Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,570 ratings
633 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH
Sep 22, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 618 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Chaitali S

Apr 4, 2020

I really enjoyed learning this course and it helped me understand and analyse circuits better. The teachings go hand in hand with the prescribed textbook. The home assignments were challenging and helped improve my knowledge of this course. The introduction to Spice was also very helpful.

By Arthur C M

May 1, 2016

The course is very good, but would like to make three suggestions:

1) You don't have a feedback from what you made wrong in the exercises. It is usefull to learn from the mistakes.

2) One week is a short lead time for the tasks

3)It might include extra optional tasks regarding simulation

By Hugo V

Mar 19, 2016

Very straightforward. Professor Erickson's approach avoids to overcomplicate the subject by making a very logical analysis of the models, introducing the student in bussiness with ease. No complex math or super-complicated equation systems. It's just clean, simple and conceptual.

By Zachary B

Nov 24, 2017

The course is challenging but it really gives a great introduction into the basics of how switching converters work. The lectures are clear and the book is helpful. A solid understanding of circuit analysis definitely is needed for analyzing the circuits. Great course overall.

By John W

Jun 23, 2019

This course is really good for solidifying the basic analysis and derivations. I have over 10 years of DC/DC industry experience but taking this introductory course I was still able to learn valuable information and was able to brush up on many areas of converter analysis.

By Oliver S

Nov 1, 2016

Instruction was very clear and supplemental lectures with discussion forums were sufficient to complete understanding. As suggested by instructor, the most benefit came from repeating coursework until completion. This brought to light points of misunderstanding. Great!

By Gunaratnam S

Dec 16, 2018

Great course. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I have mastered in electromagnetic especially electrical machine design in the past. This course compliments my knowledge for the power electronics discipline of the electric drive system design. Thanks a lot.

By Felipe N

Feb 28, 2016

This course is amazing, all instructors holds a abroad knowledge on power electronics and its branches, also the course infrastructure helps not only the average students, but the real beginners in power electronics to extract te full experience passed here.

By Sankar

Dec 2, 2018

The BEST online course I attended so far. Learned a lot. Videos are short but had more information. Assignments are quiet easy if we learn from the video well. I completed this course with Financial aid. Thanks to Coursera. Looking forward to next course.

By Mustafa A

Jun 2, 2018

Some questions of the quizes was very time consuming because of the tight numerical tolerances. To find the exact value I had to make so much calculus. Except that, I enjoyed very much with this course. Thank you very much to the Professor and the staff.

By Sayyar A

Oct 1, 2017

This was very interesting and informative course. The method of teaching was excellent. Assignment tasks were conceptual and challenging also covering practical aspects. I juts recovered what I missed during my Engineering Degree. Thanks to Coursera!

By Ashish S

May 15, 2016

Course gives introductory insight into analysis of DC-DC power converters, which can be extended to converters of any complexity. Dr. Ericksen has explained these concepts well and the assignments further enhance one's understanding of the subject.

By Ektoras B

Dec 18, 2016

it is a great introduction to steady state behavioral modeling. You need some previous knowledge of Power Electronics to help you, but the steady state modeling is something I hadn't really practiced much since college so it was a nice refresher.

By Ratik R G

Jun 14, 2020

This had been an great journey so far with prof. Robert and his teachings.

The concepts are very well illustrated with deep explaination. Throughout the course the instructor has maintained the same rhythm and pace which is good to binge .

By Arun I

Oct 21, 2016

Great course. The conceptual aspects were covered really well and sets up the student for increasing level of complexity in the weeks ahead and the courses later in the specialization. Looking forward to the next course in the specialization.

By Jayasankar V N

Jun 18, 2020

I am extremely happy completing this course on Introduction to Power Electronics. The assignments were really challenging which motivated me to go through the lessons carefully and solve each questions with at most care. Thank you very much

By Rahul K

Dec 29, 2018

This course provides a great introduction to the field of power electronics. The difficulty level is moderate and the course is well paced. This course only provides an insight into DC-DC converters using just the basics of circuit theory.

By Irfan Y

Feb 25, 2019

My first completed module in Coursera. It means a lot. I have also been given the aid to complete this module. This course is short, yet challenging. I would like to complete the whole specialization within 6 months. Thanks to the team.

By Swastik A

May 22, 2020

Great Course. The explanations by course coordinator are simple and straight to the point. The examples are solved in a stepwise manner along with explanations. The assignments are useful to know one's understandings about the topic.

By S. M H U

May 12, 2020

Course contents and lectures are well organized. Teacher explains step by step superbly. Assignments are so difficult that it took lots of time to get the right answer. Finally after successful submission, it feels really great.

By Enoch S

Mar 16, 2019

This course was awesome, I never really liked electric systems but the way this was taught is very logical which I appreciated. By the time you finish the course, as you do the numbers on your own, you will master it in no time.

By Alessandro M

Aug 22, 2020

Nice course, I came from a bachelor degree in Electronics Engineering and I found out this to be quite heavy as well in the homework. Specially the last homework that due to the holiday I have done just by using the slides

By Yehonatan p

Dec 28, 2019

The lectures were excellent and the assignments were well thought through. In general I would also say the material covered is exteremely relevant and useful to any EE doing any kind of system level/board level design work

By Filip P

Sep 15, 2019

Speaking as a Mechanical Engineering student, this course was challenging at first, but once I got the hang of it, and overcame the entry barriers, the course was pure joy to learn. Definitely recommended and super useful.