Chevron Left
Back to Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion by Duke University

4.4
stars
250 ratings
67 reviews

About the Course

The third course in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C introduces the programming constructs pointers, arrays, and recursion. Pointers provide control and flexibility when programming in C by giving you a way to refer to the location of other data. Arrays provide a way to bundle data by guaranteeing sequences of data are grouped together. Finally, recursive functions—functions that call themselves—provide an alternative to iteration that are very useful for implementing certain algorithms....

Top reviews

ZT

Jun 10, 2020

This course is certainly very challenging and I am glad I made it. To those who are still struggling with the poker game project, I encourage you to keep working hard and you will achieve a lot.

H

Aug 19, 2020

Best part of the course the assignments and the poker project. I loved the reading part too. Best skill I got from this course is deep knowledge of debugging.

Filter by:

51 - 67 of 67 Reviews for Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

By Ujjwal a

Mar 04, 2020

upload more video so that it will easy to understand

By Leonid P

Oct 26, 2018

Good course, but some homeworks too hard.

By satyendra

Aug 26, 2020

Tool is confusing and very hard to use

By RHEA D

May 30, 2020

tough course but well taught

By SAPTARSHI D

Jul 25, 2019

nice course

By Deleted A

Feb 05, 2019

good one

By Himanshu k

Aug 29, 2020

well

By Martin H

Mar 19, 2019

A very good course if you just look at the programming part. But most of the time you try to find testcases what the programmer could have done wrong ( without knowing the course). That's pure luck and does not help to improve my C skills....

By Levin M J S

Aug 21, 2019

Not making enough effort to help students make sense of the convoluted implementations that they had used.

By Xirong T

Mar 08, 2020

Good course, but the final project and test cases are slightly challenging

By Sayan C

Apr 07, 2020

Very tough

By Christopher N

Aug 25, 2019

The quality of assignments slipped rather abruptly in this course. The assignments were rather unclear, ambiguous and often required reading through forum posts and learning through other people's frustrated comments. This specialization started strong but the course really slipped in quality. The means of education was inefficient, the presentation of assignments was sloppy and under-specified and the final project was unnecessarily tedious and time-consuming and could have easily been replaced by something else (a different card game such as BlackJack vs Texas Hold 'Em Poker) delivering the same practice without a lot of the tedious rule generation.

By Linta I

Jun 05, 2020

Project is very hard. Not for the beginner. I am a lecturer of a university. Still I find it very difficult to do. This should be for intermediate level.

By Megha F

May 15, 2020

No support for taking up the programming assignments. The PPE for programming assignment is down most of the time.

By Manan J

Sep 02, 2020

PPE troubled a lot

By Quang P B

Mar 12, 2019

Very bad tool use for uploading assignment

By Donglai R

Feb 09, 2019

Very bad assignment instructions