Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
22,187 ratings

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

MD

May 23, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,

Using commands with Windows and Linux

How to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot

Thanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

BO

Apr 1, 2019

This is my most favorite module module, especially the Linux, which is my all time favorite OS ever enjoy learning, working Programing, and configuring, and will continue enjoying til the end of time.

Filter by:

4026 - 4050 of 4,362 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Chai C N

May 1, 2020

It's a great course. I've already watch the video on youtube. The qwiklab need improvement. Other than that, it's a great course.

By Ashley W

Jul 27, 2018

This was one of the more difficult courses; however, I feel like I went away with a good basis in terms of newly acquired skills.

By Britain N

Apr 27, 2020

Some areas could have used a lot more time and instruction on them. Also, a book would be really helpful on some of this stuff.

By Terrance W

Nov 26, 2018

System kept glitching on me when doing Linux Labs. Made that system less attractive and I hope I never see it in my career. :(

By salman a

Oct 20, 2019

issues with lab. set of instructions are terrible on the last lab. needed some help. they were wonderful explaining stuff.

By Akash R

May 22, 2020

Okay-ish, not discussed in much detail and also the instructor gave a ton of reading to do instead of teaching it herself

By Rohith K

Apr 29, 2022

Something need to be modified in Week-6 Last 2 Labs. For full details, I have mentioned in that lab end comments.

Thanks

By Jonathan A

Apr 10, 2021

Almost all of the labs were broken in some way to the point of having to install Chrome in PowerShell to begin the lab

By Cynthia M

Aug 5, 2019

some of the links need to be updated as well as more labs during the lecture to help with using and remember commands.

By Roberto A

Feb 17, 2020

I don't see the point of asking to run a test on how to copy-paste file on Windows. Who's the target for this course?

By KOTARO N

Nov 23, 2020

It was difficult for the beginner to handle but practicing using command is really useful to understand how OS works

By Natasha R

Jul 25, 2022

There are too many issues in Qwiklabs that needs to be look at and fixed. I felt Qwiklabs slowed my progress down.

By Kurt E

Aug 8, 2018

Labs could use some work on more real life situation on how to use the command lines to alter settings and files.

By Monica M G

Jul 12, 2022

D​ifficult to understand some of the coding - wish there was a study sheet to help memorize all of the commands.

By WMN C

Mar 4, 2021

Challenging, refreshed some skills and learned some new ones. Would have learned more if I had a fucking mentor!

By Monish K

Aug 15, 2020

it was just all about covering topic, it would have been better if there was more exercises about the commands .

By Marcelo G

May 20, 2021

I would prefer doing windows PowerShell commands in one section and then Linux instead of going back and forth

By Kim C

Aug 8, 2021

T​he qwiklabs font is small and for me it was hard to read at times but overall it was an interesting course.

By Charles K C

Mar 30, 2019

The Linux Lab part of this course is not that great. Some of the parts of the lab need to have bugs removed.

By Andre C

Oct 23, 2020

Great course to get all the concepts and fundamentals not only about OSs but computers in general. Thanks.

By Eddie R

Aug 4, 2020

the person could of done a better job at explaining things especially for people who have no experience

By Gillian I

Aug 9, 2019

Would rate 5 stars, but that VLC issue in the Linux lab on the last week took about a month off my life.

By Oscar R

Oct 20, 2021

Some of the labs in this course are broken/out of date and sometimes hard to understand if they aren't.

By Jason K

Jun 3, 2018

The Labs are very frustrating because they don't always work properly. Otherwise the course was good

By Alexander B

Aug 8, 2022

T​he assessments in the Windows VM are very bad in terms of performance and interacting with the VM