Chevron Left
Back to Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
1,036 ratings
230 reviews

About the Course

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Top reviews

CG
Feb 10, 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
Jun 24, 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 230 Reviews for Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

By Katt P

Mar 10, 2017

Great high-level overview that introduces some very interesting concepts. Great intro for those who are just exploring this area of study. Entices you to dive deeper into the topic!

By Stefan V

Feb 8, 2017

Wonderful course! It's a great introduction to the topic of embodied cognition. My only suggestion is to expand it for the people who are really interested in these topics.

By Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course, however some of the lectures were a bit slow or somehow loose. Evenso, I think this is a very good introductory course to a fascinating topic.

By Rahul K

Apr 4, 2018

A very brief, concise, and fun-to-learn course. It helped me bridge the gap between AI cognition and human cognition. Love the presentation style of the lectures!

By A K

Dec 13, 2016

I enjoyed this course very much! Provided a very fundamental framework for understanding what cognition is, and the associated problems, such as mind-body

By Daniela C L K M

Jul 24, 2020

Maybe I was hoping for more philosophy and a little less science. But it was great to learn and think about applied sciences using cognitive sciences too.

By Anastasia B

Aug 10, 2020

A good course. Very interesting but it is rather on the surface and doesn't really go in depth explaining the evolution of cognitive sciences

By James D R

Mar 18, 2019

I found the first three weeks to be great. The final week felt rushed and underwhelming. It was a shame to end on a whimper.

By Jesse

Jul 6, 2020

This is a relatively basic introductory program. Some interesting ideas had been introduced yet not been developed deeply.

By Mohamed A

Apr 4, 2017

This is a complete introduction the cognitive sciences. A great course to start with, but is still for the beginners

By Jay K

May 13, 2020

Exceptional and accessible introductory course into the cognitive science and evolutionary and adaptive principles.

By Robert L

Sep 8, 2017

A good overview though it does mix and match definition from Edinburgh research rather than research in general.

By Magdalena M

May 30, 2020

The slides for the last weeks lectures were a bit unstructured, would love if that was a bit more organized.

By Manolis P

Nov 28, 2016

Approachable, easy to follow, interesting examples, rich additional readings, good lecturers, easy exams

By Karin F

Mar 22, 2017

Great course! Could've been longer. Looking forward to more online courses from the U of Edinburgh.

By Israel Á P J

Aug 13, 2020

Thanks for the course, I enjoy more than the first part! I loved the funny options in the quizzes.

By yan l

May 6, 2019

I enjoyed the course, but felt like something was missing from the course.

By Ignacio J B P

Aug 12, 2019

It lacks a certain unity, maybe because it has many different teachers.

By Marie F

Aug 20, 2018

Really Interesting, gives a first idea of what cognitive sciences are !

By Katherine M K

Jul 4, 2017

Truly interesting, I was engaged throughout the entirety of the course.

By Troy

May 1, 2019

A pretty course to have a brief understanding of cognitive science.

By Guruswamy S

Feb 14, 2019

One of the most thought provoking courses. Lot to think and learn.

By Jonathan G

Feb 13, 2018

fascinating course. I had no idea this was connected to robotics!

By Sidney C

Jun 21, 2017

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

By Carola S

Jul 25, 2020

Very interesting course and could have been longer.