Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
2,883 ratings
722 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH
Sep 22, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 711 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Ming T

Feb 7, 2020

Tests your understanding about the basic power electronic material that may seem easy on first sight. Takes fundamentals to the next level.

By Abubakar M

Jan 25, 2020

Excellent overall 1st course of the specialization. The assignments were very challenging I felt. Definitely will continue with 2nd course.

By cesar a

Aug 17, 2017

It's an excellent course, I really liked it. Anyone can learn and understand a lot of things about power electronics with this easy course.

By Selemon N

Dec 29, 2016

It is a profound foundation for the continuing courses. I really recommend for those who are interested to be a real power system designer.

By Antonio J R V

Feb 13, 2016

adiestra en el uso de herramientas de calculo para el diseño y analisis de convertidores dc-dc, 100% agradecido del conocimiento adquirido.

By Gift N

Feb 9, 2016

Excellent instruction Prof. Erickson. I am using this to supplement my power electronics course here at school and it has been a huge help.

By Hax K

Nov 26, 2019

It was very helpful to understand how to build dc transformer model and how to apply it to the analyzing of the basic dc-dc converters

By Shivam K

Nov 7, 2020

I learned most of the skills from this course design of dc dc converter design calculation and electronics principle and calculation

By Stefan R

Sep 8, 2020

This is a very intriguing , intellectual and quick understanding course. Great all round with a splendid instructor to guide the way.

By Zalman R

Mar 16, 2016

Really very useful for a beginner of power electronics, with some simple concepts and calculation, let me have a brief view. Thanks.

By Abhishek S

May 31, 2020

By far the best power electronics introduction chapter I have studied. I studied more than my bachelor's here. Highly recommended.

By E.M P C H

May 2, 2020

Very valuable course and it is gained good basic knowledge about DC-DC converters.Clear lectures and effective notes and examples.

By Irfan C

Mar 13, 2016

I re-learned some basic concepts from a different point-of-view despite practicing electrical engineering for the past 20 years!

By Julie F

Feb 29, 2016

Very clear course, interesting assignments. It could be even more interesting to get access to the solutions of the assignments.

By Jaja M J

Mar 25, 2019

Great course, beautiful experience! Thank you Professor Robert Erickson, thank you University of Colorado, Thank you Coursera.

By Peh K S

Aug 30, 2020

Prof Erickson explains the principles behind average equivalent circuit modelling of switching converters very well. Thanks.

By Dr.S.Rajasekaran

Jun 29, 2020

excellent course content , but after the submission of assignments ,pls provide the design factors to better understanding

By Abhinav K

Apr 6, 2019

A great start to the specialization course. Tough quizzes, great assignments! And Dr. Robert Erickson is amazing as usual!

By salil k

Mar 4, 2020

This is a fabulous course by the Authors. I am glad to be taught by the people whose books are followed at our institute.

By Amritansh S

Apr 19, 2019

Thank you sir.I learned the basics of power electronics in an effective manner.I will definitely enroll in the next part.

By Amnon Y

Mar 6, 2021

Very clear lectures. Very helpful worked examples. Very challenging homework which help in understanding the material

By Jakkamsetti S D

Jul 14, 2020

Course is great we can increase our knowledge in a great way assignments help us to solve many problems and derivations

By Sharath K K M

Nov 21, 2021

Really great course, small signal approximations and dc transformer modelling are faster way to remember and calculate

By Rishi S

May 16, 2021

A very well designed introductory course. I really enjoyed taking this course. It was a very fun learning experience.

By Olvin J B M

Sep 22, 2020

Muy dificil la tarea numero dos, pero una vez pasando ese filtro lo demás es relativamente fácil (al menos manejable)