Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
18,184 ratings
3,559 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JA
Jun 21, 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

JB
Dec 27, 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

Filter by:

3326 - 3350 of 3,577 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Brendan S

Feb 12, 2020

Challenging, but manageable. Will learn the foundations of Linux and Windows CLI. Wish the Qwiklab assessments were less glitchy.

By Jake D

May 7, 2018

Started off strong, but the finishing graded assignments kind of tossed you off a cliff to see if you could fly without any wings.

By Michael F T D O T N

Aug 12, 2020

parts of linux where clear but some parts where not - further training maybe needed for me on linux command shell but i got there

By Chai C N

May 1, 2020

It's a great course. I've already watch the video on youtube. The qwiklab need improvement. Other than that, it's a great course.

By Ashley M W

Jul 27, 2018

This was one of the more difficult courses; however, I feel like I went away with a good basis in terms of newly acquired skills.

By Britain N

Apr 27, 2020

Some areas could have used a lot more time and instruction on them. Also, a book would be really helpful on some of this stuff.

By Terrance W

Nov 26, 2018

System kept glitching on me when doing Linux Labs. Made that system less attractive and I hope I never see it in my career. :(

By salman a

Oct 20, 2019

issues with lab. set of instructions are terrible on the last lab. needed some help. they were wonderful explaining stuff.

By Akash R

May 22, 2020

Okay-ish, not discussed in much detail and also the instructor gave a ton of reading to do instead of teaching it herself

By Jonathan A

Apr 10, 2021

Almost all of the labs were broken in some way to the point of having to install Chrome in PowerShell to begin the lab

By Cynthia M

Aug 5, 2019

some of the links need to be updated as well as more labs during the lecture to help with using and remember commands.

By Roberto A

Feb 17, 2020

I don't see the point of asking to run a test on how to copy-paste file on Windows. Who's the target for this course?

By KOTARO N

Nov 23, 2020

It was difficult for the beginner to handle but practicing using command is really useful to understand how OS works

By Kurt E

Aug 8, 2018

Labs could use some work on more real life situation on how to use the command lines to alter settings and files.

By WMN C

Mar 4, 2021

Challenging, refreshed some skills and learned some new ones. Would have learned more if I had a fucking mentor!

By Monish K

Aug 15, 2020

it was just all about covering topic, it would have been better if there was more exercises about the commands .

By Marcelo G

May 20, 2021

I would prefer doing windows PowerShell commands in one section and then Linux instead of going back and forth

By Kim C

Aug 8, 2021

T​he qwiklabs font is small and for me it was hard to read at times but overall it was an interesting course.

By Charles K C

Mar 30, 2019

The Linux Lab part of this course is not that great. Some of the parts of the lab need to have bugs removed.

By Andre C

Oct 23, 2020

Great course to get all the concepts and fundamentals not only about OSs but computers in general. Thanks.

By Eddie R

Aug 4, 2020

the person could of done a better job at explaining things especially for people who have no experience

By Gillian I

Aug 9, 2019

Would rate 5 stars, but that VLC issue in the Linux lab on the last week took about a month off my life.

By Jason K

Jun 3, 2018

The Labs are very frustrating because they don't always work properly. Otherwise the course was good

By Sabrina T

Mar 8, 2019

The labs were difficult on this one, but the lab support team (Qwiklabs) was wonderful! Thanks

By Donald B

Sep 25, 2020

Can be very challenging for someone unfamiliar with limited computer skill and IT experience.