Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
7,270 ratings
1,696 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
Oct 7, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 1,680 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By MOHAMMAD T T

Jul 12, 2020

It was a great experience. Mostly all videos was interesting and quiz help me to implement my understanding

By Raj B

Jul 2, 2020

Challenging and complicated, the tests were particularly difficult. Thought provoking and worth the effort.

By Faisal G

Apr 11, 2020

I read many books about philosophy but this course though me in sequential manner, cleared my understanding

By Leticia T P

Mar 7, 2018

Es excelente el curso. Me está ayudando a comprender mucho mejor una materia que antes no me gustaba mucho.

By Voronina V

Oct 13, 2017

I am very pleased to finished this course, great thanks to all lecturers!!! It was well intersting journey.

By Shakti A A P

Jun 19, 2020

The course was very insightful, as I gained a look into every field that philosophy could be practiced in.

By Simon P

Jun 17, 2020

Really interesting and enjoyable course if you want to get under the skin of philosophy at a starter level

By Imran M

May 14, 2020

This course is very beneficial to get a basic understanding of Philosophy. I highly recommend this course.

By Ali B

Apr 14, 2020

the course is very good very entertaining I learned a lot Thanks a lot

I recommend the course is excellent

By Luis E B H

Oct 8, 2020

A course that truly brings you closer to the principles of philosophy in a didactic and entertaining way.

By Jeffrey L F

Jun 13, 2020

This course is challenging yet interesting. It really makes you think. I am glad I have experienced this.

By Natalia H

May 13, 2020

Very entertaining and varied course! It covers a wide array of topics and the professors are all engaging

By Alberto H G E

Apr 17, 2018

Excelente curso, me ha dado una nueva perspectiva de las cosas, desde lo superficial hasta lo específico.

By Rawan A

Aug 18, 2017

Very well structured and good for beginners. Time travel and philosophy was great! I highly recommend it.

By Samiha S

Dec 7, 2015

It was very informative and interesting. Provided some very intriguing questions for reflective thinking.

By Eric B

Jun 20, 2020

A very nice introduction into the philosophical way of thinking! The mentors are great and well versed!

By Rhiannon P

Feb 5, 2020

Really engaging and at the perfect level. Has made me really consider studying philosophy at university.

By RENÉ V C R

Jan 25, 2019

es un curso que muestra de manera sencilla los temas en los que se ocupan los filósofos de la actualidad

By Khalil A M

Jun 9, 2018

Excellent courses, first gate of philosophy, highly reccomded any one want to know more about philosophy

By Abdullah A

Aug 6, 2020

Fascinating course. Thanks, I am really grateful for everyone helped creating such an excellent course.

By JOSE B

Aug 4, 2020

HIGHLY INFORMATIVE, PLEASING PRESENTATION WITH BEST EXAMPLES REALLY LOVED THE WAY THEY TOOK THE CLASSES

By Nelson S M C

Mar 21, 2020

Es muy didáctico y entretenido, los temas son diversos e interesantes. No es lo que esperaba, es mejor.

By Ujjwal B

Mar 7, 2016

This course is informative and enjoyable. I would highly recommend it to anyone interest in Philosophy!

By Minh T

Feb 15, 2021

I think this course is really useful and it's recommended for everyone regardless of their discipline.

By Nathalie

Dec 29, 2020

It was such an interesting course!! Great professors, amazing videos and articles! Thank you so much😊