Chevron Left
Back to Photovoltaic solar energy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Photovoltaic solar energy by École Polytechnique

4.3
stars
418 ratings
123 reviews

About the Course

The course is an introduction to the photovoltaic (PV) applications in the general mix energetic context dominated by climate warming mitigation. The various uses of solar energy are firstly presented before a short description of the principle of the direct solar photon conversion into electricity (PV). The various PV technologies are reviewed in the current context dominated by crystalline silicon cells. The perspectives of the various technologies are then analysed in terms of R&D investments. From a more scientific point of view the basis of the solar cell operation is presented from the solar spectrum characteristics. The fundamentals of PV conversion are summarized. In particular the various sources of the conversion efficiency limitations are reviewed. The solar PV systems, from cells to grids, are also addressed, with a particular emphasis on the challenges of grid-integration of PV and the development of storage technologies. The environmental and social impacts of PV are compared to the competing energy sources. Generally PV is at advantage as referred to other fossil or renewable sources. Finally the fast evolution of economics and financing of PV is presented together with the current key players, mostly Asian companies....

Top reviews

YZ
Apr 17, 2020

Very good overview of solar energy and practical knowledge .\n\nalso a lot of details on how the technology works.\n\nI am glad that i completed the course

XD
Oct 7, 2019

Great class ! Gave a high level about the photovoltaic but also a lot of details and calculation on how the technology works ! Highly recommend !

Filter by:

101 - 124 of 124 Reviews for Photovoltaic solar energy

By Karandip S

Mar 16, 2018

No help from teachers. I don't think that there was any moderator, teachers or administrator overseeing the course. We had many issues and were looking for guidance as well as someone to answer questions but there was no one to be found.

By Sylvain B

Apr 16, 2018

Le contenu vidéo est bien. Cependant les exercices manquent cruellement de détails sur les réponses attendues {ex : format de la réponse, nombre de décimales} et certaines questions aux QCM sont imprécises et induisent en erreur.

By Srivatsa S J

May 5, 2020

The course was amazing. Truly grips the knowledge of basic concepts of PV systems. Need a few improvements on the course offering university by adding few more videos on numerical.

By VinothKumar R

Apr 15, 2020

Theory based video prevention very nice but question out of some one. When ever theory is going on question prepared same as related. Thanking you.

By Rohit S

Jun 29, 2020

Language was an issue but overall it was good. The professor with french accent speaking English was little bit difficult to understand.

By Vijaylaxmi

Jul 15, 2021

Its a good course but many concepts have not been explained where we have to solve for the tests.

By ALVARO M

Jan 25, 2019

Too much graphs but really interesting. I would like to see an example to creat an autonomous

By Adrian H

May 14, 2018

The course was good but the quizzes I felt were incomplete. Overall, I recommend the course.

By Shaikh M I M A

May 29, 2020

Hard quiz because it is hard without proper video explaining the same thing

By ANKIT K

Jun 21, 2018

More support to the students would have been appreciated

By Mohamed N A

Dec 29, 2020

g

i

ves a good introduction. week-2 is really useful.

By Muhamad F A

Aug 11, 2020

Substitle often doesn't match the sound

By Richard K

Jun 3, 2018

interesting content

By Carlos A G C

Jul 18, 2020

The teaching is fine (unsynchronized english subtitles but fine at the end of the day), however, the last questionaries in weeks one and three are utterly dissapointing. First week load factor quiz avoids the use of a very important topic and last week assumes things not explained and kind of unrelated to the teached lectures. There is not feedback with the answers so you do not know how to fix them and the questionaries are only 1 to 3 questions so you have to pass all the questions to approve (whose topics and considerations are not correctly explained in lectures).

Most of the topics are interesting, well explained and worth seeing, but if you yearn for a certificate then forget this course (not recommended if you want the certificate).

By lemondealc

Feb 11, 2021

The content is too dense. I'm not quite sure who this MOOC is supposed to be for. The very first test was based on a very poorly formatted excel spreadsheet. The lecturer was very hard to understand (French is his native language). I'm sure it would be a good review for an older engineer who wanted to learn about solar cell principles, but it is not a good course of a beginner to learn how a solar cell works.

By akramnasser96

Jan 22, 2021

The subtitle was ao terrible i wasn't able to understand most of the videos

By Claudia E

Dec 14, 2019

pretty hard to understand the english....

By Sohan L B

May 13, 2020

Quiz not explained well.

over & above the language issue.

60 percent words are eating them self.

yjis is not a master degree course as the questions asked. specifically Quiz 2.2 & Quiz 3.2.

wasted my lots of time in that.

No hint given and explained too,

By Sjoerd H

Aug 12, 2020

It can be very hard to understand at times, which is sad because the information in and of itself is informative. You also have to pay in order to take quizzes and retain any of the information in my opinion.

By Pouria P

Jun 28, 2020

awful! the main teacher have harsh french dialect so it was hard for me to understand what he said. also the last quiz was not studied in videos so caused lots of problem for me.

By Julio C G

Jun 17, 2020

Need to improve the subtitles. It is impossible to follow what the speaker is telling.

By Sina D

Sep 16, 2020

It is very hard to understand and some quiz problems are irrelevant

By T.N V K

Jul 8, 2020

not able to understand the accent

By Eric M

Jul 16, 2020

Can't understand one word