Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
7,977 ratings
1,860 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top reviews

LT
Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
Oct 7, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filter by:

1626 - 1650 of 1,852 Reviews for Introduction to Philosophy

By Yunis M C

Mar 16, 2021

Excelente curso me gusto mucho y me ayudo para comenzar a realizar otros en Coursera acerca de la filosofía

By Aaron P

Jul 29, 2017

I loved this. Very interesting and learned a lot. Loved the teaching. Wish I could have moreover like this

By Amir H

Mar 26, 2020

good amount of topics but a bit too short on each one of them, wouldve liked more full wave on each topic

By Alexander A

Aug 22, 2018

very detailed and great for someone interested in the subject but very long too hard to remember it all.

By Alessandra C

Dec 24, 2017

Hay algunos vídeos que no tienen subtitulo en español, por lo demás, muy interesante los temas elegidos.

By América A L

Sep 30, 2015

no tengo complicaciones para reproduccir los videos, solo me gusta trabajo averiguar lo del certificado

By David M

Nov 5, 2016

Muy útil, estoy aprendiendo demasiado aunque me gustaría que las preguntas fueran también en español.

By Carol D

May 18, 2021

Topics selected are very important to understand the foundations of our critical thinking as humans.

By Malena L V

Nov 22, 2015

Very interesting ... from the beginning, the teacher shows the pupils, to open mind and think better

By Shaun T

May 10, 2020

It is very interesting, but very complex and abstract concepts. Sometimes it's quite hard to grasp.

By luis c

May 29, 2017

Muy bueno. Lo único que me complicó es que hay partes del curso no tenía los subtítulos en español.

By Melanie B

Oct 19, 2021

Interesting course. Some of the concepts were rather 'out there' but it was still quite enjoyable

By Joseph R

Apr 16, 2019

Offers good resources for further research and learning. Would definitely recommend based on that.

By Prabhakaran K

Nov 11, 2017

A Great introductory course for Philosophy.

Thanks to all the instructors and people responsible.

By Axel L

Feb 29, 2016

A very clear discription to the basics of philosophy - I am happy that I have joined the course!

By oscar d d c

Jul 27, 2021

es un muy buen curso los profesores explican muy bien lo temas y es mas fácil de comprendedlos

By Thirza v K

Sep 13, 2017

Interesting course with interesting topics. I learned several new ways of looking at the world.

By Lyn A

Jun 23, 2017

Not really for absolute beginners like me, but it was very informative and easy to understand.

By Дубова Д Д

May 17, 2020

i liked lectures and materials, but it's a pity that not in all lessons there is a handout((

By Cid N K

Aug 31, 2020

Good course with plenty indication of additional resources if you would like to go further.

By 天决明

Jun 4, 2017

课程内容不错,可是翻译真的是烂透了,我将机翻和翻译摆在一起完全没有违和感!极大部分还会重复两边!

在语言上浪费不少时间,不少内容是翻阅中文维基百科的资料了解的,因为不知道翻译说了什么。

By Jestor

Sep 23, 2016

Interesting, and well worth my time... I only give it four stars as I am kinda stingy.. ;)

By Mygan A

Mar 15, 2016

Very informative and engaging. Covers a wide range of material without feeling cumbersome.

By Etienne k

Jun 2, 2020

it an excellent course. i learn a lot about philosophy. and i will continue do my lecture

By Lynn D P

Oct 28, 2015

I was very impressed by how the subject was broken down into digestible bits. Well done.