Chevron Left
Back to Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User by Google

4.7
stars
15,037 ratings
2,909 reviews

About the Course

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Top reviews

JA
Jun 21, 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

MA
May 23, 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,\n\nUsing commands with Windows and Linux\n\nHow to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot\n\nThanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

Filter by:

2226 - 2250 of 2,883 Reviews for Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

By Mohammed P A

Sep 26, 2019

Gained more knowledge about inside workings of the Operating Systems.

The Last QwikLab was not set up properly for Windows and Linux.

Both final labs left a not so pleasant impression about them.

By Mafia C

Jul 12, 2018

This course is challeneging but very helpful. All of the labs helps put the lectures to practice and I think there is no other way to to improve your command skills other than hands-on practice.

By Christopher C

Mar 3, 2018

The instructors and course designers did a great job. There are still a few issues with the labs, I really wish they were better because its the best method I've seen for this kind of training.

By Richard K

May 2, 2018

Very nice course! I like the fact that there were no peer reviews. All in all a very informative course. I just wish that they would make the linux optional or part of a different course...

By JRC 4

Apr 8, 2018

I am giving this course 4 stars because so many of the labs were so glitchy. Seems like Quicklabs have gotten those issues fixed though. I learned a lot about Linux CLI and Shell in Windows.

By Wales B N

Feb 26, 2020

Thanks Google Coursera, interesting course, struggled alittle on the linux part, still trying to get a grips on the Linux OS. Thanks again for this opportunity, I am indeed very very grateful

By Lance A

Feb 8, 2019

Really appreciated the amount of labs (more please!), felt the practice quizzes could have been more rigorous, by the time I'd gotten to some of the lab tasks, I'd forgotten certain commands.

By Sherice M

Sep 20, 2018

This course was a lot of information to take in. It really gave a good look into the Linux system which I had never seen before this course. Starting to get more comfortable with that system.

By Rahul S Y

Jan 29, 2020

Good course for beginners, not much into technical depth of Linux much, but it's expected that you delve deep yourself. That's how IT goes, figuring out yourself is the key to tech support.

By Ivan E E

May 22, 2020

Good information ... but a course with too much information for those who have no knowledge of OS Linux and can make it overwhelming for many ... Pencil and paper to write everything down.

By Spencer Y

Dec 29, 2019

This was a bit difficult for me learning about CLI, because I have never had a formal way of learning this. But I made it through and the exposure was definitely worth it for future use.

By Nicholas M

Sep 14, 2020

I really liked the last graded assignments, as you had to use your notes and knowledge to complete them. I wish the other assignments didn't tell you exactly how to complete the lab.

By Taylor I

Jun 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The instructor was entertaining and the material was explained well. The labs could have been a bit more challenging, but they were useful nonetheless.

By Alex K

Jul 6, 2020

I think that it would be good to make more of the course module based. Also, highlighting each section with real world examples would be helpful in grounding some abstract concepts.

By Jayson C

Jan 17, 2020

Awesome Course...had some issues with the labs, but the kind folks at quiklabs helped out with a little bit of persistence on my part. I learned a lot. And I liked the instructor.

By Jede B

Jul 22, 2020

The window package update in command line was a bit difficult to understand. In the supplemental reading - there are so many choices - it gets confusing and is very time consuming!

By Steven S

Apr 28, 2020

i like that they do not just let you blow through the weeks at the end they do test your knowledge and expect you to fix all the issues you learn about through the first 5 weeks!

By Hannah L

Dec 5, 2020

Lots learned, but one gripe. I don't think the exams at the end are really the right time to get aquainted with writing linux commands, some practice first would be more humane.

By James P

Aug 9, 2020

overall this was a very good course. I already have experience in about 1/2 the material, but this course gave me a broader perspective and experience with the tools out there.

By ANJAN D

May 28, 2020

In this coure I have to gain lot of experince to Operating system.

But In week 6 Gradded assessment is very very difficult to solve, first, I'm not understrand what I have to do?

By Katherine S

Mar 22, 2019

It covered a lot of great material. The labs operation, and issues caused it to be a bit frustrating at times though. If the labs had run seamless, it would have been 5 stars.

By Robert S

May 20, 2018

Linux OS can be frustrating if you have had no exposure to it previously. I learned a lot about it. Windows OS came somewhat as a review, but I still picked up new knowledge.

By Mirza A

May 6, 2020

this is a good course to learn about OS. I really learn something new, especially about linux os and upgrade my knowledge about windows os especially how to use windows shell.

By David M

Nov 6, 2020

Only reason I don't give it a 5 star is the Linux test was broken, 2 of the processes where either had broken commands in my testing environment or instructions were lacking.

By Gabriel R

Sep 19, 2020

It's very interesting and provides much information on how to even fix your own devices and see how they can be improve. Still challenging and have to think outside the box.