Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychology by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.7
stars
5,585 ratings
1,668 reviews

About the Course

This course discusses research findings in the field of positive psychology, conducted by Barbara Fredrickson and her colleagues. It also features practical applications of this science that you can put to use immediately to help you live a full and meaningful life....

Top reviews

BA

Sep 2, 2020

This course entitled Positive Psychology changed my perspective in life and cultivated more positivity that will not only stregthen my social relationship, my personality, mindset but also my health.

JC

Jul 2, 2018

One of the best psychology courses I have taken. I have learned so much and how simple it is to implement these principles into everyday life. Thank you for providing this rich material to all of us.

Filter by:

1576 - 1600 of 1,662 Reviews for Positive Psychology

By Ronelle D

Sep 7, 2020

very informative

By Solène B

Oct 16, 2018

very interesting

By Saji G

Apr 28, 2020

Very well done

By JEEVA T

Aug 30, 2020

Very Helpful!

By Anjul S G

Aug 14, 2020

best educator

By Mihirkumar M

Jun 14, 2021

Great Course

By 梁福雄

Dec 14, 2018

useful class

By Tram L

Dec 20, 2015

very helpful

By DR.ADITYA S A

Jun 15, 2021

good course

By Cesar R O S

Sep 7, 2021

buen curso

By Dr S S A

Jul 19, 2021

Excellent

By Shonal v

May 4, 2020

Too Good

By SHUBHAM U M

Jun 25, 2020

Amazing

By Ananthapathmanaban.M

Aug 28, 2020

useful

By Narbutayeva N A

Aug 27, 2020

claps

By Mandakini M G

Jun 16, 2022

good

By Sudha M

Jul 8, 2021

Good

By Suganthi T

Aug 4, 2020

GOOD

By Hemanth K H S

Jun 9, 2020

GOOD

By Nayeon L

Jan 18, 2016

good

By 1808230

Apr 8, 2020

ش

By LaCisha I

Oct 20, 2015

R

By Chris F

Jul 21, 2016

The material here is good, especially for a MOOC, and it seemed like they tried to make it dynamic with the use of questions, discussion, interviews, and extension activities. I'm disappointed, however, that the course focused so heavily on Frederickson's work to the exclusion of others. While I understand that this is where she would feel the most comfortable and familiar, to start with her broaden-and-build theory and continually reference her lab's work, with the additional readings often being her books, it felt limited. I would have liked more of a discussion of the contributions of other psychologists like Seligman, Csikszentmihalyi, Peterson, Diener, Lyubomirsky, etc. Along with that, it could have addressed topics other than emotions (or been titled The Positive Psychology of Emotions), like character strengths, flow, or institution change. I love the fact that this course exists, and it's a good foundation to build on, but it still feels too narrow to claim the title Positive Psychology.

By Lothar H

Aug 28, 2015

the way this course was presented was quite unique: watching a few people from various walks of life (but most related to the University) discuss various topic and exchange opinion and experiences about positivity.

I liked the material provided for meditation about loving kindness and I have been using it on a daily (well 5 days a week) basis.

why I gave only 3 stars:

the material was overall rather shallow - after reading about positive psychology, I still very little substance it has to offer.

in addition. Barbare is not the greatest and most charismatic speaker in the world, although she did surprise me in her TED talk.

in general, human emotions are operating on a scale from positive to negative. Positive Psychology takes a one-sided approach by looking only on the plus side. That is about as incomplete as the approach of focusing only on the pathology. To fully grasp a human being, there must be a third way? is it philosophy?

By Tatiana V

Jan 1, 2021

The course can be summarized as "why it is good to feel good" or how it helps your mindset and health to be positive, while I expected a lot more practical knowledge and recommendations on stimulating positivity in others, for example, in groups or tet-a-tet conversations, study classes, workplace, peer-to-peer, colleague-boss, mother-child relationships etc. Special attention I would put to how to help direct negatively-tuned minds to positivity.

I would go deeper into self-esteem issues and how to work with unstable, easily vulnerable self-esteem, which makes people take a "negative stand" to whatever or whoever from the very beginning.

I had done many psychology courses prior to this one, and it didn't live up to my expectations, unfortunately.