Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
22,187 ratings

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

MD

May 23, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,

Using commands with Windows and Linux

How to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot

Thanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

BO

Apr 1, 2019

This is my most favorite module module, especially the Linux, which is my all time favorite OS ever enjoy learning, working Programing, and configuring, and will continue enjoying til the end of time.

Filter by:

4001 - 4025 of 4,362 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Chien W

Oct 9, 2020

The bugs made the course more difficult during the hands-on exams. They will also only allow the one way you're taught when they may be multiple ways for the solution,

By Ben E

Jan 21, 2020

The last lab needs more work. Learning with linux for the first time can be challenging so maybe adding scenarios/problems to get us more familiar with the program.

By Katelyn R

Apr 19, 2020

I typically really enjoy these courses, but the final labs were difficult and I had to take some time away from the course before I could come back and complete it.

By Benjamin O

Jan 10, 2019

I feel like the tests could include better instructions at times, especially week 3, and somewhat for week 6. specifically on LInux, the lesser known platform.

By David M

Apr 5, 2020

The course is very informative but there should be something telling students if they can not type a certain WPM they will not be able to complete the program

By Ogu N C

Jan 4, 2022

this course should not be rushed. Its a lot to take in. In fact take time off to run the commands in real life as often as you can before getting to the labs.

By jennifer c

Jul 6, 2021

I​ find the subject matter to be really hard to abosob. I wish the learning included more hands on practice in the labs, since I'm really a hands on learner.

By Hayley O

Oct 4, 2020

Very informational. Instructor tells you how to do something but doesn't do a great job of explain how to know what to do or why she does what she does.

By Anthony M

May 14, 2020

Not sure on how students were supposed to keep up with the commands. Create more section for follow along work in bash or powershell in addtion to labs.

By nbmg_05

Mar 28, 2022

I am a Mac user, and so is our entire company - understanding how to use the MacOS (and remotely since we are 100% remote) would have been more useful.

By Miller L

Oct 11, 2018

The qwiklabs were really difficult to work with. They would either not score correctly, or constantly shut down in the middle of working on a project.

By Dan M

Dec 8, 2020

Too much bouncing back and forth between windows and Linux, would be nice to stay in one interface for longer in order to practice and retain things.

By Anthony A

Mar 23, 2020

The final Linux lab made me rate this course lower. The lab was not allowing me to complete errors even though I had entered the commands correctly.

By Peyton B

Feb 19, 2021

ALL TESTS should be like week 6. being forced to recall and look up man pages really helps cement these concepts and practices for troubleshooting

By Jellyfishezie

Feb 18, 2019

The course is good and most things are explained well, but the endless qwiklabs bug one after another, takes the score of course down quite a bit.

By JOSHUA J

May 15, 2020

I haven't used the Linux terminal before this course. So I had trouble with that. But overall, the course was good. Thank you Google and Coursera

By Alex S

Mar 1, 2019

Lots of important information learned here, but the graded third-party tools are buggy. When they work, they are fascinating learning tools.

By Abigail L

Oct 3, 2018

I am very happy with this course because i learning how fix a lot the warning problem that even viewer app found and how i can fix quickly.

By William S

Aug 8, 2022

They discussed relevant topics; however, They could have explained in more detail why/how they used several commands throughout the course.

By Cheryl S

May 24, 2019

The itself was great learning, however the qwiklabs were complicated. None of the scores stayed, nothing worked as well as the other labs.

By Shane M

Mar 8, 2019

the biggest challenge was getting the VM labs to work. Fixes were at least fast-ish, but I missed my deadlines a few times because of it.

By Selimir K

Jul 14, 2018

Very good selection of material but, without summary slides (like in the networking course), it is very hard to retain all that info.

By Brendan S

Feb 12, 2020

Challenging, but manageable. Will learn the foundations of Linux and Windows CLI. Wish the Qwiklab assessments were less glitchy.

By Jake D

May 7, 2018

Started off strong, but the finishing graded assignments kind of tossed you off a cliff to see if you could fly without any wings.

By Michael F T D O T N

Aug 12, 2020

parts of linux where clear but some parts where not - further training maybe needed for me on linux command shell but i got there