Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows by Tel Aviv University

4.8
stars
1,716 ratings

About the Course

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

Top reviews

DS

Aug 14, 2021

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

Dec 12, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 496 Reviews for Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

By L D

Feb 3, 2022

Daniel Chamovitz is an awesome educator and communicator - this course has revolutionised the way I think about plants!

By Craig F

Apr 29, 2018

This was an original and creative way of learning about plants! The instructor is enthusiastic and obviously an expert.

By Jean P G

Jun 7, 2020

I am pleasantly impressed with the quality of this course, it gave me great knowledge and I really enjoyed the calsess

By Tânia G M

Jan 7, 2018

It was a very interesting course and after finished it I really want to learn more and more about plants.

Thanks a lot!

By Rinsha S

Oct 25, 2020

Helpfull and well clarification about each process is explained .make me more interested in studying about plants🌿🌿

By ANJU C

Aug 4, 2020

This is one of the best course. The topic is very simple and no need worry about it. The presentation was superb....

By Cotek T

Apr 30, 2020

One of the best courses I have ever undertaken. The knowledge and teaching style of prof. Chamovitz is awesome.

Thanks

By Debasish P

May 6, 2018

I am very happy to complete this course. I am looking for more courses from Professor Dr. Daneil Chamovitz in future.

By TEY W H

Aug 9, 2017

Great Lecturer and good content! plus it is really fun to hear and watch the videos. Thank you for making this course

By Jo I M

Dec 15, 2021

It was very enlightning and didactic. Some of the videos could do with an update, but all in all a great experience.

By Danise G R

Nov 9, 2020

I've acquired great knowledge about plants! Thank you so much for a wonderful priviledge! you have great instructor!

By mariaschlatter@yahoo.co.uk

May 24, 2021

Great, enthusiastically and clearly presented course! So many amazing aha moments and takeaways! Really enjoyed it!

By Lucero H S

Nov 8, 2017

This is a great course! I loved it, in the final video I cried, tears of happiness, obviously!! Daniel is the best!

By janine r w

Jun 19, 2020

A very good course, love the videos and way the information is explained, I have learnt so much. thank you. Janine

By Melinda T

Feb 3, 2023

a great course in understanding plants. I found it very fascinating to read the book and learn more about plants.

By Sofia S

Apr 15, 2022

REALLY worth taking. course very well structured, content is fascinating, prof is efficient and entertaining : )

By Ximena C

Jun 7, 2020

I love this course. I learned a lot and it just opened my curiosity on plants even more. The lecturer is amazing.

By HJ K

Jul 30, 2020

there was some question asking unlearned contents. But except that, perfect for me. be sure, It is for beginner.

By Lino S

Jan 4, 2018

Very interesting, thought provoking and excellently delivered. Gives you the basic concepts to go learning more!

By izzy h l

Mar 11, 2023

Enjoyed this course greatly. Prof. Dr. Chamovitz is a fantastic instructor, and the material is presented in a

By laura l

Dec 28, 2021

The information is very complex, but here it's been broken down into smaller bites to make it easier to grasp.

By TONG X

May 31, 2017

An interesting and engaging course :) I have learnt a few fun facts about plants after completing this course.

By Oren S

Nov 8, 2016

Will never look at plants the same again.

Fascinating course, great lecturer, easily understood, great delivery

By Juan S H

Mar 10, 2019

Este curso es muy bueno, ayudan a entender de manera muy didáctica los mecanismos sensoriales de las plantas.

By Brita F

Feb 18, 2018

An excellent course!!! It is well presented and provides a detailed insight into the sensory world of plants.