Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Personal Branding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Personal Branding by University of Virginia

4.4
stars
7,852 ratings
2,449 reviews

About the Course

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Top reviews

OS
Jun 22, 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

SI
Aug 29, 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

Filter by:

1776 - 1800 of 2,438 Reviews for Introduction to Personal Branding

By Charda K

Jan 29, 2016

Very nice starting point for personal branding. Encourages self-reflection and awareness via a few exercises. Touches upon social media presence and use.

Very helpfull in building your personal brand.

By Parvin G

Mar 11, 2021

The content of this course was really good and could help in many different situations. I can tell I really learned so many new things that I've never heard of ! Thanks for providing such content :)

By 不惊Selina

Oct 3, 2017

Well,it really opens my eyes to some new ideas which I have not heard before.Thanks u so much, dear Kimberley! I will pay more attention to my personal branding, though I am still a college student.

By Jon M

Dec 2, 2018

Although this is an outdated course, IT WAS HELPFUL, as the knowledge shared here by Kimberly Barker stands on its own. If you know nothing about personal branding this is a perfect way to start.

By Esther G

Sep 1, 2020

The course is very good, but quite outdated when it comes to social media. It would be interesting to be revised.

The instructor is excellent and knows how to captivate the student's attention.

By Lucy E

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you Kimberley and the Coursera team, this course has really been helpful and insightful giving me a better perspective on branding and how to portray myself and brand better. Thank you.

By Maretchia G F

Jan 11, 2021

It was my first time to learn about personal branding so it was really beneficial and I enjoyed the course, the instructor and her nice way, the content was to the point.. thank you so much:)

By Abdur R W

Nov 4, 2020

sangat membantu dalam hal menambah effectifitas dalam bermedia sosial terutama dalah hal personal branding dan disini kita selalu melakungan hal yang bisa membantu kita dalam hal komunikasi

By GOWTHAM P

May 9, 2020

It is a useful course about the importance of personal branding for very freshers. but for the persons already know about what is meant by personal branding. It's may be too basic for them.

By Marlyce B

Jul 30, 2020

Informative for a newbie but very very basic information that can be found in a google search. Having in one central location is good though. Some of the linked articles should be updated.

By Fiona h

Apr 22, 2020

I like this course and would recommend it to anyone. I learnt a lot and its certainly helpful for me to manage my digital presence in the right way, separating professionally and socially.

By Feldianne A

Jun 9, 2020

Although some points of the course are not in-depth, this course is still helpful to the people who needs a brief introduction in personal branding. I would still recommend this course!

By Rajesh

Nov 22, 2016

Many of the topics covered appeared to be known areas except for an extension of few concepts. The assessments were either simple or not too relevant in accordance with study material.

By Kaushal M

May 20, 2021

It was a very to the point course prepared by university. I completed it very easily because of Ma'am Kimberley Barker. Looking forward to check other courses taught by ma'am herself.

By Robert S

Jan 15, 2018

Fun and engaging instructor, some good information, easy to follow. Very few assignments and quizzes, so very easy to complete this class on-schedule. Good introduction to the topic.

By Nadiya D

Apr 11, 2020

It is a beneficial course for beginners in personal branding. Some materials a bit outdated, but the overall course is a starting point in the journey of creating personal branding.

By Apurv G

Nov 30, 2020

This course provides a simple and concise introduction to personal branding. The course instructor has provided basic and necessary information that a beginner will find helpful.

By Anish M

Dec 15, 2020

Very informative and packed with information, however the volume is a little soft on the lecture videos which makes it hard to hear at times but other than that highly recommend!

By Damilare O

Nov 15, 2020

This course has proven so helpful having come in cognizance with the basic rudiments to presenting what I have to offer the world on digital platforms. God bless you @kimberley.

By Sole M

Jun 24, 2019

Personal Branding not only allows you to be your best-self image publicly, but also it gives you a path to focus on how you want to be as professional as well in a personal way.

By Manas J P

Jul 14, 2020

The course is good because:

1. It teaches the importance of personal branding

2. It makes us more approachable

3. The professor has a very friendly and easy approach to teaching

By April M

Jul 9, 2020

Suggest to add a few more quizzes to test learner's understanding on a certain topic. Provide actual steps on how to promote personal branding thru social media applications.

By Sueann H

May 10, 2020

The course was very useful as well as the readings. I wish some of the materials were bit more up-to-date, but all in all it was very good. The instructor was very engaging!

By Wong Y Q

Jun 23, 2020

It is helpful for me. I gain knowledge from this. I know that how is important of personal branding as it will show your personality and ideas that no one can replace you.

By Edwin R

Oct 20, 2019

A good introductory course to branding: three brand words, developing a personal board of directors, creating a mission statement, and general guidelines for social media.