Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
24,355 ratings

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

BO

Apr 1, 2019

This is my most favorite module module, especially the Linux, which is my all time favorite OS ever enjoy learning, working Programing, and configuring, and will continue enjoying til the end of time.

SG

Nov 27, 2021

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

Filter by:

3651 - 3675 of 4,721 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Ryan L M

Jul 24, 2020

Working with windows is easier than Linux. I would need to log WAY more hours with Linux to feel more comfortable using it in the way I had here.

By Daxton M

Jun 20, 2020

The only problems I really had were doing some qwiklabs. After I would do some of the required material it wouldn't give me credit for doing it.

By Matthew M

Sep 25, 2019

Nice teacher. Some of the material is very dense and tbh could take years to fully absorb. Good work Google for creating this condensed version.

By Jabraun A

Oct 8, 2020

Very intense took a lot out my soul to complete this one. But I'm up for the challenge and ready to go on to the next. Forward into the fray!!!

By Jake R

Dec 27, 2020

It was good, if a bit easy. the remote connection (qwiklab) tests are a great idea, but I think I retained more by studying for graded quizes.

By Baron N

Sep 20, 2019

It's sad all the instructor have the same tone. Even the jokes seems to be read off a screen. A little more personality would be appreciated .

By Sean M

Jul 15, 2022

I learned a lot in this course! I enjoyed the information you can learn with logs, and I'm starting to feel more comfortable using CLI's now.

By Michael A L

May 20, 2021

Liked the hands on labs. Might be nice to have some optional command line labs to help re-enforce the commands covered in the video lectures.

By JD F

May 18, 2021

This one is very direct, a lot of reading, like a lot...now multiply that by 3, but once that is out of the way the lessons are very helpful.

By Kfir Y

Nov 14, 2020

There is a bunch to learn, very important information.

I felt like there were places you could sum it up with less overhead but overall great.

By Kaela P

Aug 10, 2022

good course, the last lab in the course is pretty hard but it is also helpful to get the practical knowledge if you are a hands on learner

By Satyanand K

Sep 16, 2020

One of the labs with Linux partitioning was extremely difficult and it if wasn`t for the qwiklabs assistance I would have never gotten it.

By Alfredo M

Aug 24, 2020

a lot of the Linx portions were tough, had to go back several times to check the commands, and searching for the errors in linx was rough.

By Destiny Y

Nov 17, 2019

I used to think I am good at Windows Operating System but I learnt through this course that I still need to learn more. I am happy I did.

By JD N

Aug 11, 2021

the labs can be very challenging for weeks 2 & 3,depending on your OS. A very informative course on Powershell and Linux for newcomers.

By Jeremy G

Jun 18, 2020

The last exercise for the course was tough! But worthy in that it really made me commit to troubleshooting and thinking things through.

By Shruthi A

Jun 16, 2020

It was a good course. The graded assignments could have been designed better. It was like simply copy-pasting the commands given there.

By Piper M

May 20, 2018

This so far was the most difficult course, because the commands are complex! But in the end, it left me feeling even more accomplished.

By Keith J V R

Nov 14, 2021

was very good lesions and learned a lot. only the very last assessment on Linux was a struggle and stress but after few tries passed.

By Josh L

Mar 25, 2021

Some assessments were a bit aggravating, but overall an incredibly fun course that I recommend to any IT-interested people out there!

By eLiz

Jul 20, 2018

Great course, but a TON of information and topics are covered. I wish there were more exercises built in to give us more experience.

By Nick S

Aug 27, 2020

Although the information was presented clearly, I found it really hard to jump from GUI, to PowerShell, to Linux all really quickly.

By Nikolas G

Aug 4, 2019

Very challenging. Will be going through all of it again for sure. But happy to have learned this and look forward to the next course

By James W

Oct 7, 2020

Good module, the trick to get the interractive sessions to complete is to spend more than 5 mins on it even if it only takes you 2!

By John W W I

Mar 13, 2019

Some of the commands for the labs are a bit outdated in terms of syntax or destination, but otherwise a pretty good overview of OS.