Chevron Left
Back to Particle Physics: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Particle Physics: an Introduction by University of Geneva

4.4
stars
718 ratings
216 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Top reviews

VL
Mar 26, 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
Aug 4, 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 216 Reviews for Particle Physics: an Introduction

By Himanshu J

Oct 8, 2020

THIS COURSE IS REALLY AMAZING AND THE COURSE CONTENT IS VERY USEFUL. I REALLY ENJOYED IT AND GAINED TOO MUCH KNOWLEDGE.

By Anton L

Apr 7, 2020

Very good but fairly though course. Martin Pohl is an excellent lecturer and the lecture material is very well written.

By Satish J

Jan 11, 2018

Coursera courses are a godsend for people like me who would like to satisfy their curiosity about the things around us.

By Yanychek D

Mar 29, 2020

This cource helped me to achieve my goal about learning particle physics and understand thing I had problem with.

By David Z

Feb 2, 2020

Need to repeat this a few times (while commuting, no exam pressure), basic understanding after passing the tests.

By Prasoon V

Sep 1, 2019

Opened new doors of curiosity for me by involving me into long hours of engrossing and theories and researches.

By Siripong C

Jan 25, 2020

This course is literally amazing. It can inspire high school students to be passionate about particle physics.

By Francois Z

Feb 2, 2018

This has been the most well thought out introduction to particle physics I have come across. Really enjoyable.

By SANIA T S

Jul 17, 2020

attending this course was such a good experience and did not fail to give a clear idea about particle physics

By Pradeep M D

Jun 5, 2020

Very Happy..Best experience ever with all course instructors. Thank you Coursera and University of Geneva..!!

By Sahil U

Apr 8, 2017

The course was really amazing. Enjoyed & learnt a lot & was privileged to learn from such reputed teachers.

By Jas F A C

Sep 9, 2020

Very appreciated the challenging quizzes. This coursera is very helpful to my profession as an academician.

By Joshua G H

Aug 26, 2020

Wonderful introduction into Particle physics and explains all phenomena that has been discovered so far.

By Carlos A G T

May 24, 2017

That is the best course that I've done it in coursera, the teachers explain everything so fine and clear

By Shivam

Sep 30, 2019

Financial Aid help me a lot to get the deep knowledge Thank you coursera Thank you university of geneva

By Xuejing J

May 19, 2017

A well made course. But the learning curve is steep. It is hard to have some deep understanding.

By Tim D

Oct 31, 2017

Excellent course and very well explained. I am a beginner and i found it very easy to follow.

By anikaith k

Nov 30, 2020

This course is the best course i've ever done. The course has given me a lot of knowledge

By Ali r

Mar 30, 2021

Thank you very much But one note: a lack of exercise and directed work (TD) is absent.

By Alvaro R L B

Sep 30, 2017

Muy bueno , brinda conceptos basicos y escenciales acerca de la fisica de particulas.

By Kannan K

Jul 27, 2020

I have learnt lot of new things and it will be helpful for my competitive exams

By VARAD D

Aug 6, 2020

Brilliant content and just the right amount of tests to keep you interested.

By Keith D

May 28, 2019

This is an excellent course! It is well designed, presented and organized.

By J N

Oct 12, 2018

Special thank you to Martin, Anna , Mercedes and the entire courserteam

By Chaitanya S

Nov 10, 2020

The course is a great introduction into the world of particle physics.