Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Personal Branding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Personal Branding by University of Virginia

4.4
stars
7,856 ratings
2,450 reviews

About the Course

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Top reviews

OS
Jun 22, 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

SI
Aug 29, 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

Filter by:

1751 - 1775 of 2,439 Reviews for Introduction to Personal Branding

By Aember P T G

Jul 12, 2020

Ms. Kimberly R. Barker has an amusing personality as the moderator for the course, which has something valuable to offer. I just think the only factor missing for an excellent learning experience is the video-editing or visual material.

By NEERAJ K S

Jun 29, 2020

Nice experience with this course and learn various things related to personal branding in the simple and basic way which removes many confusion regarding branding and give many ideas which is accessible and easy to use for branding.

By Julia C

Jul 17, 2016

This is an interesting course. I love the quirkiness of the professor and that she comes across as genuine and happy with her unique self. I am enjoying this course and I think that it will add to my personal and career development.

By Angélica A

Jan 31, 2020

This course can be enriching for your personal brand. I truly recommend it. But it needs an update, a long time has passed since the content was shared in 2015. Also I find the certificate a little expensive to buy it. Thank you.

By Avantika S P

Jan 14, 2019

This course taught me so much I didn't originally know. I'm actually quite happy I chose this course. Thanks to Mrs. Kimberly. She's an amazing teacher, gifted with enormous capabilities. She has commendable communication skills.

By Olivia M

Mar 12, 2021

This was a great course to help me improve my blog and podcast. Thank you so much, The Irish Survival Podcast

anchor.fm/theirishsurvivalpodcast theirishsurvivalpodcast01.wordpress.com instagram.com/the_irish_survival_podcast

By Faiza K

Feb 7, 2021

It was good. An introduction to Personal Branding does not require you to be Personal everywhere, but it co-relates the relationship between being authentic and also being cognizant on how others perceive it. Well explained.

By Mithila A

Aug 9, 2020

To be very honest,I just loved the whole procedure.It was so helpful and vital for me.The time limit was absolutely correct to attach with other chores!I would love to do more courses with financial aid.This is superbbbb!!!

By Domingo J F G

Dec 8, 2015

Es una profesora fantastica. El curso es muy basico y cualquier persona lo puede hacer. Sin embargo, estaté atento porque algunas cosas que dice tienen doble sentido y te pueden ayudar mucho en la vida laboral.

Recomendado!

By Kristine R

May 28, 2020

Through this class, I learnt a lot about myself and what branding is about, I had already gone through a branding class before this so most of it was pretty basic but the lecturer is very engaging and makes the class fun.

By Gabriella T

May 10, 2020

I loved the content and learned a lot! However, I wish there was more lessons on how to grow your personal brand through social media platforms like facebook and Isntagram; how to reach people and make a bigger presence.

By OKEKE G

Jul 7, 2020

For an introductory course, it provided the basic knowledge of personal branding. It gave me a better grasp of the idea of personal branding I have been hearing about. And the linked articles were educative too. Thanks.

By Keli J

Oct 19, 2020

The presenter's style was approachable and easy to follow. Although some of the information would probably be pretty basic to anyone who has worked in PR before, there was definitely a few tidbits that proved helpul.

By Rodrigo O M

Sep 12, 2020

Even though it it's an in depth course, I admit I was very surprised by how much it helped me to improve my personal brand and my general understanding of what a personal brand should be. I'm glad I took this course.

By Susana C

May 12, 2017

This course was very interesting and helpful. It covers the basics for someone who wants to start investing in personal branding, but it also includes information that is important to all of us in this digital world.

By Norma M V G

Dec 9, 2020

Me ha encantado este curso, la metodología y los temas que los compone, recomiendo para todas aquellas personas que quieren y necesitan crear su propia marca personal como profesionales o como nuevos emprendedores.

By Yasmin P

Aug 12, 2020

I love how philosophy (-lly) this course is to better understand the importance of your social media and how you brand yourself but i wish the course give more relevant example such as in Linked in media right now

By ANIS 2

Jul 22, 2020

Thank you so much for the course you provided for us , it was really helpful , I suggest it for everyone who want to brand himself . unfortunately in some videos sound is too low . thanks team coursera as well .

By Norah M K

Sep 2, 2019

I had always been afraid of having an active online presence because I did not know how not to mess it up. But this course has shown me how I can blossom with my online presence while maintaining my reputation.

By Kim B

Jan 29, 2017

Excellent course covering the basics of Personal Branding. It was very interesting and it helped me cement my focus and write my mission statement. The staff and other students were very supportive and engaged.

By Reena M

Jun 7, 2020

The course was very helpful and the presentation of the facilitator was awesome. I learned new things like how to choose your board of directors and reputation management. Thank you Coursera for the course .

By André T B

May 31, 2020

This is a great introduction course to Personal Branding. Professor Kimberley Barker is a very enthusiastic and engaged person that brings her passion perfectly well over to us students. Thank you very much.

By Ananya K

May 25, 2020

Kimberley R Barker is a great teacher and a perfect fit for this course. She made me understand that is a lot of difference between selflessness and selfishness and how I can brand myself in various ways.

By Manan M

Jul 4, 2020

I adored doing this course on personal branding as it opened my thoughts towards social media presence, digital privacy and how one could establish a contagious content online in order to lure consumers.

By Forrest H

Feb 2, 2020

Informative, but felt a little duped. Clearly instructor knew about the change in course structure, she made a video. I'm disappointed there was no advance warning. Take my money, then tell me. Not cool.