Chevron Left
Back to Photography Techniques: Light, Content, and Sharing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Photography Techniques: Light, Content, and Sharing by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
925 ratings
234 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Course FOUR! In Modules 1-4 you will cover the final elements of the Specialization necessary to round out this introduction to the fundamentals of Photography, and prepare you for creating your own exciting project in the Capstone! You have come a long way since the beginning of this journey from Smartphone Basics to DSLR and Beyond. Just think of all the information you have absorbed and put to use in your assignments and quizzes, and the confidence you have gained that you CAN control the camera to make pictures you are proud to share. Here in Course Four you will start by gaining knowledge related to content in photography, from fact to fiction, documentary to purely expressive. Next you will learn principles, tips, and techniques for using the essential element of Light in Ambient/Natural settings. The flash/strobe unit, whether it is built-in to your camera or an add-on "hotshoe" model, will finally be something you, not the camera, controls! You will prove to yourself that those former mysteries of Controlled Continuous and Strobe lighting will no longer be mysterious, as you apply your knowledge to creation of assignment photographs in various situations. Sharing those pictures in Peer Review will give you the opportunity to learn from your fellow photographers' solutions to lighting challenges, and to gain insight into your own work and creative approaches too. There is an important word to share about Peer Review assignments for this course. As photographers who have accomplished the quiz and photography requirements of Courses One through Three, you have the knowledge and capability to create quality photographs at a much higher rate of success, and in a much shorter time, than when you began. You have also proven that you are a dedicated Learner, someone who has a passion for photography and is willing to put forth the extra effort necessary to accomplish your goals. This Course is the last before the Capstone Course, in which you will be tasked with creating a project over a 2-month period of dedicated photography. The Peer Review photography assignments have been structured with both your advanced capabilities and dedication in mind...in other words, they will require both! Be prepared to allocate more time than you have in previous Courses for the assignments, because they will take more time and because you will really enjoy them! Course Four ends with an overview of methods for finalizing your pictures in print form, including simple but effective matting techniques, and in web page designs as well. The pleasures and perils of sharing in social media sites are also yours to discover. Protecting your copyrights by understanding that concept and the ways that you can assert them, being careful about blogs and other outlets, and recognizing you are part of a community that respects the individual's creative effort, well that is important knowledge to have in preparation for the Capstone too! Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

LF
Nov 2, 2020

This course went beyond my expectations! The lessons were very practical for aspiring photographers of the modern era, especially if one wants to really stick to the field of professional photography.

AT
Dec 1, 2017

Great course structure. Great Professors and Mentors. This course has really help me grow a lot as a photographer. I'm so thankful to Coursera & MSU for putting such a great course for learners.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 230 Reviews for Photography Techniques: Light, Content, and Sharing

By Grace V

Apr 18, 2020

I learn more from Professor Sullivan; I feel his inputs or portion of the lessons for this course and others have tangible, practical tools to help. However, in this series, the editing could have been better - he had to restart again a few times- it was odd because I had not heard that previously.

By Kathy V

May 15, 2021

Very well constructed and content was most helpful. While the first courses were more of a review as I had some knowledge already, this course really helped advance my understanding and practice.

By Jo H M

Jul 25, 2016

Thank you for helping me to make better photographies. Family and friends are really excited to see the difference in comparison to the pictures I made before. You are doing a great job.

By Kerem K

Jul 18, 2019

Very useful information about the use of light and flash. Even though some bits were repetitive, it was an enjoyable course.

By Jorge A J R

Apr 23, 2020

It's difficult to get real feedback about your work, however the little ones you get to improve worth it.

By Ernesto C

Nov 27, 2017

Un buen curso donde aprender a conocer el factor más importante en la fotografía y es la luz.

By Andrey P

Nov 27, 2016

It was more about technical stuff and less about art itself. Well, it was pretty good!

By Jackie

Feb 5, 2018

Shortage of example to different light use in the course. And something may go out.

By Alex M

Jan 16, 2019

Little slow for my taste.... The sound of videos could have been better !

By Hansel T

Nov 8, 2020

Very informative! This course helps me reignite my love for photography

By Loretta W

Nov 9, 2018

Love this course getting little harder as we go along!!

thank you all!

By Shivam

Aug 31, 2020

more photography techniques could have been added to the course.

By giorgos p

Mar 26, 2017

useful "tecnical" information about implementation

By Libby A

Nov 29, 2019

good course to take if you can pay the money

By Rennes L T

Nov 19, 2019

very interesting and challenging.

By Shreyas K

Mar 1, 2019

this series of courses is awesome

By P G R

Jun 23, 2020

Good for freshers

By Rohan M

Sep 29, 2020

great learning

By Shishir K

Jun 3, 2020

good enough!

By Mashuk-E-Elahi (

May 18, 2020

Good.

By Luis A S R

Jun 25, 2020

nice

By SASIDHARAN T

Aug 23, 2020

-

By Peter K

Dec 23, 2017

Course Starts out weaker than the others, but returns to form in the later weeks. One of the lectures in week 2 has a clear cut after a professor misspeaks, but no one was bothered to edit the video. Peer Review system for assignments is problematic throughout the specialization. Some assignments need to be more concisely explained & following of the grading rubrics needs to be enforced somehow. Dr. Glendinning remains as enthusiastic as ever & the course does continue to build well on the technical aspects of photography. While appreciated, the equipment recommendations often feel like ads for company sponsors. Though that may be more of a result of the lecturer's delivery.

By Erin B K

Dec 24, 2020

Disappointed by this specialization. I expected there to be more focus on photography techniques. Certain weeks in course 3 and 4 were very long and less related to actual photography than to what happens after the photograph has been taken. Transcripts are not especially good, despite the courses being given by native speakers, and sometimes the answers to quizzes were not learned in the previous lessons. I think these courses should be reviewed every 6 months or so, corrected and updated.

By shorya s

Jul 27, 2020

I feel like most of the skills which I learn here are not useful for people who are starting as they are too expensive to use and professors are selling those products. They treat us like the great professionals which feel good but not practical. So half of the skills which I learn I won't be using every as I am in India so they are not particle and available