Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
8,059 ratings
1,879 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
Oct 7, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,870 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By stephen

May 25, 2020

A great introduction to Philosophy in general and i really enjoyed the lecturers the content. The lectures were long enough but not to detailed that i got lost in the subject matter. I will definitely continue on my path of self knowledge. Thank you.

By Juan C C G

Jun 20, 2019

Casi perfecto, muy versatil, diferente, ameno, solo un poco complicados los cuestionarios de evaluación, aunque como profesor me ayudaron a dificultar mis exámenes. Nota la parte más difícil es la de filosofía de la ciencia, la Doctora habló muy rápido.

By Nicholas G

Jul 19, 2020

Well-structured course and knowledge is pretty much accessible, as being supported by very good, tailor-made reading material. The discussion fora are more helpful with this course than in other across the Coursera offer - most likely due to the topic.

By Elad

May 9, 2020

This was really a great starting point to explore a field that I have for many years yearned to discover and has brought me to a point where I can better reason and understand about the nature of (some) philosophical discussions and ideas. Many thanks!

By Chung-Han L

May 6, 2019

This course is highly recommended. It makes me be more humble in front of knowledge and request me to think more and more differently. Philosophy is not only a subject but also a way of thinking. I believe it helps you in any field you are focusing on.

By Weiwei H

Sep 2, 2015

Very thought-provoking. Every teacher gives a comprehensible and approachable lecture about the given topics. The complementary material also helps. Be very contented with all of them. Thank you for all the contribution for making this course possible!

By Jay-R R T

May 17, 2020

I learned a lot from the discussions. It made me more aware of my surroundings. It made me more observant and inquisitive. I appreciate the passion of the instructors. They are great at presenting the concepts and providing examples. This was helpful.

By mohammad s

Sep 19, 2020

It is my first course on philosophy and it is really interesting. I learned how to think critically about topics and I also got to know a few topics in depth. I will recommend this course to those who are trying to know about philosophy as a subject.

By Freya O

May 3, 2020

Very interesting and great for the beginner! I definitely found certain weeks harder than other however once you begin to understand the language used then it becomes easier overall. Examples at each stage were extremely helpful for my understanding.

By Dr S K

Jul 23, 2020

Coming from India, I have a fairly good knowledge about Indian culture and philosophy. Mainly Hinduism, Jainism and Buddhism. I was keen to know about western philosophy. It was a good course. Very new and abstract for me, but a great learning time.

By Juan P

Oct 4, 2017

Un curso fantástico para introducirse en el maravilloso mundo de la filosofía. Después de aprender con este curso quedan muchas ganas de seguir leyendo y comprendiendo esta disciplina. Muchas felicitaciones a la gente de la Universidad de Edinburgh.

By Maya R

May 4, 2021

Thank you very much! It was an amazing journey which I will not forget. Each lectors helped me to know more about the different areas of Philosophy. I liked every pedagogical approaches and the modern fresh view on the main problems they discussed.

By Germán D C

Dec 12, 2016

This Philosophy course is perfect for those who want to get familiar with current philosophical discussions. They provide you with a very general view of a variety of philosophical debates in a very easy manner, so that anybody can understand them.

By Ishika S

Apr 2, 2021

An interesting and informative course for those who've wanted to understand the basic ideas and arguments in philosophy. Great resources are provided too if you want to do some extra reading and understand more. Thanks for the lessons, professors!

By Juan M H R

Oct 30, 2020

Es un curso bastante completo. Desde luego, la filosofía abarca una cantidad enorme de temas pero eso no impide que el curso ofrezca un hilo conductor y establezca una serie de objetivos. Los profesores y profesoras del curso son extraordinarios.

By Jeremiah J P

Jun 29, 2020

The class covers philosophical fundamentals in a fair, yet informative and engaging manner. The timeline of subject material fits purposefully and anyone with an interest in critical thinking could be converted into a full-time philosopher by it.

By Ani P A

May 28, 2020

I had fun taking the course! The instructors had an excellent way of explaining their material in a way that is easy to understand. I love how the syllabus covers many areas of Philosophy and it helped give me ideas on which area to explore next.

By John R

Sep 25, 2015

This was a very interesting course. Not what I was expecting when I enrolled, but I enjoyed it completely. I especially liked the lesson on the logical possibility of time travel. This was my first Coursera course but I hope to find more courses.

By Kay V

Nov 11, 2020

It was a GREAT course. I learn a lot, but the thing that I like the most is that the teachers make me question a lot of things and I all the things that I learn are things that I can practice in my everyday life.

Thanks a lot to all the teachers!

By Llewelyn H

Oct 16, 2018

I want to thank you for the scholarship and for allowing me to learn more, I want to continue studying and thanks to you I've learned a lot of new things. From Mexico, thank you very much, you peolple have opened new horizons for me and my mind.

By karanjit s

Jan 19, 2017

Very good introduction to philosophy. The professors share simple and effective analogies to explain philosophical concepts. The concepts are also woven into interesting topics that would make one think. Highly recommend this course to everyone.

By Liau C Z

May 14, 2020

Wonderful course. I have attempted and completed numerous online courses but this course stands out. Lecturers introduce interesting concepts and encourage creative thinking. Kudos to the University of Edinburgh for producing wonderful content.

By Juan P I R

Mar 15, 2021

It’s a great opportunity to learn more about philosophy, philosophers and to enjoy the answers to the questions that probably you have make a couple of times and didn’t imagine how could be answered. It was a great journey that I recommend it.

By Hanna I

Jun 25, 2020

As brief as an introduction should be, however, at the same time covering all the main philosophic problems. I want to thank all the tutors for this wonderful course, it was a great pleasure to spend those 5 weeks in your brilliant company :)

By Elián B

Oct 1, 2015

Is for me the greatest course of philosophy I ever had, specially because of a really bad "teacher" that I just don't know how can he be teaching, but well, had been my first experience with a MOOC and couldn't be better I suppose. Greetings!