Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
7,921 ratings
1,853 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
Oct 7, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 1,844 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By Nata S

Apr 26, 2020

Very professional informative introduction to Philosophy. I Learned so much, that I didn't think I could in such a little time. Loved it.

By howardavery

Feb 3, 2016

Really helpful and gives me the overall idea of what philosophy is! I even applied for university of Edinburgh after taking this course.

By Alma G A R

Nov 27, 2015

Las lecciones son muy claras y abarcan los temas de manera suficiente, además dan las herramientas para continuar el estudio. Excelente.

By Guo R

Sep 15, 2015

Very good course with interesting cases and different theories. And also a very good opportunity to think and learn the way of thinking.

By Sivaprakash S

Jun 28, 2020

Very thoughtful course material. Really enjoyed the course videos and practice quizzes.

Definite must for anyone who dares to question.

By agustin E

Nov 15, 2017

Excelente! Muy recomendable entretenido y audaz. Algunos videos no tienen traduccion pero con un poco de audacia se puede resolver.

By Joel Z

Mar 18, 2017

Gives a very brief and intelligible introduction to philosophy. The course eliminates the need for previous experience with the subject

By M A R

May 17, 2021

This course learn me much more than I knew.Allah is Almighty and none but he is a God.Please accept this truth and revert Islam(Peace)

By Aleh-rodriguez@hotmail.com

Oct 9, 2016

The Teacher´s are amazing, the help material is very completed.

I very happy for this course.

Thanks by share your knowledge with us.

By GERMAN C M

Jun 1, 2016

Excelente curso que nos permite conocer realmente el significado de la Filosofía y su importancia en el mundo en el que interactuamos.

By Mishki

Feb 28, 2016

Great course not only for those interested in philosophy, but also for the ones skeptical about its importance. Beginner - friendly :)

By Carlos F C J

Feb 12, 2016

Ótimo curso, o melhor do tema que já tive conhecimento, vou tentar completá-lo pela segunda vez. Parabéns professor, e muito obrigado!

By Dianna O B

Oct 26, 2020

I learned a lot from the professors. They made the topics easy to understand and were able to explore topics even on such short time.

By Molly F

Aug 6, 2020

It really opens your eyes to the world around you, and makes you realize just how much we don't yet fully understand about ourselves.

By Luis K

May 12, 2020

Excelente Curso. Conduz o aluno em uma linha crescente de raciocínio e apresenta as linhas importantes da Filosofia e seus expoentes.

By NEHA D

Apr 24, 2021

It was a helpful course, I learnt many philosophical thing and also came to know many aspects of thinking in a particular situation.

By Alyssa L

Jun 9, 2020

A great introduction to philosophy; provides breadth in the different fields of philosophy and a thorough coverage of related ideas.

By Dimitra G

Apr 26, 2020

Great lectures, videos and notes! Surely, I'll use some of the knowledge I've gained throught out my everyday and professional life.

By JEREMIAH P M

Apr 6, 2020

The speakers were easy to understand. They were able to bring down their knowledge to those new to Philosophy such as me. Thank you.

By John P M

Dec 31, 2019

I loved this course and found it to be a superb introduction to philosophy. The format, course content and teachers were excellent!

By Naveena

Nov 8, 2019

This course gives a great start into the world of philosophy. Each instructor is articulate, and the content meets the expectations.

By Chloé G

Sep 1, 2019

Great course! Well-explained yet throughout introduction to a new subject and various interesting topics. Would recommend to anyone.

By Nelson Y

Nov 14, 2020

FELICITACIONES

TIENEN ALTO NIVEL ACADEMICO

PERMITE CRECER INTELECTUALMENTE

SON CURSOS DE VANGUARDIA QUE AYUDAN MUCHO A LOS ESTUDIANTES

By Samira J

Aug 12, 2020

I think this course brilliantly illustrates each vital aspect of philosophy, and I will have to admit that I have taken away a lot!

By Carlos M

Jan 23, 2016

Excelente! Es una dicha poder acceder a la filosofía de una manera clara, simple, y sobretodo, para todo aquél estudiante buscador.