Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Personal Branding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Personal Branding by University of Virginia

4.4
stars
7,851 ratings
2,449 reviews

About the Course

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Top reviews

OS
Jun 22, 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

SI
Aug 29, 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

Filter by:

2326 - 2350 of 2,438 Reviews for Introduction to Personal Branding

By Jagath P

Jul 26, 2019

The course was a bit too basic.

By Пирожкина М В

Mar 15, 2021

Not useful when you are zoomer

By Leticia F

Jan 4, 2021

I would have liked more depth.

By Jade D

Oct 8, 2016

It was inspiring though

By Sumit G

Feb 4, 2019

It was a basic course.

By Dana A

Aug 1, 2021

Simple and not deep

By Lein d L Y

Jul 22, 2019

Kind of too basic

By Hisham A E

Apr 1, 2020

not so updated

By Bariya F

Apr 11, 2020

satisfactory

By Alejandro H

Oct 23, 2016

Can improve.

By Keyvan S

Apr 9, 2020

great class

By Ibadath A

Jul 22, 2021

Excellent

By Udit M

Apr 26, 2020

simple.

By APURVA K

Jul 28, 2020

good

By Alwielland B

Jul 14, 2020

nice

By Banmeet S

Mar 10, 2019

good

By TONMAY K M

Aug 7, 2020

Ok

By Jiale J

Apr 22, 2020

It is helpful for beginners to view through. In terms of the courses, I think the reading links sometimes are more useful than the lectures. But I want to learn the major tips or skills directly from the speaker rather than from large extract readings. Additionally, I felt that the speaker wanted to make the lecture down-to-earth, but I think she spend too much time like charting and maybe 5-10% of the video was worthy. Anyway, it is a good start of personal branding.

By Saumya G

May 26, 2020

Course needs to be updated. Half the course was pretty basic information. We all know about apologizing and digital privacy. The twitter tutorial and google alerts tutorial made me feel like this course is meant for a much much older generation. Maybe focus more on the actual building of the brand or how to present your brand through a resume or job interview.

By Mariam I

Dec 27, 2020

Professor Barker is a great speaker/presenter. However, I ranked this course with 2 stars because the content of the course is pretty outdated, as it is recorded in 2015. Additionally, I do believe she could have made the course more interesting by providing more resources and further explaining the intricacies/details of Personal Branding.

By Ehren C

Apr 9, 2020

It was good for an introduction! I completed most of the coursework in one day and read the transcripts instead of the lectures because the videos included more time spent with filler content than actual tips. I think most of the course could be summarized in a few 15 minute lectures with summaries and links to the additional resources.

By Milos S

Jun 29, 2020

I liked the introduction. It gave me a different perspective on personal branding. But the rest was super basic.I feel like the course is aimed at people who have never used a social network before. It was also quite subjective. I expect Coursera content to be based on some reputable sources, not personal experience and blog posts.

By Rachael H

Dec 17, 2020

This is really really an intro and superficial infomation. It might get you motivated to work on your personal branding but there is a lot of missing information in this online course. I a lot of it I ready knew. A lot of the information I found in this online course you could have google and find also in anyone blog post..

By Yaneris

Dec 9, 2019

Only take this course if you have no education in marketing or communications, otherwise it is EXTREMELY basic. Also it's a bit old at this point, there is a suggested article from 2012 which is very outdated. If you are looking for very very basic info or you are new to social media, then go ahead.

By Mulapwa Y

Apr 29, 2021

I found it a little too basic compared to what i was looking for. The information was too Social media usage heavy which most humans have as basic skills these days.

It could be a whole lot more centered on the branding aspect