Chevron Left
Back to The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work by University of London

4.6
stars
2,238 ratings
704 reviews

About the Course

The aim of this course is to give you a practical guide to managing people at work. It does not matter whether you are a first time manager in a shop or a middle manager in an office environment; the same skills apply to every work place. In the course you will engage with some HR theories and then see how they translate into every day working life. At the end of the course we hope you will be better equipped to choose a suitable employee, to motivate and appraise your team, to manage conflict in the work place and to lead and make decision on a day to day basis....

Top reviews

PP
Aug 15, 2020

Excellent! The contents are great for any manager that want to make a significant job within any organization. Clear and key concepts for everyday activities. I enjoyed every single lesson. Thank you!

OA
Jul 23, 2020

If you want to understand how to mange people at your work place, understand conflict management, and conflict resolution, my dear this is the best practical oriented and explicit course to take.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 699 Reviews for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

By mary O

Mar 19, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The videos and examples were great. I have learned so much that I can take forward with me. Online reading was a bit much at times an call me old fashioned but I wish I had a book to flip through, or the handout toolkit itself. Having said that, this has been the best free course I have undertaken and I want to go further.

By Bomo S

Jul 2, 2017

It has been a very insightful and impactful course I have have taken yet.

I will strongly recommend this course for every manager irrespective of the number of staff, small, medium or large organization.

You also need this in managing even conflicts in the home and society in general, not just in the work place. The principles for me cut across board.

By David F

Aug 4, 2020

One or two of the assessment questions have a few mistakes in them or I felt were poorly worded. Some of the links provided direct you to content which is no longer hosted online or is out of date, which could be down to the age of the course. This didn't affect learning too much and on the whole was a good course.

By Manuel D M

Jun 13, 2021

Learned a lot from this course that I can apply or suggest to apply in our organization. But there are videos in some sections that may need improvement or at least further editing. They left out the mistakes together with the retakes and some mumbled words, Other then that. It's a Great Course

By David Z

Aug 23, 2020

Good content, especially the week about pay as a motivator. However, many of the assessments are lacking in both difficulty and clarity. The assessments contain confusing language and are sometimes based on trivia (e.g." Dr. Scott wrote in 1942 that.... (or is it 1964, 1859)"). Who cares?

By Krubha K

Jan 20, 2021

Most of the ideas shared come under common knowledge, or preferred societal behaviour. It would have been more helpful if there were more insights into putting this into practice. Also would have preferred an open ended questionnaire on how to employ these ideas to sample case studies.

By KARTHIKEYAN M S

Sep 28, 2020

The course seems great with explaining situations in a dramatic way but lacks the pictorial representation of many concepts which in turn is difficult for students from different domains to grasp certain topics. Please try to provide a ppt sort of thing whilst explaining concepts.

By Anneliese P

Jul 25, 2020

The teaching sessions are well done and informative. There are a great many spelling and grammar mistakes, as well as broken links to reading materials (some seem to not be working for years already when I took a look at comments in the discussion forums. This, to me, is a no-go).

By Michael H

Mar 22, 2021

Overall great educational and learning content. Nevertheless few video lectures in relation to the overall course duration. Self-reading modules are often copies from course books and a lot.

Would recommend this course not only as a starter but also as a refresher for any manager.

By Mamidi P

May 1, 2020

Last Week course was not clear the lecture(she) was just reading like a robot i felt.

Please add some examples like other weeks explanation.

Thank you for the entire course it added a great knowledge for me and it will be helpful for me to practically implement in the workplace.

By Zabihullah R

Jan 18, 2020

This course is carefully designed to teach the students the most essential skills that an emerging manager needs. I found the tutorials comprehensively prepared and the instructor speaks accurately and fluently.

I encourage all those who want to step into the management field.

By David S

May 5, 2020

Very good course for outlining introduction to management. A bit more care in the production of questions and information is needed to ensure it makes sense. Occasionally there are spelling and grammatical errors, which may deter certain individuals from passing the course.

By Mizanur R

Nov 18, 2017

This is a great course. Recommended for new learner of the subject as well as anyone who wants to refresh their skill with some great lecture on managing people at work. Hope this course will include some handout/summary notes and video variety for the students in future.

By Luisa Z G

Jan 27, 2020

Very good course for managers looking to learn how to improve their managers skills. I'd remove the section that talks about the hiring process because for modern companies this is part of the HR Department, and we as managers, don't usually have a decision over that.

By Kim S

Jun 12, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The only negative was Week 5 on the role of pay as a motivator as this is not relevant in my line of work. I particularly enjoyed the final week on conflict management and think that this will be of the most use to me in my job role.

By Kostadin G

Jun 7, 2020

It is good and engaging at basics level. I generally found it quite good for re-establishing things I already knew, in a slightly different perspective. Really good course for someone looking at the basics of management, with some good oversight and direction

By Joshua A

Jan 14, 2021

Very much impressed with the details covered in the course. The performance and delivery of the various lecturers on the course was highly commendable. A must take course for anybody seeking or interested in taking up a management role or responsibility.

By Mike L

Jun 4, 2020

Overall useful, helped to understand both the actions of those above me in my organization as well as ways to approach those below me. As a person that rose to management with no education in this field, it was interesting to see an academic approach.

By Natalia H

Aug 6, 2020

It was a great management course and I got new knowledge. The only thing I could recommend to add more practical assignments, not only tests and for some professors to speak with less strong accent. But generally, I'm happy that I took this course.

By KVRN R

Jul 13, 2021

This course covered all topic which are required for a Manager to handle in his professional Life i.e Leadership & its types, Dicision making, different theories and Performance Management and evaluation methods and Conflict Management methods.

By Prajwal B M 1

Sep 23, 2020

The whole course is designed in a very engaging manner. It provides an opportunity to engage with the subject material in a much closer way. It also gives us ample space to think for ourselves and understand how others think.

By Chan Y J

Mar 13, 2020

The course serves as an introductory session to various management theories, loaded full of scholarly journals for those who wish to dwell deeper into each sub-topic. Overall, it can be very useful freshly minted managers.

By Zinat S

Oct 5, 2021

The course was very well constructed and gave me important tools as a line manager. However there were some minor typos and mistakes in the text that can be easily fixed in order to provide a smoother learning experience.

By Nagraj N

Jun 23, 2018

Thank you very much for your extensive, comprehensive yet briefly course offered by you.This adds confidence to my practical knowledge, tuning up and provides a demonstrable certification from your esteem organization.

By Amin M a K a A M G

Jan 11, 2021

I found the course to be relatively challenging and therefore it kept me engaged with the content and wanting to learn more and more. I would recommend this course to further understand how to manage people at work.