Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
6,456 ratings
1,513 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,496 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By Simon O R

Dec 11, 2018

The Time frame is great to keep you active. This is very important to put sufficient enerdy into the course. It is well-made, lively, and very profitable. Thank you!

By Andrew U

Jun 19, 2016

This is an outstanding introduction to Philosophy. Each element is a short overview at beginner level and yet addresses the fundamental debates in each area covered.

By Keren T

Oct 29, 2015

It is a good course with great content. The professors are well prepared and share their knowledge in an easy way so that everyone can understand their explanations.

By Lucia E D

Apr 10, 2018

Excelente curso muy buenas las exposiciones de los distintos profesores, y muy interesante su contenido, muchísimas gracias por haberme dejado participar del mismo.

By Andrés A B

Sep 28, 2017

I loved the course, every topic was amazingly interesting, I loved the first week and the third week, both aspect moved me forward to learn more about those topics.

By Christian O S

Aug 13, 2019

A very informative introduction to the field of philosophy, curated by enthusiastic lectures, who explain each topic in a nicely structured and accessible fashion.

By Odair C J

Mar 12, 2019

It is a really good introduction, focusing on the big questions and incentiving the students to think for themselves about these questions since the first lesson.

.

By Christopher B

Jul 03, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I would recommend it to anyone who wanted to get an overview of major trends in philosophical thinking. Well presented resources.

By Ramon S

Sep 19, 2020

Excelente curso introductorio, me permitió acercarme a temas interesantes del apasionante mundo de la Filosofía. Felicitaciones a los profesores y la universidad.

By Krishna R

May 17, 2020

As the title suggests it really does introduce you you to a lot of interesting branches of philosophy, as well as a lot of philosophical thinkers.A great start!!!

By Phillip B

Oct 22, 2015

Fantastic introductory course to Philosophy. It really expands your thinking and methodologies relating to wisdom and knowledge. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you.

By PATRICK M

May 04, 2020

I'm so glad that I committed to this course, and finished it. Very enlightening and a solid base to build upon. Thanks Cousera and The University of Edinburgh!

By Pranshu B

Aug 06, 2020

This is an excellent course . I m from medical background from India and the education was not so open 20 years back; I finally got to do a course on philosophy

By Valeria V

Oct 27, 2018

Este curso lo recomendaría, la información es completa y entretenida.

A pesar de estudiar otra carrera "ING informática" pude comprender cada uno de los temas .

By Pascal K

Jun 13, 2020

I highly enjoyed this course and the variety of professors that each explained their view and topic related to philosophy. Will recommend this course to ohers!

By Maria

May 12, 2020

A very interesting approach - presents both obvious and interesting, niche topics and problems of philosophy, making this course appealing to a broad audience.

By analia a

Nov 21, 2018

Muy buena introducción al pensamiento filosófico y además con ejemplos comunes para dar mejor entendimiento, deberían hacer cursos de cada corriente filosófica

By Sara B

Sep 21, 2015

An excellent though-provoking introduction to several branches of Philosophy. You can tell the instructors love what they do - it makes it easy to love it too.

By Khouloud A D

May 29, 2020

I can honestly say that this is one of thd best online courses I have taken so far. Thank you all for the huge effort you have made for the sake of knowledge.

By L.R. L

Dec 31, 2018

I've found this course to be really interesting and thought provoking. The instructors explain the materials with reasonable precision and with good examples.

By Leonardo A E L

Apr 02, 2016

Amazing course. I hope it can be extended to a more advanced level and I also hope the MOOC about philosophy and the sciences will be back soon. All the best

By Poonyanuch L

May 31, 2020

I really love all the topics that are introduced here. They are very different from what I've learnt in the past. Learning this course is truly open my mind.

By Azajul I N

Apr 05, 2020

This course is a Master of Philosophy. This online course is highly recommended for all the students who are interested in learning Philosophy. Just amazing.

By FRANCISCO I D B

Aug 05, 2020

I really like the course. I learned so much about different aspect about philosophy.

I like the modality with different teachers with different specialities.

By Walter M

Jun 07, 2020

Maravilloso curso!! Gracias a los profesores por hacer tan sencillo temas que leyendolos a traves de un libros suelen se inentedibles. SALUDOS CORDIALES!!!!