Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Personal Branding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Personal Branding by University of Virginia

4.4
stars
7,338 ratings
2,318 reviews

About the Course

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Top reviews

SI
Aug 29, 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

MH
Apr 20, 2020

Thank you, mam, for such a wonderful lecture. I will be trying to follow all of the advice. By the way in the lecture, I am trying to copy your communication style. And it's an amazing time for me.

Filter by:

2026 - 2050 of 2,296 Reviews for Introduction to Personal Branding

By PRATIK S

Oct 13, 2017

Engaging

By helal u

May 24, 2020

thanks!

By Shuvo S

May 7, 2020

Thank u

By Dheeraj M

Aug 1, 2020

thanks

By Ramy t a m

Apr 15, 2020

thnaks

By Thayani C

Sep 28, 2018

great!

By Chinmay A K

Jul 5, 2020

BEST!

By Mostafa S

Mar 10, 2020

Good!

By MD. W A P

Oct 4, 2020

good

By 18BBC258-SIVAPRRIYA R S B C

Sep 10, 2020

Good

By SAMBIT S

Aug 16, 2020

Good

By Aliya P

Aug 4, 2020

good

By Pankaj R

Jul 16, 2020

Good

By MAYUR R S

Jun 29, 2020

nice

By Azimah B Z A

Jun 5, 2020

good

By Aja S

Jun 3, 2020

nice

By Shams S

May 31, 2020

good

By BIJO B

Jul 21, 2019

Good

By Jorge A G H

Oct 10, 2020

Es un curso que definitivamente me ayudó a tener una guía para la marca personal. Lo cuál agradezco, sin embargo, al relacionarlo tanto con redes sociales, o tecnología llega un punto donde cierto material o temas llega a caducar lo que puede generar perdida de interés ya que uno busca actualizarse.

Se hizo mucho el uso de links lo cual me pareció importante y complementario, pero debería ser eso solo complementario, pero en algunos temas prácticamente el tema lo dieron los links, la creadora del curso solo introducía el tema, creo que lo que yo esperaba en este sentido es que el curso me lo diera una persona que se dedica a crear marca personal mas que ha darme la experiencia de como ella creo su marca personal en otro negocio. Es decir si espero la experiencia pero también el conocimiento profesional en el tema, o por lo menos esa fue mi percepción de su imagen con el tema.

By Gilbert C

Dec 23, 2019

Very introductory course. Useful if you're entirely new to this area. The quizzes are not intellectually challenging. They mostly require you to memorise rules and bits of information. The course coordinator is very friendly and tends to joke a lot in her videos. I personally felt it took up too much time with irrelevant information but I understand that all of this adds to their image as 'friendly' and 'approachable'. So if that's what you're looking for then this would be the perfect course.

The most difficult matters tended to be sidestepped by the conclusion that 'it depends on you', and while I agree it depends on individuals and their personal brand, it would be helpful as a more knowledgeable lecturer if they could lay out the parameters within which students can make our own decision.

By Edward A

Dec 10, 2020

Positives: The instructor was energetic and passionate, and had some good ideas to share. Week 2 is the best, with the focus on identifying "three little words" that are like keywords for one's brand, and then defining a mission statement. I came away with a new mission statement that I will use in my career. Also, many of the curated readings were very interesting, especially the first two weeks.

Negatives: I did not learn much in the final three weeks. There was too much attention given to using Twitter, pitched to those who were new to that platform. Some of the material was dated or irrelevant. Same to be said for secure passwords, which Chrome will now generate for you easily. The quizzes are way too easy, and I was not inspired to participate in the discussion boards.

By Joshua A

May 11, 2020

I would say this course was too general and irrelevant to the title itself. Week 1 and week 2 content was okay but afterwards there's a slight irrelevancy. This course was meant for anyone who is new in the concept of personal branding because most of the content consist of opinions and instructions. The assignments were too easy and there's no peer-graded assignment which i think very important for personal branding course.

Despite all of this, i give thumbs up for the instructor who has shown her own brand. Practically she showed the student her own 'persona' by branding herself as a cheerful, energetic, have a sense of humor, and love of nature (especially to the tree). She provides a great insight and worth noting for.

By Juan C R

Oct 18, 2019

Would be useful a 6th week with some tips about face to face personal branding. How we should introduce ourselves and how to perform in formal reunions or other environments. The course was too much "digital" personal branding (which I really appreciate and i will always in gratitude with Kimberley and her dedication). So the name should be "personal digital branding" or "personal branding" with the complement of face to face tips and skills to develop in order to be memorable for the people that we meet. The amusing style and the sense of "community" I think is a little too much, but, if the forums are plenty of people then i am wrong.

By Rebecca H

Oct 12, 2020

There were some useful bits of information to keep in mind as you develop your own personal brand, but many of the suggested readings felt outdated in 2020 since the course was created in 2015. I found it enjoyable to complete and the instructor was really engaging, but it lacked rigor and the quizzes were incredibly easy--I would have gotten 100% on the quizzes without having taken the course. If you are looking for something easy and fun to pass time, this is for you. If you are looking for current, relevant statistics and best practices for digital presence in 2020, this may not be the most helpful course.

By Alex J

Aug 26, 2020

It is a cool course if you have a lot of free time - maybe you could even learn something new. But there's not such a thing like a real personal branding here. In fact, you can even find more by yourself on YouTube. On the other side, you will find a few really cool articles here. I really liked first 2,5 weeks here.

On the side of quality, I would give 4,5 stars for this course. But I give only 3 because this, in 2015 made course, is dramatically outdated in 2020. Another critical point is presentation such as slides - in 2020 even schools expect more quality of slides work