Chevron Left
Back to Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
1,346 ratings
545 reviews

About the Course

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 11, 2020

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

VS
Jun 22, 2020

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 545 Reviews for Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

By Eyal G

Aug 19, 2015

Great teacher and great content BUT I just wish that it would have been more abundant with information. it seemed for times maybe too short.

By Vernon G

Sep 18, 2015

Early days yet but I've seen enough to realise it is interesting, intense, funny, persuasive, stimulating and creative. Thank you Douglas.

By Guillemette A

Sep 14, 2015

Very nice course, with interesting material, taught in a witty and engaging manner, and pretty good prompts. I had a very nice experience!

By Valeria L

May 19, 2020

A great workshop to learn the basis of poetry and to start writing and sharing your poems. The clases are fun and the people really kind

By Katya F

Oct 12, 2015

Loved the short but sharp classes! Thank you! Would love to see more peer reviews (didn't get any on my poems yet).

Best of luck!

Katya

By Ryan S

Apr 27, 2020

Liked the way Doug made poetry accessible and fun to write. His enthusiasm and knowledge really made the course worth sticking with.

By Lucia B

May 18, 2021

It was a really nice experience.

The teacher is awesome.

The only thing is that my certificate is written in Chinese characters.

By Kajol

Oct 18, 2015

Peer reviews can be a gamble. But the professor is excellent. Helpful to get started with poetry or get over writer's block.

By Kuma B

Apr 28, 2020

Really helpful to take class, but the reviews from some students were not always accurate and it got mixed up sometimes.

By Aastha M

Jul 11, 2016

i find this course highly helpful to learn new aspects of poetry, embrace new thoughts and new ideas to write upon.

By Eric N

Dec 23, 2019

Some good ideas to progress your poems. Could be more interaction between participants.

By trish d

Sep 2, 2015

Gently entertaining introduction to writing poetry with some good examples and advice.

By Safa S S

Oct 15, 2020

Nice experience. Very good and useful course to the English beginning poets

By Shwetha

Jan 21, 2019

Great course! Recommend everyone who wants to write poetry to take this up!

By Trish S

Oct 17, 2015

Very interesting and thought provoking. I found the instructor amusing.

By Susan W

Jun 6, 2016

I enjoyed the ideas, but the peer feedback was less than helpful.

By Shashank S

May 14, 2021

Nice Course. Gave good insights and motivation to write poems

By Michelle S

Jan 4, 2021

The prof is engaging, but it was not the course I needed.

By Niharika B

Oct 8, 2015

I am finding it really interesting and helpful. :)

By AJ D

Jun 27, 2020

Informative and creatively challenging.

By Enyang W

Apr 23, 2021

the lecturer was soo cool!

By Sumaiya A

Jul 23, 2016

very informative course.

By Dr.Halowine C

Jun 29, 2016

It is a riveting

By mario g

Nov 1, 2020

Excelente curso

By Xhanti M

Nov 19, 2015

i