Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows by Tel Aviv University

4.8
stars
1,410 ratings
418 reviews

About the Course

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

Top reviews

RV
Dec 12, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A
Mar 3, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 414 Reviews for Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

By ABHINAND.V

Oct 29, 2020

Very helpful and really interesting classes. It also provides more basic information about the plant world.

Now I am really more and more excited about Plant science.

By Izumi S

Aug 28, 2019

It was very good and I studied many thing. I want to study more thing with this.

I think plants are very interesting and it is very uesful.

It made us rich and happy.

By Juan C P J

Jun 27, 2020

Me encantó, realmente siempre quise saber esto y me ayudo mucho en lo concierne a mi carrera.

I loved this course. Thanks a lot. I hope can take this course again.

By Iván A N B

Feb 28, 2018

Es un curso excelente impartido por un profesor que es excepcionalmente profesional y que se nota que ama las plantas, excelente curso acerca de las plantas.

By Azhaamirul W

Jul 2, 2020

Overall I was able to understand the lecture. It was fun to see the lecturer showed his lab and introduced some of his students conducting cool experiments.

By Paulina A O d Z

May 16, 2019

This is a GREAT course! I learned a lot! The only thing I would suggest is to take the "Part II" first, because the "Part I" is more advanced and difficult.

By Zaira M L S

Dec 29, 2020

The course was very informative and I'm sure I could use the basic knowledge that I learned in pursuing my own scientific research here in the Philippines.

By Edimilson J D O

Jun 6, 2017

I loved the course, Prof. Chamovitz is very didactic making the content of the course easily assimilable even for those who are not from the botanic area.

By Filipp

Feb 21, 2017

Great course! Prof. Danny Chamovitz is a very good teacher and I feel that now I know much more about plant and life in general. Thank you for the course.

By Margaret ( M M

Jun 25, 2020

The most fascinating course I've done so far with Coursera. Great depth and detail about how plants do everything they do and many intriguing surprises.

By Valéry B

Feb 1, 2021

Superb course. I learned so much things about plants. I loved the videos and the quiz were kind of challenging. Thanks to Daniel Chamovitz ans his team.

By Lucas M M

Mar 12, 2019

Awesome course! The teacher is really nice and gives a good comprehension of what a plant knows and how scientists develop their hypothesis and results.

By Guy L

Dec 3, 2020

Great course! Very interesting and informative! Definitely recommend!

One caveat - the final is NO JOKE. Take notes and make sure you're ready for it.

By John N

Sep 6, 2017

Amazing course, explaining plant evolution on molecular biology level, showing differences and similarities with animal kingdom with amazing clarity.

By Michael K

Jul 20, 2020

Very accessible, great reading lists, sufficiently taxing (I still haven't worked out the answers to some of the final quiz!) Thanks & Best Regards!

By Dylan L

Mar 6, 2019

love it so far. Its informative and fits my schedule. i love that i can watch the videos as much as needed to learn, and that doesnt put anyone out.

By Yarin

Dec 12, 2016

I think the tests were a bit difficult and the fact that many students taking this course aren't native speakers should be taken into consideration.

By Ou A

Oct 25, 2020

Interesting and vivid course to get deep knowledge of plant biology. Really thankful to the lecturer Professor Daniel Chamovitz from Tel Aviv Univ.

By Mohamed A

Jul 26, 2017

This is a great introductory course to Plant Genetics! Be sure to take notes so that you can easily answer the final quiz by the end of the course

By Royston M

Aug 1, 2020

I am extremely happy that I came to know lots of details on understanding plants. I thank the Coursera community for availing this course online.

By Chris D

Nov 22, 2020

Great info. Good experiments and interesting topics instructed by a easy to follow lecturer.

Anyone interested in caring for plants should do it.

By Jie W

Dec 27, 2018

I really like this course. I never thought plant science could be so interesting to learn. Moreover, it could help with my furture research work

By Larisa T M

Nov 2, 2018

Este curso es muy claro. Comienza con los más sencillo y va subiendo poco a poco el nivel de la información.

Entretenido, completo y estimulante.

By Annelise M

Feb 26, 2021

Very interesting, a great first look in to higher plant biology and understanding what they didn't teach you in school. I very much enjoyed it!

By matthew s

Sep 8, 2017

A great study and very enjoyable.

Plants are food for thought as well as the table; who would have thought it.

Thanks for creating this course !