. I got it.

By Neo S M

Jan 19, 2020

The course has indeed equipped me to be the "Power user". Amazing content and exercises. Great Qwiklab interface and Live support.

By Stephan B

Jun 30, 2019

Not the easiest but I love challenges. The instructor kept a good pace and took time to explain everything needed for this course.

By Nicholas M

Jul 20, 2020

The instructor was very knowledgeable and gave great tips and extra reading materials to further my understandings on the topics.