Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
7,844 ratings
1,840 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
Apr 10, 2021

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 1,833 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By Jonathan M

Jun 12, 2020

Great intro course with wide ranging topics. great for a foundation and springboard for further research and learning

By Yahya K G

May 24, 2020

Amazing course. Nice materials and content. But some web links which are suggested for further reading are not valid.

By Ralph R F

May 20, 2019

Simple and entertaining. The materials are well-thought of and presented in ways that are relevant to everyday lives.

By Christi M

Feb 23, 2018

Excellent overview of some specializations within the field of philosophy. Summaries are presented in an engaging way

By Jose R G F

Sep 23, 2017

Disfrute mucho profundizar en temas muy interesantes de la filosofia, disciplina de la cual soy fan hace muchos años.

By Hemswaroop R

Jun 29, 2021

​It was a wonderful approach. Really widened my ideology. Would surely take one of these in the future at some point

By Hargyo T N I

May 23, 2020

I feel so enlightened by this course. It is very recommended for those who want to start getting to know Philosophy.

By Niyaz A G

May 20, 2020

It has been an excellent learning experience for me. The topics covered and the approach of teachers is appreciable.

By Alberto d l F M

Nov 21, 2019

Interesantísima introducción a varios de los temas candentes en la Filosofía actual. Muy recomendable y disfrutable.

By Sue L

Oct 19, 2019

it's my first finished course here. it's clearly, logical, helpful for me to learn language and philosophy knowledge

By Theodore H

Feb 12, 2018

Very thought provoking and informative. A great 'introduction' to some fairly deep concepts. I very much enjoyed it.

By Valéry B

May 6, 2017

Superb. A great introduction to many concepts. The Free Will and time travel on week 5 are fascinating.

Thanks a lot.

By Bheki L

Sep 9, 2020

The course dealt with questions that we grapple with on a daily basis. I found it very enlightening and empowering.

By Fahmi A S

May 29, 2020

It give us very basic concept of philosophy, even everyone who doesn't study deep in philosophy can join this class

By David L B

May 25, 2020

Really brilliant. Thanks to everyone involved. Looking forward to reading the Philosophy for everyone book.

Cheers!

By Paula M

Mar 8, 2019

Great introduction! covers a great deal of information and gives you enough resources to keep learning on your own.

By Kathryn B

Aug 7, 2016

I thought that this course was a very good introduction. It gave brief glimpses into different kinds of philosophy.

By Deleted A

Aug 24, 2015

Good introduction to Philosophy. Course length is appropriate and assignments are at the right level of difficulty.

By Brian J G G

Nov 9, 2020

I really loved it!!!! It shows you different and interesting points of view about things in life. Thank you a lot.

By Saqib

May 2, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. All the instructors were great. Would love to be able to meet them in person one day.

By Asuman A B

Nov 19, 2020

I especially enjoyed the last week's course on Time Travel. It has been such an intriguing experience, thank you!

By Ivania E D

May 23, 2020

I like this course very much because i learned about a lot of themes around the big theme which is the philosophy

By Hemanga

Apr 21, 2017

Great course.

Great to the starting philosopher. And anyone who wants to learn a bit more about how we all think!

By Philip M

Feb 25, 2016

This is an enjoyable course that covers a few of the basic ideas in philosophy and how to think philosophically.

By Joel P

Sep 17, 2021

I loved it, thought-provoking and very well laid out, and easy to follow while presenting hard questions! 10/10