Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Personal Branding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Personal Branding by University of Virginia

4.4
stars
7,734 ratings
2,414 reviews

About the Course

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Top reviews

OS
Jun 22, 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

SI
Aug 29, 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

Filter by:

2151 - 2175 of 2,402 Reviews for Introduction to Personal Branding

By Alex J

Aug 26, 2020

It is a cool course if you have a lot of free time - maybe you could even learn something new. But there's not such a thing like a real personal branding here. In fact, you can even find more by yourself on YouTube. On the other side, you will find a few really cool articles here. I really liked first 2,5 weeks here.

On the side of quality, I would give 4,5 stars for this course. But I give only 3 because this, in 2015 made course, is dramatically outdated in 2020. Another critical point is presentation such as slides - in 2020 even schools expect more quality of slides work

By Mikhael S

May 22, 2020

Like the course title, it is the introduction to personal branding, which means it will not go deeper into the sophisticated things. I glad that I can learn new things like 3 words, mission statement, etc. This is good for someone who wants to know the things and terms that branding world use. However I find that this course is a bit superficial even for introduction and the quiz is too easy and don't give case to think about. I believe this course have a potential to be upgraded to a better one with all the materials that being taught.

By Anghelo J T J

Jul 2, 2020

The course is awesome in terms of understanding personal branding and getting to know yourself. But it's completly not updated for 2020. All the lessons are from 2015 and everything she is talking about has change. She also talks a lot about building a community and is all Bla Bla blah I try contacting her on twitter as she suggested and all I found was a very angry message where she is talking how she does not make money from this course and people are contacting her too much. I found this completely inappropriate.

By PHAM N P A

Jul 26, 2020

The thing I like about this course is the insightful knowledge it delivers, especially the board of director. Besides, the videos are clipped both inside and outside classrooms, allowing learners to study and chill at same time.

However, the drawback of this program is the content which I hope the speaker can elaborate personal branding into two directions: brand ourself and brand our business. Another limitation of this program is the quality of the videos, particularly those are clipped outdoors.

By Swati P

May 6, 2020

Its a good introductory course to Personal Branding.

As I progressed into the course I found it to be very basic. Most of the stuff is commonsense and we all are doing it on our social media accounts personally or professionally.

The instructor has tried to make her videos brief and more casual which is good if you are doing a short online course.

i believe that there is always something to learn, even if you are expert in your field.

In the end I would like to thank Kimberley for her efforts.

By Thomas R

May 20, 2020

This course is a helpful introduction (as is the course title) to personal branding and serves well as the starting point for a journey to develop or further build a personal brand.

I don't find exercises requiring posts to a forum helpful and rarely find the feedback or responses from other students particularly valuable.

The exercise in the early part of the course to identify three essential personal values and to create a personal mission statement is my favorite part of the course.

By Oleg K

Jan 21, 2021

I liked the introductory part about the importance of your personal brand and your mission statement. This part is still relevant in 2021. Further on the info is sometimes outdated and needs update. Particularly I missed any mentions of LinkedIn. Generally, this course is really aimed at beginners with no experience in digital world and might be helpful for some old people who just got acquainted with social media. Also the lecturer is lively and her jokes are adequate :-)

By Garth v B

Nov 14, 2019

The video lectures make up most of this course, and although they are engaging, they seem to be lacking adequate details and depth--learners are often referred to links for more information on a subject, some of which could have been presented in the videos. Although this course is only an introduction to personal branding, not an advanced class in the subject, I feel it should be brought up to date a bit (2019) and some additional course material added.

By Baseer S

Apr 9, 2020

This course did introduce me to some interesting topics and I enjoyed it. The instructor does have an engaging method of teaching too. She creates a relaxed feel which makes learning easier. However, I believe the course is a tad bit outdated, specially the social media section as a lot changes everyday in the online world. If you are unaware of the role of social media or you don't have much presence there then this course is for you!

By Zhameli K

Jan 22, 2021

I like Kimberley. She is open and she created a very warm atmosphere for this course. It's nothing wrong with her or with this course. However I just want to warn new attendees, that it would help you, if you check the syllabus carefully in advance. It's not a comprehensive and wide course about a Personal Branding, but rather an Introduction to Introduction. I mean it's a very little information that you didn't know before.

