Chevron Left
Back to Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
1,365 ratings
552 reviews

About the Course

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Top reviews

VS
Jun 22, 2020

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

SM
Jun 11, 2020

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 556 Reviews for Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

By Sharon E

Oct 7, 2020

Educational, inspiring, entertaining - a wonderful, unique all-round experience - I learned so much.

Thank you!

By Reuben J

Dec 8, 2017

Extremely useful and well explained for anybody from someone who has never seen the topics to English graduates

By Lindsay M

Sep 22, 2020

Lots of fun while learning key concepts. Exercises and Assignments really helped me engage with the material.

By Vladislav L

Nov 24, 2016

An amazing, interesting and very thought-provoking course! Thank you, Douglas Kearney and all fellow students!

By Larry W

Mar 22, 2018

Engaging and informative but not overwhelming. A wonderful introduction to the various components of poetry.

By Gustavo A G A

Aug 28, 2017

Extraordinario maestro. Gran curso. Hace que la poesía sea algo asequible para todos. Altamente recomendable

By Xie W

Mar 9, 2017

It's a lot of fun to study this course, especially the peer review could be very rewarding and entertaining.

By Mariam

Apr 10, 2017

The setup and information provided and partnered with prompts is really helpful in aquiring greater skills.

By Joseph F

Feb 2, 2021

Fun instructor, very good choices of poems to examine and a concise breakdown of the many literary devices

By Alisha B

Jun 21, 2020

Amazing course! I learned so much about not only writing poetry, but reading it and analyzing. I loved it!

By Stephanie R

Feb 13, 2021

Douglas Kearney is an exceptional teacher. I've taken many online courses and he gets 10/10 for delivery!

By Megan A

Nov 30, 2020

This was such a fun learning experience! It challenged me and pushed me to get creative and build skills.

By Mo A

Jun 21, 2020

Doug is a great teacher and I enjoyed his methods a lot. I learned a lot from him. I appreciate it all!

By katie w

Aug 1, 2019

The instructor is great and we get to read some really awesome poetry. The prompts are fun and creative!

By Kamila Ś

Aug 30, 2017

Nice, easy and informative. Enjoyed it very much. Now I'm starting work on my own little book of poetry.

By Deepika S

Jul 11, 2017

Learning a lot of things relevant for this course; I think the peer graded workshop is very helpful too.

By Erin

Mar 7, 2018

This was an entry level course to poetry and I feel like by taking it I have become a much better poet.

By Charlie

Jan 2, 2018

Amazing! An engaging, pleasing, and intelligible (as well as intelligent) instructor—I fully recommend.

By E. S S

Dec 22, 2015

fun and informative class, with interesting exercises, instructor grabs your attention in short videos.

By Walter A G C

Jan 31, 2021

This workshop is a great starting point, very easy to understand, it leads to other useful resources.

By Durga D

Jul 7, 2021

The professor OMG absolutely wonderful. The course is paced well and topics are covered well enough.

By Vaida A

Mar 2, 2021

Very helpful! Interesting! Interactive! The teacher is a great poet, actor and everything in one:)

By Usraat

Jun 10, 2020

Beautifully taught. The professor is one of the most enthusiastic educator I have ever come across!

By H K

May 21, 2020

An amazing experience, learned a great deal and I now feel slightly more confident about my poetry.

By bluesnow

Mar 16, 2017

Excellent theory and practise. Entertaining but skilled videos. Good team feeling. Useful feedback.