Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
20,037 ratings
3,866 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JA
Jun 21, 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

JB
Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

Filter by:

3776 - 3800 of 3,898 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Stephen R

Sep 7, 2021

This course was interesting, but I feel there was really three weeks of info at max. Remove all the Powershell and Linux stuff and add that to another course.

By Terrence F

Jan 2, 2022

Horrible. The teaching was bad. Course 2 was better then this. The last 2 Labs in week 6 were terrible. Fix this, Isn't this supposed to be a google program?

By Casey R

Dec 15, 2021

Instructions are a little confusing. So much to the point that I exceeded all my attempts when repeatedly following the instructions... Now I cannot take...

By Marc A

Jan 21, 2021

I hate using linux line command and not being able to do it in real time when the instructor does it. HATE! and hate no real time practice with windows too!

By Deleted A

Jun 24, 2018

Very basic stuff. The course can be helpful for more experienced people but not a ton. Had tons of problems with the labs in this course not getting graded.

By Vangelis K

Feb 11, 2018

Although the course material was decent, the labs were broken beyond repair and that caused me a significant amount of frustration, thus my 2-star rating.

By Ryan D

Jun 3, 2018

I feel like there is a better way of breaking down and showing syntax. I'd prefer a "glossary" of Linux/Windows commands to accompany this course.

By Rahul R

Feb 20, 2018

The lab projects are weak, Chrome RDP for the Windows labs does not work at all. I am falling short on deadlines due to this technical difficulty.

By Kelly S

Mar 22, 2018

Most of the information was OK, but throughout the entire course, the labs were a mess. The course should be free until the labs actually work.

By Jose G

Nov 12, 2018

Very hard to keep up with. There needs to be more attention to the Linux base of the course. A lot of it you have to learn on your own.

By Tim R

Feb 27, 2018

The Qwiklabs labs for this class have a lot of quirks and grading anomalies if it weren't for those, this would be an excellent course.

By Christopher H

Nov 13, 2019

eh... Its all about commands, and You'll need to make exact notes because the end test is pretty tricky without notes. (handwritten)

By Paul S

Apr 26, 2019

Had to repeat a lot of labs even though I just did the same thing twice. Whatever is checking the VMs for completion isn't reliable

By Mac M

Jan 11, 2021

Labs are iffy in this course, needs more user friendly access and understanding. Also fix your VMs. Event ID 4 is missing on Labs

By Joshua M

Nov 30, 2021

After talking with several IT guys, no one can tell my why there was so much focus on bash instead of teaching Chrome OS or iOS

By Subrina M

Aug 2, 2021

VM create problem also guide line was not properly easy way setup. Finally due to customer support help i completed this course

By Tewanna P

Dec 11, 2020

More hands on learning should be incorporated in to the courses. Providing a better skill and knowledge base for learning.

By a r

Jun 6, 2021

I was really looking for to this course but it ending up being a big disappointment. I need more hands on for this stuff.

By Eszter S

Aug 19, 2021

lots of annoying technical problems in quiklab, Coursera chat unable to help, otherwise interesting course material

By Sakib C

Jan 25, 2020

Compare to first two this one lack lot of things. If this course had more interactive it would be way better

By J A

Dec 15, 2020

The last lab is buggged an never let me fully complete it resulting in overattempted and being locked out.

By Paul A

Dec 8, 2021

A​uto-Grading doesn't register completed tasks in some labs. Poweshell buggy in some Windows Labs.

By James A M J

Feb 5, 2019

The Windows and Linux instances were not easy to understand, they in fact were rather confusing.

By kganthe R H

Nov 3, 2021

Hello, I need to submit on weeks 3 graded assignment please, I couldnt enter in submit. Thanks

By Mark W

Feb 6, 2018

The information is pretty basic, but the labs and assignments did not work properly.