By Vernon S

Aug 28, 2019

Good, basic course. This course might be useful to someone very new to personal branding, but if you're looking for something with much depth you'll likely be disappointed. On the plus side it's short (both the videos/exercises) and the course itself and the sections seem to stand on their own pretty well so you can also skim through and just look at items that you think might be useful or relevant to your personal needs.

By Aditya N

Nov 2, 2016

Good course for beginners. I've picked up the nuances of branding via reading materials outside of this course, through my professional network, etc. and hence I was expecting more from the course.

Also, I would like to mention that the quality of video lectures can significantly improve as some videos that were shot in an external location had too much noise and it was a distraction to focus on the lecture.

By Chrystal J

Jul 28, 2021

I liked the lecturer a lot. Kept me engaged. I did not like that some of the reading links are not working and that the content is old especially concerning twitter. Its no longer 140 characters! But overall it was a good course that should just have a free certificate for the sake of its age. I am a subscriber and not getting an aged course certificate makes no sense.

By Brando T

Jan 3, 2020

The course had some valuable information that can be applied to improving one's personal brand. I would recommend going through the course. However, the information provided seemed to be stretched. The content was diluted. The information could have been delivered in fewer videos. Also, some of the supplemental material was not tailored to this course.

By Victoria P S

Feb 16, 2018

Overall, a very interesting introduction to what personal branding is, and how it's more than just selling yourself! Some useful exercises like the mission statement writing, although a more in-depth lesson on this particular topic would have been helpful. I look forward to putting some of the things I've learnt in this course into practice.

By Raghdah A

Aug 15, 2017

I really enjoyed it, and learned a lot, I have also practice the assignments, and adopte dthe guidlines mentioned in each leaason, however, I expected more from this course, I wanted theories, and to implement them in personal branding. I wanted models, academic research and most importantly success stories of implementing personal branding.

By Neil G

Nov 24, 2017

I took some interesting notes about passwords and social media strategies. I didn't realize that I came to the course with a lot of this knowledge already, but I did appreciate the insights shared by the instructor. I think it should be noted, that this course should be for total novices to social media uses and having an online presence.

By zeyad k

Jul 11, 2020

Basic Course, the contents can be combined in long webinar format between 60 to 90 minutes

also taking the course in July 2020 while it's created in 2015 wasn't the right move from my side.

The conclusion, if you have like 2-3 hours to go over the course, it will cause no harm and sure you will learn something or refresh your knowledge .

By Lashmit A

Apr 30, 2020

Es un buen curso básico de cómo crear tu marca personal, administrarla y la importancia que tiene los medios digitales en la creación de una marca personal. Si ya tienes experiencia en branding es un buen rápido repaso de conocimientos. Uno de los defectos que encontraría es que el audio del material audiovisual me pareció muy bajo.

By Tara T B

Sep 22, 2019

I like the instructor's enthusiasm. This is a course for people very early on in thinking about their personal brand. It was created in 2015, we are almost in 2020 so the social media and online security questions are dated. It could use a refresh and a lots of examples of excellent online personal brands, who does it well, etc.

By Ibrahim F D

May 24, 2020

The course addresses some interesting topics such as the importance of personal branding in this digital era, creating a mission statement, and choosing your board of directors. However I feel that it did not explore those topics enough and the lessons for weeks 4-5 are not as well thought out as the lessons from earlier weeks

By Aastha

Sep 10, 2020

This is a good starting point for one to learn about Personal Branding. But if you have a general idea about what a personal brand is, this won't be very useful. I skimmed through the course because I knew most things already. The initial few exercises about cornerstones and mission statement are helpful, though.

By Giovanna C

Feb 9, 2016

I did like the course BUT when you make the "exercises" and post something on the forums... OMG... Huge mistake... you start getting replies of EVERYTHING so... you can have 20 emails a day because other people are doing their "exercises" and posting on the forum, the worst is that is no way to turn off those....

By Andrea C

Jul 8, 2020

This course is super basic for Personal Branding. It does have a few interesting articles available to read and I did learn a great deal from them but all the content should be updated. I tool this course in 2020 and everything is from 2015. Things nowadays change fast, especially when it comes to internet.

By Rayna S

Apr 20, 2020

It is a very interesting topic and the course can be completed very fast, however, I wish there was more information (articles/videos) which was scientifically based and which I could use as a reference in the future. Overall, it was a nice overview on the topic of personal branding! Thank you :)