Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
2,929 ratings
731 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH
Sep 22, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 720 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Shatrunjay P

Feb 14, 2016

It was an awesome course. I learned a lot from this course. The method of teaching was quite simple and student friendly. I just want to say that if you will avail more solved examples then it will be quite helpful for us.

By Md. F H

Jul 25, 2020

Learn a lot from this course. Thanks to our honorable professor Dr. Robert Erickson who try to give his best to keep this course understandable and knowledgeable. Thanks, Coursera to give this opportunity student like us.

By Garrett W

Jun 13, 2016

Very clearly laid out and well explained course. The assignments cover the lecture topics without being an exact recreation of what the videos demonstrate, and the mid-video questions are helpful for building intuition.

By Sourav S

Feb 10, 2016

Beautiful course. Loved the lecture and assignments. Works great as a supplement to college learning. I am able to "visualize" dc-dc converter circuits which is a great feeling! Thank you Coursera and Prof. Erickson.

By Ali D G

Dec 26, 2017

The lectures were so intuitive and enjoyful. The lecturer have a very understandable English. I recommend the main book -Fundamentals of Power Electronics- for the lecture. The assignments were challenging. Thanks!

By Hakhan O

Aug 20, 2021

Explained very well even the most complicated subject, thanks to Dr. Robert's well planned and orginezed studies. Learned a lot about equivalent circuit modeling for converters and so making the calculations easiy.

By Ayaz M

Oct 18, 2019

Nothing is better than visualization. I have read many books on Power Electronics and all of them are best but this course has sky rocketed my knowledge. I really appreciate the efforts for conducting this course.

By Wilson A O A

Jun 2, 2020

Buen curso. Se aprende sobre el funcionamiento de convertidores DC-DC y los ejercicios de las tareas presentan algo de dificultad. Recomiendo el curso para los que ya tienen conocimientos en circuitos eléctricos.

By Varkey M J

Jul 1, 2017

Very good foundation for power electronics. Taught very well. Important points are covered. Ingenious ways of solving circuits are discussed, which helps a lot in finding the DC values of voltages and currents.

By Jyotendra S

Feb 10, 2016

Great course to learn about power electronics. This course was a bit challenging to complete in one go, good thing that the instructors divided it into multiple sessions. Thanks for offering so great course.

By Behzad B

Apr 10, 2021

The courses are very excellent and very helpful. Though, it is a shame that these courses are restricted to several regions of the world due to the US sanctions. I believe science should not be politicized.

By M L P B

May 31, 2020

Prof. Erickson has a great way of using mathematical modeling for analysis. The explanation is consistently exceptional.

It was a great introduction to the mathematics involved in modeling Power converters

By Nikola M

Oct 16, 2019

Interesting and challenging, everything regarding HW assignments is covered in videos and in the additional reading materials. Great introduction to DC/DC converters. Can't wait to go through the other 5.

By Nishchay K

Apr 25, 2020

Probably the most challenging power electronics test. Made me sweat but the outcome when the answers were correct would make my day. There could be a little more number of examples. The rest as perfect.

By Jay B

Mar 1, 2019

Good reminder of stuff you may have forgotten. Also learnt a whole lot more too. Very interesting course. Some of the HW questions were a bit tough though and could do with a little more clarification.

By Pavel K

Jun 19, 2020

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

By Леонид С

Mar 10, 2021

Очень интересный курс как для начинающих специалистов, так и для уже имеющих опыт работы в сфере силовой электроники. Все разбирается по полочкам и позволяет глубже погрузится в специфику работы.

By Huzeifa D

Nov 28, 2020

Great introductory course to power electronics. I enjoyed solving the problems in the course and learned new tools such as volt-sec and capacitor-charge balance for converter circuit analysis.

By Jan T V

Oct 13, 2020

This introduction is very helpful. I've taken power electronics course before but this helped a lot in clarifying things especially the introduction of volt second balance and charge balance.

By Jagadish v S

Mar 28, 2016

I have been in the power domain for the past 4 years and this course help me understand some of the design choices that we sometimes made as the pass-downs from others experiences.. thanks!!

By Felipe K F

Jul 1, 2018

This course is really good, the approach to dealing with the problems (the models proposed) make the content easier than it looks, although still demanding some time to do the assignments.

By Akashkiran S

Jun 18, 2017

Even though I am an electrical student this course really helped me in setting my foundation in power electronics.I would recommend all college going students to take up this course

By Luheng Q

Jun 6, 2017

well designed exercises. I have learned PMIC for one semester, and this course is a good supplement to what I have learned. In addition, the analyzing method seems to be universal.

By Karim E

Jan 12, 2020

The professor explains every concept comprehensively and I could master drawing steady state wave forms for every power converter from just this course. Thanks a lot Prof. Erikson

By Mritunjay K

Feb 28, 2020

This course helped me to get acquainted with Power Electronics with good problems. It would be more helpful if the solution of the assignments were discussed.

Thank you, Coursera.