Chevron Left
Back to Photovoltaic solar energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Photovoltaic solar energy by École Polytechnique

4.3
stars
418 ratings
123 reviews

About the Course

The course is an introduction to the photovoltaic (PV) applications in the general mix energetic context dominated by climate warming mitigation. The various uses of solar energy are firstly presented before a short description of the principle of the direct solar photon conversion into electricity (PV). The various PV technologies are reviewed in the current context dominated by crystalline silicon cells. The perspectives of the various technologies are then analysed in terms of R&D investments. From a more scientific point of view the basis of the solar cell operation is presented from the solar spectrum characteristics. The fundamentals of PV conversion are summarized. In particular the various sources of the conversion efficiency limitations are reviewed. The solar PV systems, from cells to grids, are also addressed, with a particular emphasis on the challenges of grid-integration of PV and the development of storage technologies. The environmental and social impacts of PV are compared to the competing energy sources. Generally PV is at advantage as referred to other fossil or renewable sources. Finally the fast evolution of economics and financing of PV is presented together with the current key players, mostly Asian companies....

Top reviews

YZ
Apr 17, 2020

Very good overview of solar energy and practical knowledge .\n\nalso a lot of details on how the technology works.\n\nI am glad that i completed the course

RS
Sep 15, 2019

I am glad that i completed the course even i am busy and i summed up some knowledge on Photovoltaic and its development and importance in future.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 123 Reviews for Photovoltaic solar energy

By MUHAMMAD F K

Dec 10, 2019

its a great course, although pronunciation of lecture is not really good but subtitles can cater this problem.

By K. L

Sep 10, 2020

It was really very informative. Please provide more courses related to grid integration of pv ,wind etc

By Muhammad A Z

Dec 10, 2019

The course was very good overall..One set back was hard to understand accent of the Professor Bernard

By Bushra S

Jul 17, 2020

very informative and interesting course, the way of teaching is very polite, friendly and very good

By Duan F H C

Feb 13, 2021

Very good course! But it could be enhanced by adding some literature for references in the topic.

By Jose C R

Jul 24, 2020

Perfectly balanced. Takes on topics with important information about PV and their markets

By Sebastián M G

Jun 25, 2020

Very interesting how the dress all topics related to renewable photovoltaic energy

By Shum R

Jun 6, 2021

This course is very helpful, but a little bit difficult for the quiz and test

By C D

Feb 22, 2021

Very Useful for my Research Work. I gain lot of information and knowledge

By Suresh K

Jun 2, 2020

This course is very useful for review of pv conversion technologies.

By C D

Apr 21, 2021

This course is used to my New Carrier and also Research Work

By C D

May 14, 2020

This course is useful for my education as well as career

By MD I A

May 14, 2019

Very Nice course. Assignment and tests are very good.

By Carlos L R

Apr 19, 2020

It's a very good complement of Solar Energy Basics.

By Saumay S V W

Jun 8, 2020

i really enjoyed learning this course of solar pv.

By Soorya p S

Jun 1, 2021

Learned a lot ..Uniquely designed course.Great

By RAJESH K P

Aug 31, 2020

It was a very much exciting online course.

By Deverick B

May 1, 2020

I enjoyed every bit of this course

By Raj k s

Oct 30, 2019

It was wonderful experience.

By DINESH C

Apr 10, 2020

GOOD TO READ THE CONTENTS

By Vinícius B d S

Feb 1, 2021

The course is very good.

By Ahmed U

Jan 17, 2020

it was a good course

By sewar

Mar 5, 2019

very useful course

By Monjurul I

Jul 3, 2020

Very informative.

By Sahli H

May 17, 2020

thank you corsera