Chevron Left
Back to The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work by University of London

4.7
stars
3,308 ratings

About the Course

The aim of this course is to give you a practical guide to managing people at work. It does not matter whether you are a first time manager in a shop or a middle manager in an office environment; the same skills apply to every work place. In the course you will engage with some HR theories and then see how they translate into every day working life. At the end of the course we hope you will be better equipped to choose a suitable employee, to motivate and appraise your team, to manage conflict in the work place and to lead and make decision on a day to day basis....

Top reviews

PP

Aug 15, 2020

Excellent! The contents are great for any manager that want to make a significant job within any organization. Clear and key concepts for everyday activities. I enjoyed every single lesson. Thank you!

JG

Apr 16, 2022

I enjoyed this course. I learned a lot from it. Although I am familiar with some of the topics, it expanded my knowledge further, and would definitely help me become a more effective manager at work.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,007 Reviews for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

By David O

May 25, 2020

The course is very informative and practical. It was wonderfully delivered and the knowledge and skills acquired from here will go a long way in shaping my managerial career or any any career roles that I will delve into.

Thank you Team London University!

By Slavisa D

Jan 24, 2020

Nice course, every aspect is at a glance. The handout is well prepared also. I would recommend this course which outlines: "Interviews, Leadership and Decision Making, Performance Management, Motivation, Pay as a motivator and Managing conflict at work".

By Carra C L

May 12, 2020

Very informative. Really impressed with the content. The power point presentation made it easier. Lectures are wonderful. Role play, a plus! Exams are thorough and submitted answers are hidden so you can't cheat!! I plan on taking a few more courses.

By Eddie D

Feb 10, 2021

With little knowledge of management at the beginning of this course, I can boost that I have acquired and benefitted a lot after taking this course. I encourage everyone in the field of management to take this course to upgrade their skills. Thank you

By Ushatikova O G

Mar 31, 2020

Thank You for the course "The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work ". It was interesting, useful, easy to understand and remember all new information. Short videos and presentations were greatly design and helpful. Thank You!

By Lev N

May 6, 2018

Some materials for individual readings are difficult to find, costly and take a lot of time. But overall course gives clear basic understanding of managerial problems. I've rethought my previous habits and looking forward to get more courses from you.

By Elvie P

Feb 10, 2022

I have learned a lot in this subject. This will be very useful when I again get back to work. The topics are very simple, concise and understandable. The lecturers are seasoned personalities and very knowledgeable in their own field. Congratulations.

By Belinda N

Apr 25, 2022

As a manager one can never say that one knows everything. I have learned so much through this course and am very excited to start implementing it in the work environment. Thank you for sharing this knowledge through a free course. You are the best!

By Ozono L

May 30, 2018

This course call my attention at first but once I've completed the 3rd week I decided to buy the certificate because it´s such an excellent course that I felt the need both to support the creators and to have the authenticity of the training with me

By Maureen S

Mar 7, 2018

Brilliant course, very useful for today's workplace environment.

I highly recommend this course to all People Managers and executive leadership. I have personally learned a lot and will apply this knowledge in pursuit of becoming a better manager.

By Annette D

Jul 24, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. At 59 years old, I mainly did it to see if I could. A grade of 94% was fantastic for me and has given me the confidence to push forward with new beginnings.

Thank you Coursera and Birkbeck University of London.

By Asya H

May 28, 2021

I can's stress enough how useful and sophisticated this course is! The lecturers are wonderful and the short videos with role-plays following the lecture foster the information acquired. So do the short quizzes in between! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

By Theophilus O

Apr 29, 2020

This indeed is a practical guide to managing people at work. I like the manner of presentation for this course, where there are videos from instructors and notes to read which really helps in the understanding of the course. I am upgraded.

By Basavaraj

Apr 19, 2020

This great opportunity to me learning about People Management crose, it is very helpful to me for candidate hiring, selecting, appraisal, Management, people management ext, thankful to all professors of giving this opportunity to me.

By Vanlalnunpuii

Jun 17, 2020

This course is one of the best courses I've taken on this platform. The short skits in the middle were entertaining as well as informative. All the instructors have done a good job on the materials and the videos. Thank you all.

By Muhammed K

Feb 21, 2023

It has improved my wealth of knowledge bank,I feel humbled and happy about the delivery in this course. I believe it has added alot to my career development. Thanks Coursera and the University of London for this opportunity.

By Dimitris P

Jun 10, 2018

This course provided me an introduction to the basic notions of management. I really feel capable to talk about these matters with my colleagues and ask for specific information about further reading or more scientific work.

By Randal N

Oct 19, 2020

A very practical guide to managing people at work. As a soon to be first time manager, this course has gone a long way in helping me feel that I have at least a basic foundation when it comes to managing people at work.

By BEN R A

Jun 17, 2020

HI

I deeply thank you for this course, it's the best course I have had so far it's really practical and scientific one, it's really a toolkit, THANK YOU AGAIN FOR THIS BEAUTIFUL AND CONSTRUCTIVE COURSE.

Best regards, ASMA

By Md. M A S

Apr 10, 2020

I'm totally thinking different about managing people at work from before learning and after learning. This course gives me a lots of things how to manage people and totally pleased to have this type of course completed.

By Veronika S

May 9, 2021

the readings were sometimes too long and difficult, and there could've been more ppt-s regarding to the videos, but altogether this was a nice course and it was very good that it was based on statistics and researches.

By PEDRO F D C N

Mar 20, 2023

Muito Obrigado, foi incrivelmente surreal, aprendi demais, ampliei meu mundo, e estou muito feliz por essa oportunidade, além de somar pro meu conhecimento, estou com a autoestima extremamente elevada.... Gratidão.

By Ayesha K

Dec 12, 2020

It was an excellent course and the content was well defined, comprehensive and summarized one which can enable a Manager to manage his team very well at the work place.

Highly skilled and knowledgeable instructors.

By Otoide J O

Aug 16, 2022

This course is really exceptional. It is really a guide to Managing people at work. The practical session made it easier during the lectures. Thanks to Coursera as this has elevated my career path in management.

By Venkateswara R B

Sep 27, 2022

This course is very usefule for managers working with diffrent teams from various backgrounds and cultures to understand the motivation factors, performanace management and also conflict resolution techniques.