Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
2,930 ratings
731 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH
Sep 22, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 720 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Milind R

Apr 11, 2021

Well paced and concise but novel techniques (compared to what I learned back in my Bachelor's degree). Paying close attention to every little detail maximises the return of attending this course. One more good choice made here is to start with DC-DC converters, rather than 1-phase and 3-phase rectifiers - the latter are much more cumbersome and sometimes complex.

By Carlos F H P

Feb 26, 2016

It has been one of my favorites MOOCs, I would say a top 3 of the best courses i have taken.

Even though you have to work so hard to deal with the homeworks, you are going to learn a lot. Professor Erickson is a great master in his field and he explains so clear. I really recommend this course to those who love electronics and want to develop their own projects.

By Michael J F

Mar 8, 2021

Review is mostly for how the homework is submitted. When completing the assignments, I have to write out the equations multiple periodically just to check if my answer is correct. This is very time consuming. Please indicate to Coursera to have the answer once submitted saved so I don't have to type in all the answers again before submitting for a final time.

By Taylor M

Jan 16, 2019

Fantastic Course! Material is well developed.

Only thing I would change is being able to submit individual answers to the quizzes instead of having to submit the quiz all at once. Many of the questions rely on calculating based off of previous answers. So to make sure you are on the right track you can burn through your attempts and have to wait an hour.

By Bhushan C P

Jun 19, 2017

Awesome!!! Best way to understand core power electronics concepts with details including mathematics, circuit designing, component selection parameters, practical difficulties involved with circuits ...etc... I am really thankful to Prof.Robert W. Erickson, his team, University of Colorado and Coursera for providing this great knowledge to us!!!

By GODA V S

Jan 26, 2016

WOOO .. This course is great ,, with the quiz in between the video lectures makes learning fun.

the home work problems are also great to work. More emphasis laid on the simulations results to be read correctly and reflecting those results onto the solution for the home work problems...

still looking forward more to learn and simulate.....

By Dina Č

Feb 7, 2016

I have taken this course live in my university, but the messy way it was taught created so much confusion. Now, it's all being cleared up. I really appreciate the slow pace the course is taking and the way that difficult matter is easily explained by the professor. I am looking forward to taking other courses in the Specialization.

By Henry G

Feb 13, 2016

Professor Erickson explains both the mathematical and physical definitions of all converter equations. His methods enable you to tackle more complicated problems while maintaining a physical insight (not just playing with the math). Very good derivation of how to include losses and calculate the efficiency of a dc-dc converter.

By Simon S

Jan 30, 2021

The lectures are superb, well delivered, and very enjoyable. I found the home work exercises quite challenging though because I'm completely on my own and couldn't ask for help or tutoring, but got through it OK in the end...all the more satisfying! I'm looking forward to the next course. Amazing value for money.

By David J D

Mar 12, 2020

This course allowed me to read widely to fully understand. It was intellectually stimulating. I, however, feel for a course entitled "Introduction to Power Electronics", it was quite advanced. It is part of a masters' course so I guess the definition of "beginner level" is quite different. I give it my full thumbs up

By Joseph V

Jul 18, 2021

Prof. Erickson is one the best professors who ever taught in this medium. His videos and slide decks, explain the topics very well. Homeworks are challenging and are sure to test the knowledge of the learner. I have learned a great deal in this course. Looking forward to the next courses handled by Prof. Erickson!

By Satya P S

Jan 29, 2021

The course is designed very intelligently. The in-video questions are very beneficial for understanding the concept being taught in the lecture videos.

The homework exercises at the end of each week are also brilliant.

This course will help those who are thinking about learning power electronics for the first time.

By Victor H G V

Sep 10, 2019

Very interesting and challenging, you will need to dedicate a couple additional hours to the ones suggested in order to complete the homeworks. I would recommend the use of Mathcad or similar software to solve equations once you have the hold of it, it will save you a lot of time that you could use for design.

By Aung Y H

Sep 14, 2021

This course introduces basic knowledge about power electronics devices. This course is a must-to-take foundation course for everyone who wants to study about power electronics. The expertise brought by Dr. Robert Erickson in this course provides me a good starting experience in power electronics field.

By P192 m h a r

Sep 4, 2019

the instructor is knowledgeable and his explanation is clear and simple to understand every parameter you need to add to make your dc-dc converter . it`s a great beginning to this field (power electronics )and recommended to take this course and continue with the rest 5 courses of this great instructor

By SURYA V

May 10, 2016

The best course on line for a beginners aspiring to become experts in the field of power electronics.

> Chief Course Instructor is a expert in this field with focussed research on power electronics.

> Course has a specialization with course design.

> Book is will greatly help students taking this course.

By SRIKRISHNA.Y.HUNSWADKAR

Apr 17, 2020

The Course is excellent, it covered various aspects involved in Modeling of DC Converter Circuits and computing their losses. Prof Erickson taught this course very well. I am very thankful to University of Colorado, Boulder for this course and Coursera for Creating such a wonderful platform.

By Grant J " U

Jul 19, 2017

A very good introduction to the concepts of power electronics. Having a background in physics II (Freshman level 2 and/or Electromagnetic physics) is about all you need. I would recommend a firm grasp on Kirchoff's laws and listening closely to the professor. He is very good at what he does.

By Chaitali S

Apr 4, 2020

I really enjoyed learning this course and it helped me understand and analyse circuits better. The teachings go hand in hand with the prescribed textbook. The home assignments were challenging and helped improve my knowledge of this course. The introduction to Spice was also very helpful.

By Arthur C M

May 1, 2016

The course is very good, but would like to make three suggestions:

1) You don't have a feedback from what you made wrong in the exercises. It is usefull to learn from the mistakes.

2) One week is a short lead time for the tasks

3)It might include extra optional tasks regarding simulation

By Hugo V

Mar 19, 2016

Very straightforward. Professor Erickson's approach avoids to overcomplicate the subject by making a very logical analysis of the models, introducing the student in bussiness with ease. No complex math or super-complicated equation systems. It's just clean, simple and conceptual.

By Muhammad Z B

Jul 15, 2021

It was a very nice arranged and organized course with interesting topics and a good way of teaching from the instructor but it would be much more appreciated if the instructor also shares us with the practical experiments in the lab and shares his experiences. Thanks, Coursera.

By Debajyoti B

May 14, 2021

The course Introduction to Power Electronics offered by Dr. Robert W. Erickson helped me a lot in understanding the basic concepts of Power Electronics. As an instructor, Prof. Erickson was exceptional, his style of teaching was excellent and his lectures were well articulated.

By Zachary B

Nov 24, 2017

The course is challenging but it really gives a great introduction into the basics of how switching converters work. The lectures are clear and the book is helpful. A solid understanding of circuit analysis definitely is needed for analyzing the circuits. Great course overall.

By Igor E

Jan 10, 2022

Great power electronics introductary course. The lectures are interesting and to the point (not long and boring). The practicing examples are very helpful. Tho only suggestion is to give the practicing examples solutions (only final results, not the step by step procedures).