Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Personal Branding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Personal Branding by University of Virginia

4.4
stars
8,480 ratings

About the Course

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Top reviews

OS

Jun 22, 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

SI

Aug 29, 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

Filter by:

1801 - 1825 of 2,570 Reviews for Introduction to Personal Branding

By Rachel K

Jun 20, 2018

Great course full of helpful information. Some of it (for example the how to use twitter lesson) was not something I personally needed but I'm sure others might. There are some articles and podcasts included with the lessons that really elevate the learning in this course. Overall, I learned a lot and I enjoyed it.

By Beth W W

Nov 15, 2018

Energetic and passionate instructor. Really focused me to give some thought to my words, my brand and my mission statement. Love the information on the Board of Directors. Some of the content needs to be updated— Twitter. I realize I our world works at a faster than normal pace. Thank you coursera and UVA.

By Ludving A C F

May 4, 2020

I think is a good way to open your mind and understand the main concepts of a Personal branding, but, some articles and reviews can be updated (in this digital world, some things had changed and now there is a new perspective on social media). But in the end I loved the class it was really helpful for me.

By Kapil G

May 3, 2020

The course was really helpful in learning the Personal Branding. It majorly everything an individual needs to present him or her as a brand to the World. The course share set of amazing concepts, which not only keeps you engaged though out the process but also, keep you engaged with the the activities.

By Win M

Dec 21, 2020

I really loved the lectures about finding self personality types, how to be authentic and true-self, pick the right board members and mentors, using social media wisely for branding, and tips for digital privacy.

Thank you so much for lecturer, Kimberley R. Barker for these knowledgeable topics.

By Erika J M

Sep 27, 2020

Is really helpful, makes you be more true to yourself by open your mind and look for what really important. It has to be updated on the last subjects like social media. Give more advice of what it should be and not be there. I learn a lot about myself and how to introduce myself to the public.

By Govind S

Jan 20, 2016

A very simple and easy to understand course. Very impactful if you take it seriously and try doing what the instructor explains. The articles that were shared were very useful, especially while creating a mission statement, etc. Would recommend to those who want to be launch their new self.

By Jaehoon C

Dec 21, 2015

As a software engineer, materials related to social medias and its privacy issues are not new at all. However, basic principals and practices on the personal branding are very helpful. I am still searching for my board of directors. This course makes me change how I live as a professional.

By Amanda M

May 10, 2020

Great course but it needs to be updated. I believe it was created in 2015 and things move so fast with the digital aspect of personal branding that many of the materials are no longer relevant! However I learned a lot about aspects of personal branding I had not considered. Thank you!

By Cyril D

Feb 7, 2016

As suggested by other learners, this course is a good introduction for the majority of us out there. It gives you the essential skills you need, as well as provides resources to dig deeper. Extra bonus, the instructor is very engaging and funny, and the format is informal in a good way.

By Sean K

Jan 15, 2022

Quick and easy guide to personal branding for beginners. Got me thinking and if you follow through with the activities, I think it can be helpful. However, it'd be nice if the content was updated, particularly when it comes to social media and digital privacy. Thanks for the learnings!

By Alvin M

Dec 24, 2016

This course is really wonderful. It helps us to know ourselves better and then reflect it in our digital media in order to 'sell' our personality. Nothing is perfect, this course too. In my opinion, the course is not up-to-date and uncompletely describes social media's functionalities.

By Tiffany D

Sep 12, 2020

This course was extremely informative on the topic of personal branding. I learned many facets of this topic that I had never before come across. I would, however, like to see the reading assignments link to more current articles, since our world is so rapidly changing and developing.

By Namita J

Sep 22, 2017

The informality of the course made it refreshing.

The faculty made that possible.

Some discussion on a couple of other fora like LinkedIn, or Google+ would have enhanced the take away.

The brevity of the course made it fun to do and yet with key learnings available. thank you Kimberley.

By Ana E F

Apr 13, 2020

It´s a really useful course that gives you a good overview about your Personal Branding. The teacher is really nice and she absolutely manage a lot about branding and digital reputation. Maybe some items could have been explained with more detail but, in general, is a good training.

By Olga L

Jan 27, 2020

Good course, I picked up a few ideas that I plan to implement. A little bit too basic and IDK - conversational? - I ended up skimming transcripts to speed up the process. I got more value out of reading assignments than the class videos. Reading assignments were very well selected.

By Ligeia V

Jul 27, 2016

Enjoyed the course Kimberley. You made it fun and informative and I used the content to make a slew of changes! I had a real distilling of exactly where I am going with my brand and I'm off on this adventure of creating it now. Can I convince you to do a course ORM through Coursera?

By Yash N N

May 29, 2020

This course was very.....enjoying, motivating and self-inspiring. I would thank our instructor KR Barker for her valuable guidance. Also, the assignments were very easy and enjoyed discussion forums very much, then it may be writing mission statements, choosing three words, etc.

By Julia U

Sep 11, 2016

This course was a fairly decent introduction to personal branding. It certainly made me aware of it, although, it did not completely prepare me for the enormous task of consistent branding. It was a good place to start if you know nothing about things like twitter which I didn't.

By Kristen C

Apr 5, 2019

I found the both the content and instructor to be interesting. While I enjoyed the introspective exercises and the idea of putting together a personal mission statement, I was hoping to take away a little more practical knowledge. Overall though, I am satisfied with this course.

By Giuliano M

Apr 24, 2020

I was wondering if I should have put 4 or 5. I put 4 only for a small minus: there are part of this course that are a little bit old (see for example the part on the introduction to twitter and so on), but from a general point view is a very good course and I would suggest it!

By Jeevan L

Jun 25, 2020

Ii was very useful. Appreciate the Professor for shooting some of the video's around the campus, which game me a fresh feel. The style of lecture delivery is also appreciable. The only problem has been the voice and video clarity. (not a big issue though). thank you

By ANYA D A

May 26, 2020

The instructor is quite engaging and knowledgeable about the course subject, but I think it could be expanded more by having an assessment during every week to review the important points for every week of lecture. Still, a very informative course and I enjoyed it!

By Alexander v E

Jun 30, 2019

Very nice course, which got me up to speed in idea's about personal brand yourself. It was for me a conformation in the way of identifying my own value and qualities and thinking about the options I want to use to present them as my personal brand. Very useful.

By stefano g

Feb 2, 2018

3 words and mission stmts were most helpful. effort to maintain a social presence is probably more than what most people are willing to deal w long term. Some content such as the google specific review is prob more in depth than necessary but ok as optional.